Desi generation of Britain.., the confused creature

Re: Desi generation of Britain.., the confused creature

What's ma'aaz.. It;s been a year since I went to Pk so not really uptodate with the drinks..

I love shezan and rooh afza... yum and the coca cola..

ma'aaz used to be a competitor of shezan and qarshi etc, had a good thadal product out, I have not been to Pak since Jan 99 so I really dont know if they are still around.

On the subject of integration. For example myself. I have a white neighbour, and live in a predominantly white English neighbourhood - where I grew up anyway. I have white English childhood friends, and I went through the English education system in a white English school. I have therefore had a lot of contact/integration with white English people. I think if you define integration like this, I would class myself as a fully integrated British citizen.

Now you go to a poor neighbourhood, and you see hardly any white people. I used the example that it looks like the Middle East..it did..the place had covered women, streets were filthy (not saying they are in the ME, but that's what the situation was), and the people there didnt look like they had an education, but really want to show the world how Islamic they are. They dress traditionally and orthodox, especially the women, but also some men. Some go to Islamic schools. That's an interesting thread in itself. Personally, I dont see why they need to establish Islamic schools, it didnt do me any harm going to a school where I had to sing hymns everyday (didnt mean anything to me).

It's true Sikhs wear turbans generally. But they're not that numerous here - are there Sikh schools? It's sometimes difficult to tell a Hindu woman, from a Sikh from a Pakistani sometimes in the UK, as many are from the same Punjab province, so it's difficult to tell especially now some Sikhs dont wear turbans. Are Sikhs integrated? I'm not sure, but I dont think anyone cares, because they're not that noticeable. Hindus seem to congregate into Leicester, though I'm not sure how they live..again noone makes a big deal of it Though there was one Hindu neighbourhood which had a temple in a pretty beat up area (pimps and stuff in fact). What do you think of Islamic schools by the way?

Parents need to encourage their children to progress in education and career. Thus broadoning their horizons and opening their avenues, but at the same time we CANNOT and SHOULD NOT compromise on our religion. Do jews stop dressing how they should or sikhs or do hindus stop wearing bindi's? Integration is good, we can promote ourselves as good citizens without becoming like the rest of society and losing ourselves. I think integration is positive but within limits.

You shouldnt compromise on religion, that's true. I don't compromise on religion either. I dont drink, and if that was what some white English person wanted me to do, I wouldnt bother knowing them. There should be no compromise like this. Else it's a sign of weakness. But dress wise, I dont think the use of Jilbabs was ever an issue with Pakistani women before. When the first generation arrived, the women in the documentaries looked like they had duputta and sari. I think it was only in the last 3 or 4 years that cases of Jilbabs going to court for the right to wear have come up. Whether this is just because of more attention is another matter.

I dont see how we would lose ourselves by dressing for example, like what the 1st generations did. Were they lesser because they didnt wear Jilbabs? I dont think so. Good citizens does not equal Jilbabs or Hijabs in my opinion. And I dont think you lose yourself by dressing modestly for example in jeans and a shirt or something in the UK.

I like yourself was brought up in a predominantly Jewish area, I went to a catholic school and college and a very mixed University. The difference is I don’t think like you. ‘Just’ mixing with white people does not mean you are so integrated, it means you are selling out. It means you have some issues about who you are and where you come from. Why didn’t you have any asian or muslim friends?

It is true that some people who live in deprived areas where there are far more muslims latch on to their culture far more that people who have lived in a more diverse and less ethnic area. This does not mean however that if you do come from a more privelidged background or upbringing you have the right to look down on something you have no knowledge about. If those people dress like that it’s because they choose to follow their religion and culture more excessively because they are afraid to adopt anything else. They are far more isolated because of language/cultural barriers anyway, they don’t need people telling them to throw their burkha’s off because they ‘look’ wierd.

As for Muslim/Islamic schools it depends on how you prioritise Islam within your life. Personally I think they are an excellent means of education and an alternative and extra choice for parents who want to send their kids there. At an age where children develop their personas and discover naughty habits Islamic schools teach curriculum as well as important islamic education/morals/respect. They have high standards and children that go to islamic schools are much well mannered and respectful than the ones that go to normal secondary or state schools where drugs/sex/achohol/swearing/homosexuality and every kind of curruption is promoted.

Integration does not mean selling yourself out to be like the average joe who thinks its normal to go down the pub every friday evening. We as muslims have to hold on to our ideals and our morals, singing a hymn may not be a big deal to you , but in actual fact your upbringing has somehow distanced yourself from your ‘auqat’ as it were.

If you knew more about islam maybe you would know that it’s FARD on a female to cover herself. Fard=mandatory. Now if your telling a muslim female

‘PLEASE DON’T WEAR A HIJAAB/JILBAAB, IT EMBARRASES ME AS I HAVE ISSUES WITH MYSELF. PLEASE DRESS LIKE THE WOMAN NEXT DOOR IN A JEANS AND T-SHIRT BECAUSE PEOPLE STARE AT YOU AND THEN THEY CONNECT ME TO YOU BECAUSE WE ARE BOTH FROM ISLAM’

it wouldn’t go down very well. Personally I think anyone should have the freedom to wear whatever they like without discrimination, actually it’s extremely surprising that being a muslim yourself your embarrassed of muslim females who actually follow the sunnah of the Prophet Muhammed saw and cover up.

Good on that girl who fought for the right to wear the Jilbaab and Hijaab. Next they will be telling us to eat pork, maybe we should start eating bacon sandwiches to fit in more, they might like us and think we are white as well. Why stop at the hijaab hey?

I didnt say any of that. I wasnt brought up in a Jewish area. I was brought up on a street with a lot of people who were secular in outlook. Though they might class themselves as Christian. School was Christian as we were singing hymns, but once assembly was over, it was back to secular again.

I think if you mix with white English people, that is integration. If you go to the same school as them that is integration (unless you somehow manage to avoid them).

The last part of what you say is a bit OTT. I didnt say I had no Asian or Muslim friends. I knew Bhindi wearing Hindus (and still do), I knew Muslims. I didnt really see the difference between any of them on a large scale on the issue of morality. But I would integrate with white English and Muslim Asian, Hindu Asian etc. It really wasnt an issue going to an Islamic school in the slightest. How is this selling out? Because I had (and still do) some white English friends? I also know some white English people I dont like if it makes any difference.

It is true that some people who live in deprived areas where there are far more muslims latch on to their culture far more that people who have lived in a more diverse and less ethnic area. This does not mean however that if you do come from a more privelidged background or upbringing you have the right to look down on something you have no knowledge about. If those people dress like that it's because they choose to follow their religion and culture more excessively because they are afraid to adopt anything else. They are far more isolated because of language/cultural barriers anyway, they don't need people telling them to throw their burkha's off because they 'look' wierd.

They are isolated and some do not speak the language. That is true. I agree. These are the problems and it doesnt help going to an Islamic school really, I dont think. But it's their choice. The people that come and cant speak the language..that's just silly really. Welfare is a magnet for the likes of those. But I dont think it's looking down on people. I'll hang out with people I want to hang out, with people who I share similarities with. It could be that it's an Asian Muslim, in which case it wouldnt really matter where he came from.

As for Muslim/Islamic schools it depends on how you prioritise Islam within your life. Personally I think they are an excellent means of education and an alternative and extra choice for parents who want to send their kids there. At an age where children develop their personas and discover naughty habits Islamic schools teach curriculum as well as important islamic education/morals/respect. They have high standards and children that go to islamic schools are much well mannered and respectful than the ones that go to normal secondary or state schools where drugs/sex/achohol/swearing/homosexuality and every kind of curruption is promoted.

It's true that a lot of people consumed alcohol at school (outside of it anyway). I was in the presence of them. But that is the society we live. If you want to prepare someone for the real world, to integrate them into it, why not show them how the majority in the country live. you dont have to follow them. But you can be amongst them and still maintain high morality if that is your goal.

Integration does not mean selling yourself out to be like the average joe who thinks its normal to go down the pub every friday evening. We as muslims have to hold on to our ideals and our morals, singing a hymn may not be a big deal to you , but in actual fact your upbringing has somehow distanced yourself from your 'auqat' as it were.

Why do you need to go down the pub to integrate? This is not integration. Integration is living amongst people. You go down the pub, I go down to the Mosque, and then we come back to the same neighbourhood, and have a chat and play some football. Almost all the white English people I know drink and do lots of other stuff. I dont, but I still hang out with them or do other things. If I dont want to do something I dont do it. It's not selling out.

Modesty is Fard for sure. I'm not sure having a face veil is. That's more cultural. As I suspect is Jilbab.

'PLEASE DON'T WEAR A HIJAAB/JILBAAB, IT EMBARRASES ME AS I HAVE ISSUES WITH MYSELF. PLEASE DRESS LIKE THE WOMAN NEXT DOOR IN A JEANS AND T-SHIRT BECAUSE PEOPLE STARE AT YOU AND THEN THEY CONNECT ME TO YOU BECAUSE WE ARE BOTH FROM ISLAM'

Lol. Where did I say it embarasses me? Has someone said that to you? It doesnt embarass me in the slightest, as I know, all Muslims are different. So just because one Muslim woman wears a Hijab it doesnt mean all do.

it wouldn't go down very well. Personally I think anyone should have the freedom to wear whatever they like without discrimination, actually it's extremely surprising that being a muslim yourself your embarrassed of muslim females who actually follow the sunnah of the Prophet Muhammed saw and cover up.

Yes, the Sunnah. Why be selective. Why not follow the Sunnah and live without TV, without mobile phones, without heating? There were reasons why the people lived that way in the 7th century. Does the same environment exist in the UK?

Good on that girl who fought for the right to wear the Jilbaab and Hijaab. Next they will be telling us to eat pork, maybe we should start eating bacon sandwiches to fit in more, they might like us and think we are white as well. Why stop at the hijaab hey?

How can someone force you to eat pork? If someone eats pork in my presence, that's fine. I would still eat with them, but I wouldnt eat from their plate.

Right then, I think Roadrunner and Puchi here have clearly demonstrated that Desi's in the UK are capable of speaking without using "b i t ch, innit, safe, man, bro" and whatever else the thread started said. Point has been proven, all 5000 words of it.

...for real.

You are assuming that someone from chuk # 42 Zila Mardaan is not cultured.

LOl Wat gowaaan MM! Keep it on the downlow yea? It’s all undercover man innit? I’m feelin raw today in need of a gangsta munch coz roza is gettin to me, ya get me blood?

Aye pet, I get yer. Im not much of a gangster mind. We Northerners are quite a civil bunch. I can say innit though!

LOL jus kiddin MM!

Mind you I can talk slang only in welsh though! He he

^^

Aargh! You… Welsh!!! :eek:

Eeeeeuuuuuuuuuuwwwwwwww … that’s worse than being a Northerner… and I thought Miss_M was bad!

Oh… innit :stuck_out_tongue:

No, I am assuming that someone from chuk#42 Zila Mardaan does not know pop culture of UK or US as well as someone who has lived in those places all his life.

Fraudia bhai - Your moi biyaaaaaaaaaaatch
5abi - Your moi nigga biyaaaaaaaaaaaatch
Maddy - Your da footsie biyaaaaaaaaaaaaaaatch

Puchi Kuchi - Mujhse shaadi karogi...(aye tapori sallu bhai style)...???

sure thing ya poof slappa'

Oh & I'm a big time Tupac fan...I know ya feel da pain in ya, but it aint really painful unless ya know da guy...nomesayn....respeck.