I did not know that now DST (Desi Standard Time) is at 3 hours offset of EST
So we were invited in one of the Mehndi, Wedding and Valima.
Mehndi happened to be on Thursday with card stating
Start time: 7pm
Dinner: 9pm
End time: 10pm
Given that next day was a working day, I thought that they will stick to the timings. I pushed begum really hard to be on time and we reached there (around 1 hour drive) at 7:30pm thinking that we might be late but NOoooooooo. We were only the 2nd family at the hall. Hosts actually arrived at 10pm and you can guess the rest. (begum nai jo bateen sunaeen hain mujhey wo aalag - daikha I was telling you that no one will be there…)
What is it that we do not understand when it comes to following the timings? why is it so hard to understand? half hour or hour, I can understand k dair ho jatee hai (shadi wadi main) like 3 hours late? @#%#%^%$@&^%#^&%^&^%$
and this is not just this one function. Be it a concert or birthday or some political rally or whatever.
When will we start valuing time?
%&^%^&^%$&^&^%&&%&^^%&&^%&&^&^^%^%
If you are hosting a function, what do you do to make sure that it goes as per schedule?
hahahaha, i was late to my grad party for like 30 min, and I got to hear it from the entire desi community that showed up to it. they all knew my dad wasn't gonna waste time, so people were actually there before me. :O
If people know you're not gonna dilly dally, they'll be there. You just have to serve the food on time ONCE and let them eat cold food, and next set of parties, everyone will be on time.
hahahaha, i was late to my grad party for like 30 min, and I got to hear it from the entire desi community that showed up to it. they all knew my dad wasn't gonna waste time, so people were actually there before me. :O
If people know you're not gonna dilly dally, they'll be there. You just have to serve the food on time ONCE and let them eat cold food, and next set of parties, everyone will be on time.
What about the parties you attend ?
At my sister’s wedding, we were like 10 minutes late and dad was fuming! As if that wasn’t enough to spoil everyone’s mood, the guests and the baraat MashaAllah se were SOO late! And then they didn’t even let the couple have a proper photoshoot because the baraat had to leave before dark.
Every time I put her wedding video on, all that gayness starts going through my mind and it’s such a put off. I’m so not inviting anyone to my veya!
It doesn't just happen at parties. Yesterday I was at an open house for an Islamic School here. You'd think they'd want to make good impression considering they had many potential parents that were coming in for the first time. The program was to begin at 3:30 but started at 4:15. Very very disappointing.
The bottom-line is that our community is always ready with excuses but make no effort to change this very bad habit.
i once went to a wedding in a Hall in a small town in India. i was surprised to see that everyone was there on time…i remarked “wow! who says weddings don’t take place on time in India?”…the guy next to em said “it doesn’t…the wedding is ONE FULL DAY late!” … maiN ne apnaa aur uskaa maathaa peeT liyaa!!!
i keep it simple, for general events, delay of 60-90 minutes is acceptable, if event was 7-10 max I am staying around is until 11:30. then I am out.
it even simpler with events now because if kids are with me then they can only be up so late and beyond that its tough on them, and even if they zone out on me, I can't really socialize. if i have a baby sitter with kids at home, I have to be back by a certain time. people can be as late as they want, and start and finish as late as they want. they can work with their clock, I will work with mine.
I know of one wedding case, where the bride's side had requested the groom's side to be on time, so that they could have a photo session and do everything calmly.
So the bride's side was on time and the guests were all on time too.
But the dulhay walay came 2 hours late on purpose -_-
You'll be pleasantly surprised if you attend a wedding at Lahore these days. Most of the weddings I've been to the past couple of years start at 7 and end 10pm sharp!(lights out at 10pm rule) so refreshing and I loved it. It did take some getting used to by people (still is) but I hope they never change this rule.