Desi Fashion/Style Faux Pas:

Re: Desi Fashion/Style Faux Pas:

GASP!!!!!
people do that here?
oh the arrogance and (fill in with what other critics said here)
tobah tobah etc.

fraudz knowing you you will never admit your mistake but will continue arguing till the other person just walks away thinking of you as a lost case. Bhai jaan first of all you did not give pointers as to how things should be done right you and the others came in here and pointed on what was wrong and made fun of it. And here is a gem

I myself have refused to put a desi techie in front of a client just last week because the guy while technically competent, just was completely unaccpetable.

do you even read what you write oh high and mighty Mr ParisMilanNY :D

maan lo, the thread was cheap and in bad taste.

Femme Fatale- I was thinking the same exact thing! Everyone goes crazy in those bridal pics threads, talking about how girls and their sense of style is hideous, making fun of the “aata” look, even going so far as to speculate that some girls are in forced marriages, one girl was kissing her husband so people noticed a little pouchy stomach started talking about how it seems as though she looks pregnant :rolleyes: Those are real people, those girls in there are ripping strangers’ sense of style apart, and those poor brides dont even know!

Here, we named a few fashion donts, with NO REAL PEOPLE aside from the mommy jeans thing… which by the way they do in fashion mags too and all hell broke loose.

No one ever told them to calm down or be nicer…Seems a bit hypocritical to me.

the thread clearly listed what is wrong...there is a lot more than that that is right. would you be happier if I said, desis really need to take showers frequently, wear clean clothes and use deodorant daily? fine...I will say it that way.

and what do you mean by here is a gem. I can not risk client relations by putting in a smelly filthy individual in front of a fortune 50 company client team. There are plenty of other competent people in my company who would be more acceptable and would be better representatives of the company at a client site.

you know what a gem is, when you hear from your main client contact that they like the tech team except they have to have meeting doors open...I would not put an unkempt person in front of a client whether he is desi, chinese, white whatever. My responsibility is to deliver on multimillion dollar projects, and get add on work. Everything has to work like clockwork.. no weak cogs...not in delivery, not in deliverables, and not in personnel.

hahahaha.

aik dafa phir batao na, how many hundreds of million billion dollar?

just multimillion. not as big as what your company may do.
but I think we are talking about fashion faux pas, not my client deliverables. lets not get personal :)

point is simple, people need to pay attention to how they look, and how they groom themselves, Its not about being some fashion magazine model, but it is about being in line with what the environment expects..

[mod]Guys relax-EVERYONE!

Those who wish to further participate try not to sound insulting, do not make fun and belittle. If you have a problem with certains fashions (or lack of) doesn't mean you should attack the people who's sense of fashion (or lack of) you disagree with.

Gracias. [/mod]

Femme tum poori kasai ho, meri posts ka keema bana ke rakh diya.

kahain tau aapka bhi banaa doon? :D

Posting pics of others for the sole purpose of criticising their look is wrong full stop, be it wedding pics, pics of 'mama jeans' or pics of boots with sari. These people aren't around to defend themselves for pete's sake!

This thread reeks of ugliness and arrogance, and i aint talking about the pics ...

Fraudz again you surprise me with your apparent arrogance

And if you’d noticed, it was a few people who made those dirty remarks who calmed down after mods as well as others, said that the focus is the outfit and not their personal life.

sadi care to explain what you see as apparent arrogance?
some of it was humour which may have misfired in some people's views, but the rest is 100% accurate. everything I noted is an issue.

If your note is about me not staffing that dude on a project, he was in flagrant violation of our corporate standards, AND that of the client. nothing personal, but I am not goign to jeopardize a project or a relationship by putting someone in front of client mgmt, who is a 30 some year old oaf completely oblivious of personal hygiene and grooming. Its standard policy, nothing arrogant about it. The point I was trying to make was that you can call people like myself arrogant snobs putting ppl down, but this is the type of stuff that gets in teh way of people in their careers and social life.

First impression is not the last impression but is a lasting impression, the challenge of the situation also is that in most cases people would not be able to make a second inpression anyways.

I still fail to see why people are jumping upa nd down about it. if someone did not like the manner of delivery, say so. But makign personal remarks and then assuming that what is being written is untrue or some personal bias, is the wrong approach.

You can read the exact same stuff on interview guidelines or workplace appearance.

So if it is arrogance that you see than I dont know what you are seeing, this was supposed to be a simple lighthearted way of noting some desi faux pas. and no matter what anyone says the faux pas..are faux pas. people can choose to ignore it. But next time some desi with BO, mismatched, unwahsed clothing, and a medallion comes up to chat to you, be honest to yourself and dont take that as a social no-no. because that would be....arrogant.

regardless- my apologies to anyone who thought this was rude, crude or insensitive. those were not my intentions, this was intended to be humorous and an inventory of sorts. looks like it misfired.

FOR All the People out there…We’ll start a new thread..Style/Fashion DO’s and Don’ts…Please add your suggestions?..Promise it wont be DESI Style/Fashion DO’s and Don’ts…BUT ALL WILL BE INCLUDED…(I have been watching too much “What Not to WEAR”):bummer:…It will be positively written…pinky promise..

There is a very fine line b/w humor & sarcasm......

I know a lot of things mentioned here are true but again, we went too far. I mean come on, for a lot of people comfort is more imp. than fashion. and shouldn't it be that way......

So what if people wear Mommy or granny jeans - they find it more comfortable. same is the case with tinted prescription glasses - it is more comfortable for some people to use it caz they don't have to be worried about keeping 2 glasses with them all the time & keep switching em. I really don't mind wearing it. I don't own these kinda glasses because i don't find it comfortable in the room otherwise I'll be the regular customer.
(I am not mentioning the posts here which were way off track)

I am considered to be a very well-dressed person at my work place but again, i really don't care how I go out on the weekends or to the grocery stores. I have a lot of old-fashioned clothes too. I have a suit that was in fashion about 6 years ago. The jacket is long. I never really got chance to wear it so its new and i really like it so didn't throw it away. I wore it the other day. and NO. none of my colleagues made fun of me. it looked good even though its not in fashion anymore. But I think, i shouldn't wear it where there are desis.

I used to laugh at these kinda fashion mistakes too but i was a teenager at that time. Now I think I understand whats imp. Comfort is more imp than fashion. and yes, I usually find desis making fun of others' fashion styles - i don't really find other cultures doing the same.

I'm sorry. I don't really mean to critisize anyone here. and i understand Fraudz's opinion regarding professional clothing & leaving a good first impression. But again, some posts weren't talking about that.
i am just giving my opinion...

Coolie

Comfort and decent looking clothing are not mutually exclusive, niether am I talking about people having brand new seasonal fad clothing. I am equally amused at ppl in clothing that is obviously uncomfrtable but they wear it because its the latest fad...the term there is fashion victims. comfort does not mean looking like a bum, and especially not at work, and not in social settings.

and lastly weekend or weekday, hygiene and grooming is important.

amber good idea on the new thread.