Desi culture aur Munh bolay Rishtay

Desi people have craving for creating relationships. Inspite of having a full tabbar of bhai behn, khala zad, chacha zad, mamoo zad, phuppi zad behn bhais they make people Bhai Jaan, Behn jis.

There are traditions like Dupatta badal behnen (two ladies exchanges their dupattas to make themselves behnen). In Sindh, there is a concept of Pag mat yaar (Pagri exchange friends). and there is the concept of Langotiya.

How do you see such relationships? Have you ever made such relationships?

Re: Desi culture aur Munh bolay Rishtay

no i have never made such relationships by doing these processes, but yes my close friends are like sisters to me, but according to our religion nothing like this exist

true, but religion and culture are two different things.

Have you observed other people making such relationship.

langotiya yar ya phir chaddi friends in Karachi

:rotfl: Karachi got its own terms

yeah, its sort of a translation

These relationships are not exclussive to Desi people.

I have a Mescelaro "Blood Brother" who is an 4th Genration Apache spirit master and knife fighter, there was this awkward ceremony we went through were we both slashed our hands and then touched the palms together and swore an oath of eternal friendship... those have such deep importance though.

I also made friends with some guys while in Turkmenistan were we played a game simmilar to Bushkazi but instead of horsemen chasing after a goat carcass the objective was different you had to ride to several points and pick up items from the ground while still mounted.

It was a team sport and at the end the winning team get sworn in as Brothers.

Also a lot of martial arts schools across Asia and the West require students to treat one another as brother and sister.

In Wales I have a friend who I consider a brother even though he is a gypsy the clever man is an Irishman and an Immigrant like me and we both share a love of nature and the Welsh landscape, but he is one of the most inpirational men I know even though he is almost twice my age and we started off as enemies.

I also have this bad habbit for trying to treat everyone around me like fammily... to me your all brothers and sisters.

Interesting. Its true that its in some people's nature to make others their own. Whereever they go, they make relations.

I think rural people got this characteristics more than the people from urban areas. Even I don't see much interaction between the people living in neighboring flats.

You could've gotten a disease.

Yes your right, poor people and those who live in rural areas are more likely to share thier few possesions and make you feel more welcome. The rich nieghbourhoods are not always so welcoming though there are exceptions.

Also some people are attracted to others not just for sex or love or any material desire but becuase they see in others qualities they admire in themselves.

One Desi tradition is to love ones enemy, its definately a more Asiatic concept, even Jesus was Asiatic as was Bhudha. So those who follow those paths are bound to them, but also as a Muslim I have many Sikh and Rajput friends in North India becuase I suppose we all respect one another as being tough and worthy opponents.

I know for a fact that Sikhs, Pathans and Rajputs as well as Ghurkali and Marathi men all share simmilar “Mardana” values and a worthy opponent is something highly valued indeed.

I had a Janjuwa Rajput friend in Rajasthan and at first we hated the guts out of each other but then when it came to discussing the finer points of Shastar Vidaya we agreed that between our people there was no other race on Earth as skilled at that art. :hug:

We couldn't care less at the time. Besides Sher ka bacha kis se daray.It was something we had always wanted to do since we had been so long in one anothers company.

This is something men have done for centuries and nevermind that there is a Punjabi tradition where a Jatt would rather die protecting his homelands Soil than serve to the will of an invader, the Jatt would willingly slice open his hand and then grab a handfull of Earth and swear to defend it to the death. I love seeing the look of other guys as they squirm at the violence being expressed.

Not exclusive to desi culture. People in Korea and other Asian countries practice this awesome custom aswell.

I'm sure, the kaur will like this post :)

You mean exchanging some clothes?

no i never noticed this thing :(

^ Not evey Bay-Chara or Baradereee... the English term would be Bondsmen or Sworn brothers?

no, its always like i consider u just like my bro or just like my sis, its always "like" but not u r my bro or u r my sis

I see, well I know what you mean now.

But still considering someone "like" a brother or sister is putting them on par with a sibling. Offcourse that does not exactly make them a true blood sibling but technically speaking all mankind is related. Wether you look at it scientifically or Religously. You can then take that a step further spiritualy and say that we are all of the same earth too. Yanee Mati ke putle.

yeah i agree

No, but making someone your brother, sister, aunt, uncle etc.

I think in England men used to have a "buddy" also. It was originally someone who was like a brother to a man, however that changed when homophobia took birth europe and people would suspect men to be gay when they were so close to someone who was not their family, so that custom of having a buddy pretty much died out.