Desi couples and public displays of affection

*Originally posted by funguy: *
Most men don't want to hold a wife's hand. Girlfriend's? sure.

Im glad i dont know such men.

*Originally posted by Femme Fatale: *
Rukhsati has to take place yet? But u guys are already living together aren't you?

No femme, we are married but not living together. She's in Canada and im in the US.

*Originally posted by Maniac: *

Im glad i dont know such men.

Dude, your opinions don't count bc first you are just recently married and second you are not living together. Wait.

Are you married ? Do you really know the meaning of love ?

I dont think i`ll ever mind holding her hands.

OK mian mujnoo, daikhtay hain. talk to me in a few months after you start living together. Not trying to discourage you but just giving you a reality check. Waisay, romantics are so refreshing. So pure, innocent and naive. They sure do bring a smile to one’s face. :dixsi:

^FG I wish I could kick you.Hard.

Come on funguy give the loving couple a break.

funguy, you're the one who said we should be affectionate with each other and now you're saying that we won't be doing it anymore in a little while! Anyway, why are you being so discouraging? Not everyone fits a preconcieved mould, 'nuff said!

What is the Islamic view by the way? And what is sunnah? I havent come across any hadiths on this matter so if someone knows some, please post.

*Originally posted by Sarah Splendor: *
funguy, you're the one who said we should be affectionate with each other and now you're saying that we won't be doing it anymore in a little while! Anyway, why are you being so discouraging? Not everyone fits a preconcieved mould, 'nuff said!

No, I am not discouraging you. I said earlier that you should do as you please and don't be afraid of what others might say as long as you two feel comfortable.

I was arguing with Maniac on another point. Men are usually hesitant in showing affection with their wives in public. Specially after marriage. That's just the nature of it. Before marraige they will be the initiators. After marriage it's mostly the women who initiate such stuff in public.

This reminds me of something I read once of a guy who used to write his girlfriend a lot of love letters and give her a lot of gifts but after a few years of marriage, those things stopped. But the woman realized it wasn't something worry about because he would pick up after himself and help her around the house so she wouldn't have so much work to do. A different kind of romanticism.

But it's like, I've seen these so-called "modern and westernized" guys on gs and they make fun of typical Pakistani guys cuz they arent romantic but when someone IS romantic, people still make fun. So you're right, we shouldn't care so assume and generalize away mr moderator.

I am hesitant to give any comments on any thing that Maniac bhai jaan says.... why.. because mujhay inn say darr lagta hai. Wahan Degas ko daant parwa di, ab yahan funguy ki kher nahi.

Go Maniac Go!!!

SarahS, Your last sentence went way over my head. But anyway, I am not making fun of a guy who is trying to be romantic. I think it's very refreshing to see a man trying to make an effort. Aur woh bhi Pakistani.

What I am saying is that it will wear off very soon, so do it as you please and make the most of the present.

*Originally posted by Faisal: *
I am hesitant to give any comments on any thing that Maniac bhai jaan says.... why.. because mujhay inn say darr lagta hai. Wahan Degas ko daant parwa di, ab yahan funguy ki kher nahi.

Go Maniac Go!!!

LOL you make me sound like im some sort of larku khan, i just like standing up for my views.

My last sentence meant that you're generalizing. Maybe that was your experience in your relationships or maybe thats what you've seen and you're welcome to assume away. But as two guppy girls said, their parents still hold hands and I guess they musta been married for a long time yeah? So who knows, not every guy or girl is the same.

haha it just makes me think of something my mom says to my hubby, "aaj sona jaya panga paa liya", she thinks its gonna wear off too

Well Manic and Sarah you're just gonna have to prove em all wrong!

And enjoy it while you're at it! ;)

well.. we dont hold hands infront of family or friends.. its just awkward.. but yea if we are out , we dont mind holding hands.

Maniac bhai jaan... are you sure so you are not "larku khan"? Ok, then I'll try to be serious for a change
*Originally posted by Maniac: *
Funguy, being a little affectionate in public is ok, me and her holding hands is fine, but i dont think her or me wanna go that far in public. Among close family, perhaps yeah with her parents and mine its ok, but not in public. Because sharam and hayaa are still very important parts of our life, as is religion.
I guess this about sums it up. You have to figure out your own comfort zone. In cases of PDA one-size definitely does NOT fit all. So based on your own family values and cultural sensitivites you have to draw your own line. As long as you are not trying to 'shock' other people, you'd be ok. And if they get shocked a little tiny bit, thats ok too. Cultures evolve over time.

Hijab comes with certain obligations towards muslim community. I don’t think I have to go into details but we should respect them as much as we can. The important thing is that you love your partner and there are various ways to communicate that.

**There is nothing wrong with holding hands after
marriage. In fact, that's the ONLY time it is okay and permissible.

Once the days and months start brushing by, couples usually
tend to loose track of the only important things which matter.
Intimacy being one of those things and a very important one. So
keep at it and never loose sight of the things which seem small
but are the only ones which truly matter in the end.**