I like holding hands with my husband and pinching him and stuff and he puts his arm around me and we sit close together a lot. I always feel awkward doing it though, like it’s wrong or something because I never see my parents or other Muslim couples doing it. Is it wrong? What kind of impression does it give to people? I remember a few weeks ago I was sitting very close with him and had my arm around him on the bench in front of my apartment and my Pakistani neighbour came out and saw us and I felt like she was thinking I was a slut or something. And my sister, who’s younger than me, thinks its inappropriate to be so touchy feely in public and “slutty” too. And she’s like, you wear hijab so it gives people the wrong impression. Does everyone think this way? Like when you see a hijabi girl being so demonstrative. What is the Islamic view? I feel so fake if I don’t touch my husband, I think it’s a natural feeling and perfectly innocent but I don’t want to do it if people think it’s slutty or whatever. Even my mom is like boyfriends and girlfriends act like that, not husbands and wives.
Its a desi thing.I dont think they always think its 'slutty' they just feel uncomfortable with an audience.Im not a fan of too much public affection, but I dont see anything wrong in holding hands.
My parents hold hands often in public. Nothing wrong with it.
Give it some time Sarah, you two will become like regular couples, fighting in public and all.
After marriage u shoudnt care what others think…if ur husband dont have a problem with it…cool…u have your own life now and u guys are married its perfectly fine.
p.s…may b that desi aunty is jealous of u guys:hehe:
Public display of a couple is not only good but it is very important in holding a stable relationship. You see if a woman is holding a man's hand and is being affectionate in public, it keeps not only other women eyeing the man but it always prevents other men eyeing the woman. So it is a win win situation for both.
I say go ahead and sit as close to him on the sofa as you possibly can (even put your leg on his knees or thighs) and make a bold statement... THIS IS MY HUSBAND, you folks made me not touch a man til marriage, now I am maaried and there ain't a thing you can do to stop me. Eat my shorts!
*Originally posted by ashtray: *
Give it some time Sarah, you two will become like regular couples, fighting in public and all.
Dont think thats gonna happen with us :) Infact i know thats not gonna happen with us. We are closer than most people realize.
I say go ahead and sit as close to him on the sofa as you possibly can (even put your leg on his knees or thighs) and make a bold statement... THIS IS MY HUSBAND, you folks made me not touch a man til marriage, now I am maaried and there ain't a thing you can do to stop me. Eat my shorts!
Funguy, being a little affectionate in public is ok, me and her holding hands is fine, but i dont think her or me wanna go that far in public. Among close family, perhaps yeah with her parents and mine its ok, but not in public. Because sharam and hayaa are still very important parts of our life, as is religion.
I hope that u people don't live in nwfp... where are u from??
*Originally posted by Maniac: *
Funguy, being a little affectionate in public is ok, me and her holding hands is fine, but i dont think her or me wanna go that far in public. Among close family, perhaps yeah with her parents and mine its ok, but not in public. Because sharam and hayaa are still very important parts of our life, as is religion.
Acha yaar, jitna ker saktay hau karo.
*Originally posted by blushing_vision: *
I hope that u people don't live in nwfp... where are u from??
We are from Lahore :) She's currently studying in Canada and im Studying in the US.
howcome u study in different countries… but u just got married na? Or is the rukhsatti yet 2 take place? I’m confused ![]()
I don't think there's anything wrong PDA :-)
Yes the rasam of Rukhsati still has to take place.
Sarah, people will talk no matter what: if you fight, they will talk, if you are all lovey-dovey, they will talk. Just do whatevr makes you feel comfortable and happy and what is allowed by Allah and His Rasool SAW. Rest, who cares abt what others think, when YOU know you arent doing anything "wrong"?(you guys are legally married after all)
hmmm
to be honest Sarah yes it totally grosses me out
its a good thing in pakistan u hardly ever see it except these sickly looking young lovey dovey couples in parks or restaurants
when i see em i feel like EWWW please get that sick and moronic “ive lost my brains and im on cloud nine” expression off your face
you love your spouse and thats great but the whole world does NOT need to know
it just doesnt look decent yaar.
i still remember this pakistani dude who was holding his wife’s hand in a hospital in the usa (him mom was in the hospital and i’d gone to visit her) and i was like IN THAT ROOM!!! i felt like they had no shame coz the dude was like holding her hand and whispering something to her n aunty (the gal) was giggling or something … YUCK i dint even wana look at them :yukh:
i just felt like EWWW someone plz get me out of here fast
i made some excuse and went away in a couple minutes.
i respect couples more that keep a silent and respectful reserve in public :k: you can still see they care for each other but in a more silent and respectful way
irem I can’t wait till you’re married… I bet you won’t be able to let go of him ![]()
Sarah like you said it feels natural and it’s innocent and besides you’re married! If you’re both comfortable with it…then hell with everybody else!
Rukhsati has to take place yet? But u guys are already living together aren't you?
Irem, what if the guy you marry wants to hold hands?
irem's one of those ppl i'd LOVE to rub me and my husband's hands in her face....just be S.H.O.C.K.E.D....seriously hun wat do u see so wrong and indecent and gandah about holding hands? here in teh US, it's sweet to see two old ppl holding hands....i find having borderline sex in public disgusting..
Most men don't want to hold a wife's hand. Girlfriend's? sure.