Desi Calorie Counter

The first step to healthy weight loss is educating yourself in the calorie counts of various foods .

I’m gonna start with a few basic calorie counts of certain foods that are consumed daily and others can add to the list.

Breads :

1 medium chappati…119

1 slice of white bread…60

1 paratha (no filling )…280

100gm Naan bread…336

Milk products :*****

1 cup skimmed milk…45

240ml full cream milk…150

100gms butter…750

100gms cream…210

100 gms Ghee…910

Misc.

1 tbsp sugar…48

1 tsp honey…90

Desi Foods :

1 Vegetable Pakora ( 1 oz.) …33

1 Aloo Samosa…156

1 Falafel ( 2 1/4 " diameter)…57

100gms Chicken Curry…132

100gm Chicken Korma…166

100gm Chicken Tikka…155

300gm Chicken Biryani…410

100 gm Chicken Kabab…150

These are rough estimates as various sites quote different counts however its to give you an idea of the basic calorie range so you can do a quick mental count when eating .

So part of the Challenge is to make people aware of the calories they are consuming and many times we under-estimate the calorie counts especially since most of our traditional foods and snacks are fried.

Please Add Calories for other Desi Foods

Re: Desi Calorie Counter

***ok that was not easy to put together :vivo:

Its hard finding calories to desi foods :hinna:

Anyone know any good sites that list the calorie charts ?

in other words, just stop eating :smack:

ab khaayein to kaya khaayein :(

damm.. khudaa ne har cheese banaaei hai khaney k liye .. so mazzey se khaao ..if not then .. ^^ what X X said.. you may aswel stop eating ..and move to a third world country where you aint gonna find no calories etc ..aur aakhir pe bhooka marr jaeyy .. and when some one comes at your funeral …whts the cause of death ..aah bas he/she didnt eat their calories :smack:

ps. no 0ffence to anyone but this is just my observation ..and i have personally seen and know three ppl who hav actually starved themselves …cos they were worried about all the above and ended up in hospital .. and one who i know had to get steel rods to supoort his legs put in cos all the bones of his legs just shattered cos of no prtiens and calories ..

Thanx baji for sharing anyways :@:

***That's the whole point fbi.....its not about STARVING oneself........

OBESITY is a recognised risk factor for a lot of diseases e.g diabetes , hypertension , heart disease , osteoporosis to name a few and putting all those things in our system doesn't help us .....its about healthy living ...eating the right things and in the right proportions.

The Biggest Loser Challenge is NOT about starving yourself but about making the DECISION to commit to taking better care of your body and changing your lifestyle to a healthier and fitter YOU !

..........and that in no means implies that you need to deny yourself any of the above mentioned foods. Its about MODERATION and knowing when to STOP !***

well there is no “healthy” when everything has been grown using chemicals and what not and buying organic foods are out of the picture cuz they’re just to freaking expensive :mad:

To know how many calories you need to eat in a day…

go in this site BMR Calculator

and calculate your daily calorie needs.

You calculate your BMR (basal metabolic rate) then multiply it by a certain number depending on your activity then minus 500 from it.

However calorie intake should never drop below 1200!

Hope that makes sense!

Its all a bit long but a recipe for success!

Vegetables/Curries ( 100gm portion )

**Aloo Baingan..........................103 **

Aloo Mixed Vegetable ............134

Aloo Curry..............................105

Baingan ka Bhartha.............. 70

Bhindi................................... 161

Cabbage (Gobi)................... 131

Choley.................................. 74

Kaddhi (Besan)................... 100

Methi Aloo........................... 121

Mutter Paneer.................... 147

Kaddu ( Pumpkin ).............67

Kidney Beans.....................102

Torai ( Ridge Gourd ).........65

Vegetable Jalfrezi..............159

Vegetable Kofta Curry......147

Vegetable Korma ..............88

So its all about PORTIONS !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I'm hoping this will help you girls in calculating your meal portions,enjoy your everyday desi foods and still stay within the calorie limit .

Awesome, Sheyn. For this you get a promotion :lifey:

***I got a promotionnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn :hayaa:

:sadiyah: :sadiyah: :sadiyah:

Errrrr wait wat did i get promoted to :konfused:

ummm, ummmm, I’ll check and get back with you :superman:

How do i tell how much is 100 gm of each dish?

yeah, what is a 100 gram serving look like ???

3.5 oz = 100 gm = 7 tablespoons

Awesome Sheynnnnn Thanks

Tonight’s menu

CHicken Biryani cooked in desi ghee & Bhindi with buttered naan bread. Drained down with one glass full cream milk mixed with honey. And of course 2 Aloo samosay fried in ghee as starter. :yummy: 2400 calories. :hmmm:

does this serving include the calories from oil that's in the dish

I think the amount of oil used in these dishes must be MINIMAL because the calorie count is pretty low!

as one TEASPOON of olive oil contains approx- 40-50 calories!

^ Just an off topic question, do you COOK in olive oil? :s