desi aunties philosaphiessss!!!

this is really weird or maybe its weird for me:hmmm: when ever a baby is born in desi families and i visit them (to see the baby,cause i love gooogloos babies:kiss:) the only topic ladies are discussing is :

abb zara iss ki naak zaroor dabana patalee sii banai gi.aur haan mathha(forhead) bhi zaroor dabana uss sai saar gool banai gah…saar kai right left rice kai pillow rakhna taakai saar gool hoo:eek: :hayaa:

HELLLOOO yai bacha hai yahan doll:aj:why do desis do this…did u see other people doing this???like where the world is going too..if we can change are apperance by pressing our nose or forehead then everybody would be beautiful…and plus then there will be no plastic surgeons …laikin inn desi aunties ko yai baat koon samjaai…:smack:

does this happen in ur family:aq: have u heard about it??do u believe in this???aur haan bachai ki eyes mai surmaah zaroor lagana 40 din ankhaain BAREE BAREE hoo jain gi:smack:

Re: desi aunties philosaphiessss!!!

and atta to make sure kid is not too hairy faced.

wats the big deal?

uuff kajal and surma i hateeeeeeeeee.. cotay bachay aik daam achay lagnay kai bajaye khufnak lagtay hain,,plz bura nahee man na mayre baat ka..

It’s all true but who cares really? World has got so many more issues which are far more serious than worrying about such trivial matters. Just let them be.

sara dont u think its a big deal:eek: babies are like delicate flower ..how can u press his/her forhead or nose haan…if these things are real nah tou doctors hospital mai hi bata daitai kai itana degree iss ka naak morna aur iss angel sai saar.

my mom has used these tricks on me as well as my two other siblings..

I do not believe in all this.

My mom also wrapped by forehead with ears covered so the ears dont stick out..

Non-Sense!!!

Another one i heard from someone is that if its a baby boy..keep shaving his head till hes like 4 or 5.. this way he wont get bald ! haha.. funny !!

well i think a baby can get hurt by these blunders ..thats all :snooty:

hello this is a life 1..we discuss such issues here:p

tabhi i have seen soo many gangai chootai desi babies:hmmm:

:smiley: and not so many desi ganji baby girls

I dont think they work...Ive heard it in my family too. Naak dabane se patli hojati hai...aata malne se baal kam hote hein...etc. Ive never known it to work...anyone?

i knew this grandmother who made her granddaughter sleep on a flat rock surface! her head is flat from the back :O

yaa.... i have seen the head thing happening a lot..... it is to shape the skull.... coz when babies are born the bones are so delicate and it proper care is not done the skull can end up in any shape... which can look kuch ajeeb sa.... ........ like i have seen jin bachoon keh sir eik taraf saye zida flat hote hain... it taraf saye round......... and then others ka skull thora lamba ho jata hai......... all these totkas are to give sir a shape.

never heard of nose thing..... but ya shaving head can give strength to the hair..... its just like we cut our hair to give it strength.... or it will have tails at the end. so its all part of the game......... they dont do it for the heck of it!!

^how's that one supposed to work, what do they do with atta , elaborate plz...

I don't believe in naak dabana (for thinner nose) , and surmaa dalna (for bigger eyes)

but about shaping the head, it is true that kids are born with really soft head, so if you don't take care in how you put them to sleep etc in the first few months after birth, the kid can have a really asymmetrical shaped head depending on their sleeping postion...
so there's no harm in putting a nice comfortable pillow or somehting around either side of the head to make sure the baby doesn't develop any asymmetrical flatness of the head depending on his/her most preferred sleeping postiion...
but ofcourse extreme type of practices to shape the head should be avoided, like for example someone said, sleeping the baby with head on a brick or rock ... geez.... or putting pressure on the head (dabbana) that could damage the brain...

but nothing wrong in preventing any anomolies in the shape of the head with proper sleeping positioning on a comfortable mattress with u shaped pillows etc around the head...
even doctors suggest this to prevent flat head syndrome...

atta is not just for face. it is for the whole body. they take the atta and rub it on the surface of the skin and rub or rip it off so the hair grows fine. it works. my friend had it done by her mom when she was a baby/child and her hair is really fine and downy.

few more things like

giving water to baby--- not a good idea, infants need milk only

i think the head thing works but the nose thing does not.

sookha atta?

or like goondha hova atta?

if they are using wet sticky atta then they are essentially doing something similar to waxing on the baby..no?

one of my cousins (chachi ki beti) was born really hairy... but after a few months, she was completely normal (much less hair)...

my other aunt (doosri chachi) was wondering how it happened, how did the kid go from being so hairy to completely fine so easily... and my aunt was a littlle shakki about the whole situation and was sure that the kid's mom used some secret totka to get rid of the hair, that the mom wasnt sharing ... lol... we thought the hair just disappeared naturally as the kid grew (coz it happens a few weeks after birth that the fine hair called "lanugo" disappears)...

but now am wondering if my other aunt did indeed use this atta totka... coz the kid was hairy a few months (as opposed to weeks as is the case with lanugo) after being born, and then all of a sudden the hair disappeared...

really? interesting. actually i heARd IT WAS DONE SO THAT WHEN THE GIRL GROWS UP then her hair is fine and soft. i didnt know it would work so soon in a few months for a baby like you said.

i am talking about gundawa atta. yes i think it would be something like waxing or sugaring.

btw caps button was hit by mistake above. didn't mean to over emphasize anything.

i havent really heard tht ppl say in MY family but except the surma thingee ithink everything proves to be true if u do it in the right way........

Doesnt surma have lead in it?

Its just not desis that practice such things.

In China they tie a girls feet so they dont grow because small feet are considered beautiful in their culture.