10 bukreya, 20 chooze, 5 cows, 12 sheep, 4 1/2 packets of cigarettes, washing machine and green mosque alarm clock - it's going to be a fab wedding mnnn......
I dont think what I got was a "dowry". My inlaws/husband certainly didnt ask for anything, nor are they type to expect a typical desi dowry. My parents just gave gifts for me and hubby like clothes, jewelry, makeup, cash and some things for the house -not like washing machines and plasma tvs or anything, just like dishes and bedspreads etc
i was an orphan (didn't have both parents) at the time of my wedding and i gave everything that i got in inheritance to my siblings so i didn't bring anything in my dowry..................all the things i got from my inlaws i gave them back after the wedding........i felt my inlaws were trying to impress me and other family members by all the gold and stuff they gave me so i respectfully returned it back.
lol it better be green, it is isnt im not marrying the guy! I'm talking about mahr (when the guy's family give things to the girl's family) anyway not dowry..that's just giving everything away -
I dont think what I got was a "dowry". My inlaws/husband certainly didnt ask for anything, nor are they type to expect a typical desi dowry. My parents just gave gifts for me and hubby like clothes, jewelry, makeup, cash and some things for the house -not like washing machines and plasma tvs or anything, just like dishes and bedspreads etc
Thats exactly like my situation.
i was an orphan (didn't have both parents) at the time of my wedding and i gave everything that i got in inheritance to my siblings so i didn't bring anything in my dowry..................all the things i got from my inlaws i gave them back after the wedding........i felt my inlaws were trying to impress me and other family members by all the gold and stuff they gave me so i respectfully returned it back.
Wow...mashallah Hareem! Good on you! May Allah Tallah reward in many other ways! Ameen.
i didnt ask for dowry and never got anything from in laws.
how ever my in laws insisted on 5 lac mahr just the night before nikkah! didnt like this attitude but agreed.
I dont think its related to dowry directly, but i guess any high mahr forced demand in good families create sense of mistrust and that was exactly my feeling. like they trust the money to safeguard the marriage instead of the person and the family. and I dont think any amount of mahar can save a marriage if its bound to break.
I agree with Amour, my father told them that I am giving you the most important thing with my trust in Allah. My in laws put the gold that they had given me as mahr. On the dowry front, there was none. We just got gifts from both sides of the family, one member gave washing machine, one member bought the dining set we liked and stuff like this... like a wedding registry thing. So it all worked out great Alhamdulillah.
Those that are affluent, and pay their due alms generously etc, should they give their daughter anything? I mean i see no reason why not, and you cant just say oh just give it to the poor because after all, a man does work hard for himself too, and you cant just expect him to give everything to the poor. The only problems are the expectations that arise on the bride's side, who can be very greedy at times. Poori zindagi they will issue taana'z yeh nahee layi, woh nahee layi. That is just pathetic.
Well i have seen this thing recently too. That bride's side do not give any dowry but want large sums as Mehr.
Is it fair?
yep the girl is moving away from her family, so in effect there daughter is leaving the house to be with her husband - but the bride's family shouldnt go overboard, I don't agree with the concept of dowry and don't know why the hell pakis have adopted it into their culture*.*, it is illogical, the wife moves from her own family but they still have to give money to her in laws??