I am sick and tired of seeing Punjabi cuisine going around as ‘Indian’. Make no mistake. I love my Tandoori!!
Still there is more to sub continental cuisine than Tandoori.
So I want people to tell me what they know about
Afghani, Sindhi, Gujrati, Andhra, Tamil, Keral, Karnataka, Maharshtra, Balochi etc., etc.,
Start!!!
Hey whats wrong with Bengal Macher Jhol Bhaat
http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/yummy.gif
…Sandesh Rosogolla for desert & side dish ‘misti Doi’ …
http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/hula.gif
Here in the UK Indian restaurants are known as Balti Restaurants.
Although some Pakistani Restaurant owners claim that the main delicacy the Balti originated from Baltistan in Pakistan, this is not true.
This dish was first made by a white Brit in Birmingham.
Whatever its origins, it tastes great with naan!!!
Maharashtrian..
Ghaati masala…
along with Vada Pav ofcourse
[This message has been edited by devil123 (edited February 08, 2002).]
Apologize for leaving out Bengali Cusisine. How could I?
Rasmalai is my favourite dessert!!
Still I am looking, not recipes, but descriptions of traditional sub-continental cuisine!!
Maharashtrian..
Ghaati masala.....
How about Maharashtrian
Srikhand Puri
Thalipeeth
Kolhapuri Mutton
Zunka Bhakar
Bharlela Paplet (Stuff Pompfret)
Sabudana Khichdi and Vada
I love mishti doi and Rassogulla…
r u Bong Azad munna?
I love a lot of south Indian dishes,
for light breakfast I prefer either
Idly/Vada with Sambar and Coconut Chutney.
or Masala dosa, plain dosa or Uthappam.
I also love Bisibele Bath, a traditional Karnataka food. I do enjoy Pongal and Upma very much.
(upma with kesari bath is called as "chow-Chow bath" in karnataka")
(also, in andhra pradesh, upma is served with pesarattu, known as "pesarattu upma" and it tastes fantastic")
For lunch and dinner,
With Chapathi, Brinjal Curry "popularly known as "Gooty Vankai Kura", or "Mixed Koot" or "Cabbage Sabji"
also, "Maavidikai Pappu" , "Chinthachiguru Pappu", are my favourites.
Sweets ,
I would love the Karnataka/Andhra's famous sweets,
"Holige", "Mysore Pak", "Padara Peni", "Sava Peni", "Karjikayalu", and "mandige".
===============================
Andhra, you must be familiar with these foods. I love them a lot, I think you like them too.
Originally posted by durango:
**Maharashtrian..
Ghaati masala.....
How about Maharashtrian
Srikhand Puri
Thalipeeth
Kolhapuri Mutton
Zunka Bhakar
Bharlela Paplet (Stuff Pompfret)
Sabudana Khichdi and Vada**
srikhand puri...i believe it's a Gujrati dish
Victory ,
Yes I do. Though I guess I am a true Andhra. You know what they say about Andhras. WE love our neighbour's cuisine!!
So, no wonder you will find me going on and on about Tandoori and stuff.
But, yes I do love Andhra food. 'Gutti Vankaya', non Andhras will immediately understand if you say 'Bagara Baingan'!! The Hyderabadi variety is exceptional.
But how come you left out Avakaaya and Gongura?
Ashwariya Rai
Does anyone know from which part of india these items are....
bhelpuri
panipuri
ragada pattis
quote: Andhra
But how come you left out Avakaaya and Gongura
Andhra,
I left them out as the list is becoming too long.
Shakambari devi prasadam, Andhra Sakham is the famous "gongura pachchadi".
Avakaya is my favourite and I do like Magaya also.
I also love the "Chinthakay thokku", "Nimmakaya ooragaya". They taste fantastic.
We also missed many powders, like "podi Chetni", "pappula podi", "Malaha Podi", "karivepaaku podi"....
These names sound so much like bhajan from Indian movies. For ppl who’ve never even heard about most of the stuff you guys are talking about, (I bet over half of it is daal), phir bhi can’t you post pictures as well? ammm And recipes please.
And Andhra Punjabi cuisine is so much more than Tandoori
btw nice thread
sabah saab, enlighten me about other Punjabi Cuisine!!
I admit Tandoori is my favourite!! Half Tandoori with a quart of you know what!!
is my idea of heaven!!
I do get on the nerves of my Punjabi friends.
One of the said after I went on and on..
“Yaar Tandoor Hai Nahin Hamara Ghar Mein, To Tandoori Kaise Pakaon Mein Ne!!. Lo Is Ko Roasted Chicken Sumjho!!”
Good point Andhra. What's sold in most Indian restaurants is generally Pakistani food, mostly from Punjab region, but when it's pointed out, people like ZZ gert all agitated - i don't know why. There are plenty of good South Indian restaurants opening these days in the UK, mostly vegetarian. I haven't tried one yet, but i hear they're quite good.
Hopefully, with Indians now happy to take pride in their own food, they won't mind giving Pakistani food the credit that's due either.
I am NOT saab!!! Hud ho gai, you're like born at GS aur abhi itna nahiN maloom.
Khair pubjabi food, veg or non-veg? Palak-paneer, SarsooN ka saagh, karahi gosht, chicken karahi, balti gosht, jalfarezi, gorma [badami, malai, safaid, sada], nihari, haleem, kat-ta-kat, chargha, pae, ojree etc etc.
Barjra, makki, jawaar, gandam, missi, besni paratha, allu paratha aur pata nahiN kon kon sa paratha, tandoori roti, roghni roti etc.
Lassi, Roh aur pata nahiN kya kya.
Rice bhai chahiye kya?? Did you know that the thing you call plao is not real plao? Your version is something a la boiled rice mixed with fired veggies, ours is different
sabah thanx. I recognized many of them.
Did you know that the thing you call plao is not real plao? Your version is something a la boiled rice mixed with fired veggies, ours is different <<
You mean Pulao? No doubt there several varieties. I like Kashmiri Pulao best!!
Xtreme bhai Assalam Alaikum
Good point Andhra. What’s sold in most Indian restaurants is generally Pakistani food<<
Wait a minute. There is no such thing as Pakistani cuisine becuase it takes several generations of human beings to develop a cuisine and Pakistan is like 50 years old if you include Bangladesh
So what you call ‘Pakistani’ (Mainly Punjabi by your own admission) is the name Pakistanis want to call Indian food by
There are plenty of good South Indian restaurants opening these days in the UK, mostly vegetarian. I haven’t tried one yet, but i hear they’re quite good. <<
They have always been there. Like Veeraswamy’s since 1926!!
Hopefully, with Indians now happy to take pride in their own food, they won’t mind giving Pakistani food the credit that’s due either. <<
Thank you, Indians are always quite proud of their food and culture !!
And as I said no need to give credits to Pakistani Food because there is no such thing!
Now for the Flames and Return of the Flames!!
I do not know the exact mix of these dishes, but I can tell on the outline what they are.
Idly: Steam Baked rice cake
Vada: Mixture of attas, deep fried in oil.
Sambar: South Indian Daal.
Masala dosa : Roasted rice atta mix with lot of masala.
plain dosa: Dosa with out masala
Uthappam : Dosa having lot of onions, mirch etc.
Bisibele Bath: A traditional Karnataka food. Something like a khichidi.
Pongal : South Indian Khichidi
Upma : South Indian Khichidi cooked with Bansi Rava. (Dont ask me what is Bansi Rava)
"Maavidikai Pappu" = Dal with Raw Mangoes and masala.
"Chinthachiguru Pappu"= Dal with masala and tender tamarind leaves.
"Holige"= looks similar to aluparatha, but it is sweet.
"Mysore Pak"= Karnataka's famous sweet made with Dal powder, ghee and sugar or jaggery.
"Padara Peni" & "Sava Peni" = These are very complicated sweets made with maida and lot of other ingredients. Padara peni looks like chapathi, but very delicate. A number of layers are present which crumble with even slight force. Normally eaten with sugar powder or milk.
Sava peni is looks like thick interwoven hair , very tasty and also eaten with sugar powder or milk.
"Karjikayalu"= looks like half moon, and I can be called as paratha stuffed with some sweet substance.
"mandige"= This is found only in North Karnataka. It is also made some mix of different atta's, but I cannot describe them.
Gongura pacchadi: Chutney made from Gongura leaves, (very popular in Andhra Pradesh).
Avakaya: Special Mango Pickle of Andhra.
Magaya : Another type of Mango Pickle, made in Andhra.
Chinthakaya thokku, Nimmakaya oragaya: Tamarind pickle/chutney, lemon pickle.
In the Rayalaseema districts of Andhra and northern karnataka, many other foods like Ragi Muddha (made from Ragi), Jonna Muddha (made from maize) etc. are cooked. They are very delicious and also known to be the best food for diabetics and heart patients.
These are very popular among poor people, and they are the staple diet along with rice.
I currently do not have the photographs, but If I get one, surely I will post.
Ah well Victory good translation of Andhra cuisine.
For a better intro, see ‘Maya Bazaar’ !!!
Still I am waiting for my dear friend Xtreme to define ‘Pakistani Cuisine’
I don’t understand the term!!
http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/confused.gif