How do u cope …for me the depression starts from the time I come back from Pakistan till the time I have my next vacation. In the mean time intoxication and tranquilizers help…Is that true for u also…
DISCLAIMER: This thread has been started for no ulterior motives just to know hgow happy are u all.
ooh nadia so it is u …I was just going to say something bad about extreem…but I dint…so never mind …khair hai:flower1:
Irem: I think we are 2 of a kind…just us …but actually u r coping quite well…I see u happy and chirpping at GS all the time well I cant be that way …I try to motivate my self most of the time but sometimes I loose the battle…
aww u know what pkc bhai, i was like the CHALTI PHIRTI soorat of HOMESICKNESS till about sophomore yr…seriously, i am known among my friends for this…i was really really really really homesick..to an unhealthy level my friends say…its my final yr of undergrad now…u shud have seen me when i was a freshman, i used to cry every single night, not eat, not talk to anyone, etc etc its takes time…what yr is this and how old r u?? r u an undergrad/grad?? why dont u try some of the things i have mentioned above..believe me they really help, i’m telling u from personal experience it does get better believe me
besides, try to focus on the positive things, remember why u r here and this is such a great opportunity u have..pakistan mein load merte hayn yahan aanay ke liyay…and one thing..remember NOBODY wants to see u unhappy least of all ur family…not misssing home does not mean u dont love ur home…
believe me it makes such a big difference, its the most important thing…
i was with a gori frosh yr, she was real nice, but since junior yr i’ve been living with Muslims and this yr for the first time one of my roommates is Pakistani and believe me it makes ALL THE DIFFERENCE
thats good :k: and when u come home u can try hanging out with friends or going to the gym with them or something..
well then start innit!!! y not???
how about getting halal groceries, desi masalay and cooking good pakistani food for urself, getting prime tv connection and creating a good atmosphere in the house :k:
great :k:
i am tellin u these things coz i’ve been thru the EXACT SAME THING and i know how TERRIBLE of a feeling it is to be homesick so just try these things, take control of your life and i’m telling u u r gonna feel betta
PKC, you are too young to get into that stuff. :)
Usually, students surrounded by ppl of their kind tend to be less homesick as compared to people who are faced with the type of situation you are facing.
*Originally posted by lost soul: *
tranquilizers, yeah! Hence, the intoxication. :D
But I no thats bad:(
PKC, you are too young to get into that stuff. :)
Usually, students surrounded by ppl of their kind tend to be less homesick as compared to people who are faced with the type of situation you are facing.
I have been here from jannuary 2000 ....I did my masters in Microelectronics and then got a job in a company called M***** . but still havent adjusted secondly dear I am 25 years old so I am not the newbies u find on GS like 17 , 18 ,or 12.
Oh dear! my apologies, you are one old quarter century soul like me. However, my story is more or less the same. I brought packets of Laxtonil (sleeping pill) from Pakistan with me.
*Originally posted by lost soul: *
Oh dear! my apologies, you are one old quarter century soul like me. However, my story is more or less the same. I brought packets of Laxtonil (sleeping pill) from Pakistan with me.
Believe me I have done the same ....they are also anti deepressents......
Depression is a serious condition. i am not certain whether or not you have taken anti-depressants besides Laxtanil (sp?) and what effects they have had upon you.
Irem's replies were really good Masha'Allah IMHO. It sounds like a cliche and it sounds like it's what everyone says, laykin if you give even half an hour each day (or even just at the beginning a week) towards reading AND understanding from the Quran, it will literally work miracles. i am not saying that those who do not read the Quran are doomed to lead out their lives in misery, everyone has their own personal opinions and to each their own i say. i'm just saying this based upon my own personal experiences, everyone has their own particular beliefs. For me, nothing beats a depressed mood than reading AND understanding from the Quran.. pondering upon its meanings.
Due to studies, i was also living away from my family (although in the same country but along opposite coasts). Yeah it's challenging... especially residing on res. One thing i wish someone had told me back then is that, never think you're alone..... might feel that way most of the time, but it is not true. Take my word on it, PKC. Irem is right, it does get better.....takes a heck of a long time, but eventually it does. It will for you as well Insha'Allah.
Hey Irem, your response really is very encouraging. I can empathize with you. I was homesick throughout while attending the graduate school here. I know how I felt this summer when I visited my family and bid them farewel 'coz I have plans to stay here for 5 yrs to further my studies. But, I never knew that by the stroke of luck, I’ll have to go back in less then 9 months.
PKC, everyone here suggested you many things here…and they all are helpful…i’ll add on more things here…hope it might be of some help to you
Please try to stay away from medicines if you can..how about something natural..like herbal supplements..
Try adding more things to your daily routine so that you don’t spend time thinking about depression..some alternative therapies that help people with depression is yoga, tai chi, and using aromatherapy essential oils..try a walk in the neighbour hood..or a warm shower or bath when you feel down..maybe, if you like music listen to it..
Get in touch with your university friends..and get to know motivating people around you..talking is really good at times..so if can get back to university folks who do have a family..try to visit them..visiting families brings a sense of belonging at times..
I’ll give you two examples of two brothers..maybe, it might be of some help..one of them loved singing..so he got together with guys..like one enjoyed playing tabla and one enjoyed playing guitar..so at the end of stressful day from work..they used to get together and used to spend time together. The other brother found peace within culinary arts..he would get a recipe and would take time and enjoy cooking and then he used to invite others and they used to have a guys pot luck once a week..according to him..he hated cooking in the beginning but started enjoying it..
You can try and find a leisure time activity..may be you can join a fitness center..or start playing some sports..sometimes its not easy to find the hidden skills and talents from within..but maybe trying new things all the time can help..may be, one time you can try writing something down..maybe next day you might wanna read something, day after that you might wanna take photographs..or might wanna draw or sketch something..or even paint.
May be you might wanna try doing something volunteerly for the people..lets say, be a big brother and spend time with an unfortunate kid..you know i have noticed..that when we try to do things for others..or when we see people unfortunate as compared to us..we tend to forget our own problems and depression..you can make a difference in someone’s life..and it will bring you peace from within
And if nothing works..we are always around to hear what you gotta say..
There have been some reports that alot of junk food can cause depression. Generally it is a good idea to stay away from drugs, too. Also, are you working on something you love, if you are unsatisfied with your life than that be an issue. You could also need a lady. :)