Deo-bandi, Wahabi, Ahl-e-hadith

Okay,

Can someone give me a short and sweet explanation of what these groups are and how they’re different from each other?

Are there other groups as well that are competing with these groups?

And how are they different from the fiqhs that I hear about like Hanafi, Shafi, etc?

Re: Deo-bandi, Wahabi, Ahl-e-hadith

Buckle your seat belts.

ps. All your threads start like this, before, ofcourse, they end up as WW III.

Dude, i don't mean to start the WWIII threads. They just happen. Kinda like...well nevermind, its a curse word.

I really don't know the difference.

Oh and another category - barelvi. What the hell is that?

You have opened a can of worms. :smash:

All of us have different views for all the different groups/types you’ve mentioned. Therefore, you will not get a satisfactory answer, but plenty of mudslinging, which will eventually result in the closure of this thread.

Which is why I asked for a short and sweet answer. Let me add the qualifier "objective".

A short, sweet, objective answer. If you can't provide such an answer then chain your fingers to your bed post and do not type anything.

PCG, the main stream Islam is divided among four school of thoughts:

1. Fiqh Hanafi
  2. Fiqh Shafai
  3. Fiqh Hanbali
  4. Fiqh Maliki

There is no difference in the basic tenets of faith among these schools, but only in derivation of fiqh from Sunnah and Hadith. These are popularly known as Sunnis.

The Deobandi and Barelvi divide is only in the sub-continent and it occured in the 19th century. Both these come under Fiqh Hanafi. The Tableeghi Jamaat mainly consists of the Deobandis.

All of the above are considered to be part of Ahl-e-Sunnah-Wal-Jamaat.

Then there is Fiqh Jafri, which differs from the above in their political approach and they also reject any Hadith that is narrated by someone other than Hazrat Ali :ra: or an Ehl-e-Bait (?).

Lastly, there is Ehl-e-Hadith or Wahabis, which emerged in the 19th century in Saudi Arabia. They basically rejected the main stream Islam and Fiqh due to the fact that it has become impure with too many innovations over the centuries. So, they basically rejected the Sunni Fiqh and Principles, and tried to answer the different life issues from scratch based on Quran and Hadith. This group does not believe in Waseela, celebrating Mawlud-un-Nabi :saw:, visiting graves and other things that Sunnis consider correct (based on Hadith traditions they consider authentic).

In addition to the above, there are Haidth Rejectors (e.g. the Parveizis) etc.

The Ahmedis/Lahoris, Islamailies and other groups are outside of Islam.

Thats what I know. You should consult some good Islamic book for further details.
and Wallahu’ Alam

^ Thanks for that great objective answer. Can you give me some examples of main things that Deo-Bandis and Barelvis differ in?

:rotfl: :rotfl:

I am in accord with most of what you have posted. A few clarifications though, The so-called Wahabis/Ahle-Hadith fully believe in all four schools of thought, however, do not stick to any particular one. They prefer to stick with what is found in the Quran and Sunnah and are members of Ahl ul Sunnah wal Jamah and are Sunni Muslims.

They do not reject Sunni fiqh. They respect and revere Imaams Hanafi, Shafi, Maliki & Hanbali, plus many other scholars. Often many of the rulings or laws that are followed are the ones by Imaam Hanbali.

I agree that the so-called Wahabis/Ahle-Hadith strongly denounce practices such as Waseela, Mawlid-un-Nabi, asking the dead for help, and the like.

They mainly differ in:

• Whether Hazrat Muhammad :saw: is Hazir-o-Nazir, i.e. whether he can be addressed too in the present tense and whether he can respond

• Whether Hazrat Muhammad :saw: has Ilm-e-Ghaib, the knowledge of unknown

• Whether the Last Prophet :saw: was noor or bashar

There are other differences as well, e.g. on the issue of waseela or accension of dua to Allah, visiting Mazar or Shrines etc.

Ofcourse, the basis of all these is in interpretation of Hadith traditions. I consider both of them correct, but follow the Barelvi approach.

Thanks for the clarification.

I agree that the so-called Wahabis/Ahle-Hadith strongly denounce practices such as Waseela, Mawlid-un-Nabi, asking the dead for help, and the like.

The flaw with such statement like this is that it implies non-Wahabis/Ahle-Hadith endorse such practices, which is not true.

Whilst i can't comment on Ahle-Hadith, because it tends to be used only in heavily desi communities, the term wahabi originally started as a means of describing followers of Hanbali fiqh in Arabia, following Ibn Wahab's attempts to purge many sufi-esque practices from Arabia.

It has now been used to describe those opposed to sufi-esque practices, and in particular, what i'm starting to suspect is that the term wahabi or "salafi" is increasingly used to describe any muslim who does not adhere exclusively to a particular fiqh.

I would be very surprised if everyone labelled being wahabi could actually agree on what their beliefs are. It's a very broad and generic label.

What is Waseela and what is “bashar”?

And who the hell asks the dead for help?? :confused:

^ that is what it is characterised as by the opponents of waseela or those who wish to deride it. consider it along the same lines as calling sa'i as running between two hills half naked.

^ what?

Is a deo bandhi like a nas bandhi... :)

You people need to use (in parenthesis write english translation of the word you're using)...

So Waseela is the act of asking the dead for help?

P-diddy, nas bandhi kya hota hai?

PCG, MOst jihadis are nas bandhis

sa'i pcg, is the act of running between safa and marwa during hajj. those who do not believe in the practice can be expected to characterise it in a way that is farcical.

regardless of what the practice of it looks like, the argument for and against waseela doesnt really focus on whether anyone is praying to the dead, but to Allah through intercession.