Democracy in Pakistan! Yes! Kenyan style

Re: Democracy in Pakistan! Yes! Kenyan style

Oh bhai.. Stop these long irrelevant post please and read what I wrote...

Bring in genuine democracy, put checks and balances in place, allow the supreme court to function independantly, have the president there to call the PM to task..

Thats how a democracy works.. Ckecks and balances.. Its not a smooth process but the results are always good in the end.

And for what ever its worth, at the end of the day, Pakistan has to be a demoracy regardless of who runs it, because deomcracy is the only way in the long term...

Military dictatorship under Mushu will only increase resentment and tensions, and will not provide stabilty for the long term...

[quote="PaKpatriot1, post:8, topic:176705"]

No I have heard of it.. But thats a situation where the president would have to step in and call the Democratically elected govt to task...quote]

paKpatriot1 bhaijan. You are obviously not aware of what NS did.

1) He removed all the Presidential powers under the *13th Amendment to the constitution. *

2) NS the stormed the Supreme Court, and had the CJ overthrown, the President was powerless to do anything at that time. Infact, President Leghari had to resign because he was had no Constitutional Powers to do anything against NS and his govt.

3) The only constitutional route to stop NS was the Parliament, but NS had passed the 14th Amendement to the Constitution which barred members parliament from speaking against their own party leaders, let alone vote against the govt.

paKpatriot1 bhaijan, let this be a lesson to you in Pakistani politics. You should not assume what people know or don't know. Carryon searching on google if you want to refute any of the above. Good hunting. :)

Bro! "Genuine democracy" doesn't grow on trees, and no one can "plant" or "implant" democracy.

Democratic system, simply put! is a system where democrats start respecting the "law of the land".

True democrats in no case rely on ethnicity or religion to shove their beliefs down the throats of other ethnicities or religions.

i.e. True democrats are truly tolerant people.

True democrats do not steal, loot, or burn farms or factories of their fellow citizens

True democrats use law making bodies (and not street gunda gardi) to slowly amend the laws in 200 to 300 years.

And during this long slow process, they never try to create mayhem and anarchy.

So remember! ""Genuine democracy" is not a like a banana that you can go buy from the corner "rehri".

Unfortunately the "very democrats" in Pakistan do not believe in slow, tolerant, and secular changes. They instead want to use street violance, thuggery, and ethno-religious chauvinism to bring about their objectives aka anarchy (all disguised as democracy! so sadly)..

here again the dictator failed utterly to protect the lives and asset of the people. he couldn't even do that in Pindi. Wonder why, probably he wanted chaos to reign in order that he can postpone the elections and get more time to rig the elections. Musharraf is solely responsible for the destruction by not ordering the law enforcing authorities to take timely action. had it been a demonstration against him his goons would have been out in force throwing all and sundry in jails.

Blame the police officer for sure.

But never ever, ever never blame the thief. As it may ruffle some pretty feathers. Thieves have sensitivities too.

Bro! it is up to you. No one can change your mind. If you want to support looters and arsonists, then who am I to talk sense to you.

Where Pak army is wrong, it is wrong.

But blaming it for burning tires, shops, factories, and railway stations is totally out of line. But hey! that's your line and you have all the rights to support the arsonists.

Daleel bhajan, are yiu suggesting that great Presidnet Musharaf should have sent the tanks in and sprayed mchine guns. Is that what you were looking for?

Why not? If he can control protests during his emergency by arresting anyone that tries to come out on the streets why cant he do the same again? Atleast send police and rangers to defend in droves to defend the banks and other bussines's... Or did Mushu think the people would behave themselves?

After 8 years in power, he still doesnt know his own people!

Theifs are thiefs genuis... Thats what they do... But its the job of the govt and their officials to ensure that thiEfs dont get the run of the town!

You have to blame the police because it was their job to control the thiefs, which they didnt!

With you its blame everyone BUT the govt AND DEFINENTLY NOT MUSHU.

Did he send tanks in during the emergency yet he brutalised men, women and children who came out to protest against his illegal and brutal rule. So why would he need tanks now. Why did he not order the law enforcing authorities against the hooligans. Simple he wanted chaos, why - because as I have always said Kursi means more to him than Pakistan. He has proved that time and again by his actions. This was his golden opportunity to let chaos reign so he can postpone elections and than rig them later on in order to legitimise his illegal altering of the constitution by the lota league.

paKpatriot1 bhaijan, He knows Pakistani people. What he did not take into consideration were how brutal the PPP supporters could have been when they killed dozens of people, burned businesses, doing hundreds of millions of dollars of damage, and destroying the livelihoods of thousands of innocent Pakistanis. Thanks to PPP supporters Interior Sindh can say goodbye to any investement. This should make Zardari happy, as he can carryon with his feudal lordship.

lol.. OBVIOUSLY.. True democracy do loot and steal and there is corruption... BUT, there is also rule of law, and checks and balances...
You CANT have a democracy under a dictator who destroys instituions and perpetuates his own rule at the cost of the country...

And you certainly dont get Democray through one man rule..

You cant learn to swim unless you get in the water, so for all its faults, Pak will HAVE TO jump into democracy...

If you let democracy continue with all its problems and faults, it will develop and evolve...

Stop focusing on Zardari and Nawz, they will die one day and so will Mush, but the institutions will live on... Thats the issue...
So stop getting distracted by short term goals... Expand your thinking a little.

LOL... Then he doesnt know his own people at all... Even I could have told him how bad the rioting was going to be after such a huge loss to the country...

Its you Mush supporters and Mush himself who seem to be out of the loop... Whatever Hallucinogen your guys are smoking, I want some:)

No need to panic. The greatest Pakistani institution, the Pakistani Army, will always be there to save Pakistan. :)

Mashallah. You seem to admit to knowing the brutal and murdering nature of uneducated PPP supporters. At least you are learning something. :)

Another ridiculous point by the way, Interrior Sindh never really saw any invesement to begin with so dont know where you get your figures…

Well, uneducated is relative term… Benazir was Harvard grad, many PPP are Lawyers, journalists, doctors etc… So I guess Lawyers and Doctors are considered uneducated in the Musharaf camp…

What do you expect from a govt that consider Madrassa degree’s equivalent to college degrees :hehe:

Sure they will! But its their competance in taking on the Taliban that im worried about...:)

Of course now that the army is back in the hands of professional soldiers instead of two bit incompetent dictator they will flourish again Inshallah.

God Bless General Kiani. The future President of Pakistan. :D

Pakpatriot is in denial. It's as if he woke up to Pakistani politics in 1999. Before he barely knew Pakistan existed.

They are fighting the war against evil in Swat and FATA in case you forgot to notice. But that's right, on orders from jihadi overlord Immy, you are also against that as well as the lal masjid operation. You people were the ones also crying against the operations going against the terrorists.