Delhi, the National Urinal

Amit Sengupta |

So what was wrong when a Dutch embassy official said that Delhi looked like a garbage dump? Why did our patriotic instincts get so aroused that we almost condemned this frank, free speech? Delhi is a non-biodegradable, backward capitalist, semi-feudal, patriarchal, uncultured garbage dump. Why shy away from that? Not only that, Delhi has turned into a vast, sprawling, ever, macho public urinal, a S H I T hole, a faceless ghetto, an architect’s black-hole nemesis, an octopus without a soul or belonging or sensitivity or civic sense. So what is so Mera Bharat Mahan about Delhi being a damned garbage dump?

Can’t you see it all over the place, from the posh, palatial south zones to the twilight zones of the east and west, with the demolished slums in between? Surely, even tinted windows of swanky cars are transparent, aren’t they? So why hide the gaze? And where do the women go? The mother, the housewife, the working women?

On the streets, in marketplaces, public parks, public transport, long distance roadways buses, flyovers, national highways —why are they condemned to hold on while men are all over pissing in stark daylight as if it’s a tide on a full-moon night. And where do you walk? The slimy, stagnant, fragrant pavements are full of pissers in full public glory. The roads and highways are full of pissers. Not only the nooks and corners, they are all over the ideal city-state. The entire city has become a virtual reality of a public urinal—the stench floating like a cliché. :faizy:

Except that the Centre and Delhi government, the MPs, the MLAs, the Opposition politicians, the ruling party politicians, the police, the mandarins in the municipalities, the Union ministers, the ex-ministers, the bureaucrats and babus, the elite— eyes wide shut, the page 3 party-types with colonial hangovers, the upwardly mobile and the middle mobile, the fourth estate, the real estate—no one is willing to see this masculine display of public patriotism. Mass urinals as a tourist delight—welcome to this machismo capital of the power elite, the special dirty zone of organised filth and muck and gaseous, fungus-ridden waste and dirty waters.

When the masses are against hygiene and aesthetics, and when the men have no shame, and when the government wears a sanitised chastity belt of cold-blooded ignorance, who can stop this great pissing nationalism of our nationhood defined, even while we put pictures of gods on walls, stairs, pavements, residential areas to stop people peeing and spitting?

SOURCE: http://sify.com/news/fullstory.php?id=14326928

Another eye opening article about India’s capital. I wonder what is the situation in other larger and even smaller cities. Over and above this is coming from an Indian source and the writter is an Indian. I don’t think Indians can deny this.

Re: Delhi, the National Urinal

A famous joke on the subject...

Soviet Premeire Nikita Khrushchev comes to Delhi on a state visit and is feted and fawned upon by India. At the end of his visit Indian PM Nehru asks him what he thinks of India and his only comment is that he found the sight of people urinating in public offensive. Nehru finds his comment offensive and wants to retaliate in kind so when he visits Moscow some months later he spends his time looking out for people urinating in public and finally after much peering out of car window spots one man doing it against a wall and gleefully points him out to the Soviet prime minister who says, ‘Ah, but that’s the Indian ambassador’. :)

This means that such thought are shared even at the diplomatic level.
HaHa…

O lord, save me, this is the most hilarious incident I have ever heard.

^it never happens in pakistan isnt it.

**With all due respect It does happen in Pakistan too but in Pakistan it is considered najis unlike what it is in India...:( **

Yes it happens in every country especially in 3rd world countries but the number of people using open air toilets in India is mind boggling. … Consider this, according to UN report over 70 percent that is almost 800 million Indians defecate out in the open because they have no access to sanitation.

It is mind boggling

It happens there, but isn't Delhi "Capital" of India?

In pakistan it doesnt happen so much because our city administrators came up with the brilliant idea of posting Warning signs all over the place

Daikhoo Gadhaa P*b kar raha hay

If they can somehow translate that into hindi and use it as a warning sign in the streets of Dehli - I am sure it would help :flower1:

Nobody appreciates being called a Gadha :naraz:

but those who can’t read themselves will not know what they are being ‘called’ :smiley:

automated voice message over a loud speaker
with motion sensors - as soon as the dude steps with 2 feet of that spot :omg:

:omg: :rotfl::omg: :rotfl:

hahah but what language. not everyoen speaks urdu.

Pakistan is much better than India , Sanitation wise.

Pakistan Government deserves all the credit so are Pakistanis. In general Pakistanis are more disciplined than Indians.

but is it enforcment or is it facilities? I know i have had to ask shopkeepers to use their restrooms etc, and once during the middle of the day the office of a shaadi hall because there were no facilities around.. this is Karachi.

Looking at general public and their lack of discipline or sense of hygiene I shudder to think what public restrooms would be like if they were available. But then, forget uneducated poor desi slum dweller types, if anyone has gone to restrooms u know the port-a-pot types at some outdoors event, you would know that 'civilized' educated urban americans or brits can leave those places filthy as well.

reminds me of a funny story, some famous writer narrated the story of his childhood where he or his pals would go and pull someone and make them fall when that someone was taking a dump or leak by a wall outdoors. our group of friends challenged a pal idrees to do that, and he kept o sayign he was waiting for the right opportunity. One day we were waling and he saw a khan sahab just starting to do his business, and he walked up behind him and pulled him back and we all ran, the dude was cursing at us big time. it was funny then, but now I look back and fell guilty, god knows what kind of hardships our idiotic prank caused for that poor guy.

you guys are so stupid. Especially the guy who said pakistanis are more disciplined than indians. Are u serious dude?

What is the difference. How do you define "discipline". As i see it we are both the same people. Watching the same movies, eating the same food, talkiing about the same crap and we look the same. So bigots should stop throwing mud at each other to make the other side look different. We are essentially the same. We have only been seperated for 50 years and for a culture change that is nothing. Therefore, we are the same.

He is an indian.
dude surely you know by now with all these cuts and pastes as starts of stores that its no one else but our old pal nicols john :smiley:

Common Gamma Dilation,

Don't tell us we are the same. You know we have some similarities but there are huge differences too. Just based on a few similarities, you cannot lump everything together as being one.

Because you do not see those differences, I wonder if you are a Hindoo or have any special affilitation with them. Just curious yaar, don't take it to heart....

Ahh..bah. Your imagined differences only exist to boost your ego.

When you're jealous about how little they care about you, you give them a reason to yell back by degrading them. When a Pakistani challenges this inflated ego, you label him an Indian. Is that our state? When we outcast our own people for deviances?

On a fact for fact analysis, their public washrooms have done what our democracy has not - their people give a **** about India. Instead of bickering about how stupid Pakistanis are, they have developed one of the strongest economies. An economy that cultivates culture throughout the world. Mind telling me how Pakistan has benefitted the world? Except Iran and North Korea?

I think 50 years is a long time for two long lost siblings to play this game of "im better than you". Grow up!