Re: Definition of a Paindu - your input is needed
Speaking of ganwaar, there was a movie by that name in the mid 70s. One guy who was a Goanese christian, said, hey Ganesh, Janwar jayega kya?
oh yeah…i it was a Rajendra Kumar and Vyjayanthimala starrer.
I associate paindo with being a country folk or someone just very plain. But never any of the above mentioned --- pedophiles? errr no.
This!
I dont know how far back this word “paindoo” goes, but I saw a clip of a hit Pakistani comedy TV show Fifty-Fifty, and this word is mentioned there..
So I’m guessing its been around for a while and it wasnt just said by people from one region, its always been pretty common:
So I'm guessing its been around for a while and it wasnt just said by people from one religion, its always been pretty common:
What does religion have to do with this?
Example of a Hillary smear tactic.
I have only ever heard it in an offensive context. To describe someone being backward with clothes, dress sense or their very strong punjabi dialect.
As far as I know it someone from the village. My dad is. Sure many of your parents or grandparents are. But it's the shehri people that
Not relevant to paindu but a lot of Pakistanis mostly from cities, shehr instead of saying bowl say it as bao-el, reminds of bowel and does my head in and makes me laugh.
@guishupper, some of those things you have said are not true/fair esp the last few.
Attributes of a paindu. Please add yours:
Whattt !!!
I thought it meant someone from the village/country side.
Even a mod who is supposed to be a neutral guy is dheet enough to persist with using racial slur. What would we expect from others.
One can not get rid of such perception, till someone actually come into contact with other group.
Btw if you think karachi is too far to reach for punjabis then you are mistaken.
A cousin of my friend visit punjab every year. We also made a trip with him to sozo park. my mamon vists sindh for business purpose. I Know two karachi guys who have studied diploma courses with me.
The origin of the word Paindu dates back to the Kauravs, who affectionately called their cousins Paindus.
KKF Bhai Sahib aap ki Zinda Dilly ke daad daytay hain ![]()
Looks like you have no idea of the context so just take a chill pill and if its too hard for you, let me try a little.. ![]()
Btw if you think karachi is too far to reach for punjabis then you are mistaken. A cousin of my friend visit punjab every year. We also made a trip with him to sozo park. my mamon vists sindh for business purpose. I Know two karachi guys who have studied diploma courses with me.
Good for you. What I'm supposed to do with this information?
par maiN to Lahorii nahiiN huN kiuN k vohii zindaa-dilaaN mashhoor haiN…par, thanx! ![]()
He's referring to coming in contact with the other group and still holding those perceptions.
For changing perception, one need to be emphatic towards others. When I said coming into contact, it means when you really interact with people and try to find out reasons for their behaving in particular way. With pre-fixed perception that people from particular area possess some attributes (like racism, narrow-minding approach ), one can not expect any change in his perception or perception of others for him.
Moral of post was: Taali donon hathon se bajti hai.
I've only heard it being used to call someone backward, uneducated, uncultured, etc.
Mere nazdeek hr wo insan jo apne apko ziada parha likha aur behter samjhta ho, aur kisi doosre insan ko apne se kumter samjhta ho, wohi haqeeqat mein paindoo hai
Attributes of a paindu. Please add yours:
Oh dear oh dear....that's such a harsh list!
I'd say the word is used for anyone who is slightly more traditional/rural and it is largely used to Punjabis as the Punjabi for village is* Pind,* hence the word Paindoo.
I've also seen people who cannot speak perfect Urdu being called paindoo. Since Urdu is not my first language, and I am Punjabi, I generally mix a lot of Punjabi and Urdu words in a conversation, so I guess that makes me a Paindoo too in front of a true Urdudaan.
But I don't care, I'm bringing Paindoo back. Yeeeaaa
[quote="ajazali, post:112, topic:343417"]
Btw if you think karachi is too far to reach for punjabis then you are mistaken. A cousin of my friend visit punjab every year. We also made a trip with him to sozo park. my mamon vists sindh for business purpose. I Know two karachi guys who have studied diploma courses with me.
Lmao i was thinking the same thing.