Define Love *philosophically!

hey. :waves: pcp here.

i’m wondering. how do you all define love? yeah sure its a beautiful allusion and all the good stuff…but i want some sharp insight on how everybody defines it! i’m talking about ‘love’. what im not looking for is ‘desi-bashing’ or ‘religious insight’. im just way way curious about what comes to mind..when you think of ‘love’.

Re: Define Love *philosophically!

aww..lemme try. Love is a kind of feeling which emerges due to infatuation, accepted by our heart and rejected by our brain.

wiper, thanks for replying :p i got ignooored :p

i like how u put it. so it begins at infatuation eh? and if ur brain rejects it..you dont really love the person with all your heart and mind...=\ thats pretty incomplete of an emotion if u ask me..but i dont know! tell me more :p

These are some factual definitions alphabetically;

• Courtly love – a late medieval conventionalized code prescribing certain conduct and emotions for ladies and their lovers
  • Erotic love – desire characterized by sexual desires
  • Familial love – affection brokered through kinship connections, intertwined with concepts of attachment and bonding
  • Free love – sexual relations according to choice and unrestricted by marriage
  • Platonic love – a close relationship in which sexual desire is nonexistent or has been suppressed or sublimated
  • Puppy love – romantic affection that is not “mature” or not “true.” The term is often used with negative connotations, insinuating that love between youngsters is less genuine or valuable.
  • Religious love – devotion to one’s deity or theology
  • Romantic love – affection characterized by a mix of emotional intimacy and sexual desire
  • True love - love without condition, motive or attachment. Loving someone just because they are themselves, not their actions or beliefs in particular.
  • Unrequited love – affection and desire not reciprocated or returned
    So it’s all different for different case scenerios;
    When I see my mom it’s Familial love, Platonic love and True love.
    When I see my wife it’s Erotic love , Familial love, Romantic love and True love.
    When I see my girls it’s Familial love, Platonic love and True love.

Now if you notice True love is common in all three of the categories. That tells about the 4 most important women in my life. Everything else immaterial.

Hi princess.
Yep it begins with infatuation which is a bit more powerful than attraction. Infatuation causes restlessness in the mind along with the heart regarding that person(who caused infatuation). Infatuation is caused due to the observation of some positive signals liked by the heart. Sometimes these signals are so powerful that they create a hearty and wonderful feeling within the mind and the heart which is termed as love and this process is aslo called "Love at first sight".

Usually these infatuated signals are mild. When heart receives the same signals twice or thrice from the same person it becomes love..which is termed as "Belated/Realized Love".

It all depends what one's heart wants. Whenever the heart-needed signals are received it causes attraction or infatuation which are often appears sweet, strange and mysterious feelings. Prici, these signals can be defined as the indicators of the ideal fantasy of a person regarding love. A recent study have suggested the ppl who believe in love live more happily than the rest. It all depends upon the choice one makes.

In contrast, Brain works opposite. Brain do not recognizes these signals and rejects the total philosophy of infatuation and attraction. Brain only knows how to take care and do the best for "YOU".

*Some say love it is a hunger
an endless aching need
I say love it is a flower
and YOU it's only seed *

Says Amanda Mcbroom>

love is PITA (Pain In The A** )

LightBearer…:slight_smile: way interesting! WAY interesting..thanks for the enlightment. i like the definition of ‘true love’. it makes me itch…its so general. leaves a lot of space open to be filled in..but yeah..unconditional is the key word.

WIPER…:rotfl: i’m with the brain. i dont understand..how any1 can be so shallow just to be infatuated by looks. looking pretty isnt that hard..but putting up with a person IS, in love. and i like how u mention restlessness..it keeps on coming back to the person. :hmmm:

SindSagar…:stuck_out_tongue: poetry doesnt cut it pal

OK Princess, Poetry manipulates your emotions, so does Love.
this is what I stated what Love feels like:

You haven't heard of Love at First Sight, Eyes communicate at the Speed of Light!
The tongue gets tied up in million knots!
and the brain quits functioning like your operating system crashed.
All Questions are forgotten, let alone One Question
.:D

sindsagar...poetry does not mean poop! people associate it with love, but i dont think that poetry and love go together so much...so try and step out poetry..and talk philosophical love. its got to be more than just looking at some1 and feeling 'love'.

;) kya samjhay?

Hi Prici, m with the brain too:)
well i didnt explain anything like ‘looks’ needed for love. I throughly mentioned “signals”. Signal can be of anything- looks, emotion, personality, nature, attitude, behaviour. I do metioned earlier that it all depends on the what one’s heart want/like.

restlessness to again is a symptom of Infatuation:faizy:

love in undefineable bcoz itz soo strong...and also cuz i dont no:D

yeh..my bad i assumed u were talkin about looks. i see what ur saying. :hmmm: signals. but cant every1 send false signals by putting on an act? some ppl are such drama queens..while others are SO shy..so do we leave love up to signals..which could be intercepted falsely? :konfused: shouldnt it be something a little more profound than that? restlessness :stuck_out_tongue: LOL i like the wiggling eyebrows..wats up :faizy:

:smack: ap ider bhi kese a gyi? chalo jao alishba ke sath khailo! uski dolls ki tea party kerni hai :blush:

love is simple love. love is created by love by someone you love for whom you love because you dare to love.

samaj samaajna bhi aik samaj hai, jo meri yai baat ko na samaj sakay, wo meri samaj mai naa samak rahai :snooty:

loveee
its different 4 every1 feels gr8 and doesnt hv to b from a significant other
it cud b from parentss
it cud happen really fast or take 4everr

**PCP Gee LOVE ka phulsaffay se kia tualuq:confused: **

**phulsaffay jharnay walay aur Love karnay wala aur:) **

**Kya samjhay:D **

ahaan…but how’s love turning into a daring feat? is it only for the chosen brave ones?

:smack: take your samajh somewhere where some1 can samajh u :stuck_out_tongue:

lifeless...ur right. but im talking about significant love. not parental love...thats unconditional. :) no questions asked.

sindsagar...love ka bara talluq falsafay se. they go hand in hand when you analyze it. because philosophy bhi dekh ker ki jati hai..aur love bhi. kya samjhay? ;)

Seeing alone one can appreciate from far like beauty, or art; but you are not talking about that kind of love!(significant love)

The point I am trying to make PCP Ji; "The definition of Philosophy is one of the problems of philosophy"
Right!
Hence one can not define love which is a real experience, unless one actually takes the leap.
Those who philosophize about it will never take the chance, because they imagine or ponder both the good and the bad consequences of Love.