Deewan Gali, Chicago IL

http://publish.uwo.ca/~suqaili/DSC00055.jpg

A picture i took in chicago, december 2001. I’m sure many people know about this but its still pretty interesting.

The best part about telling the truth is that you dont have to remember tomorrow what you said today :smiley:

Thats the DesiTown

Its pronounced DEVON..not deewan

samajh naheen aayee

Best Place to kill your time is WWWeb.

cool…now i wanna come to chicago

If you go further on this street, DEVON AV., you will see the same street change its name a few times. It starts out with Gandhi (or Nehru), then becomes Mohammed Ali Jinnah, then turns to Mujeeb-ar-Rehmaan and then to Golda Meyer (or Baigan), I dunno. Its interesting, nevertheless. :)

hmmmmmmm.. am i seeing pattern here or its my lack of ghaas-quota again? that the next name will be ..........................

khair.. :)

ßäÐäLL Kä®® ghö®äÿ KÄ hämm ßhäï$ ghäLïß
Tämää$hÄ-ë-ÄhL-ë-GüP$HÜP ÐäïKhtä¥ häïñ

You got it all wrong Pristine..

The street is first Sheridan avanue when you take turn from Lake shore drive, It then turns into Mujeeb Ur Rehman way then into Ma Jinnah way and then into Gandhi way....

for people who dont know much about devon, its more like Sadar, Karachi.. there are big signs in Urdu and hindi everywhere. illigal parking on every block is a common sight. once I even saw a fire truck stuck in traffic for 20 minutes.. I am sure he would never take the devon route again…

and who can forget the loud music from every store. Oh yes… either people are deaf or they cant work the volume button on the sound system.. Large flag display on every light pole during August… and beautiful lightining on every Eid, Diwali, Holi..it sure is a home away from home..

If you are only going to be in Devon once in your lifetime… do not miss a meal in Sabri. or if you are a south indian food fanatic… go for Ana Purna.

“Jis ne Devon nahi dekha.. us nay Chicago nahi dekha”

right on coolheat. sabri’s is the best but theyre a bit too overpriced. check out javed nihari. theyre cheap and filling. ofcourse thats not the cheapest. if you’re a taxi driver type (my type

) and dont want to spare more than $3 for the whole day’s worth of food go to GHAREEB NAWAZ. theyre on the corner of Devon and Damen. They have the best food. 1 biryani plate is enough to feed 2 people and its only 3 bucks. if you’re into paans, most of the paans on devon are really BS. the only ones worth eating are at PIDC pan house (corner of devon and western). this is your tourguide cHEeGUm signing out

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/smooth.gif

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/bravo.gif

The best part about telling the truth is that you dont have to remember tomorrow what you said today :smiley:

Originally posted by AliBeta:
**You got it all wrong Pristine..

The street is first Sheridan avanue when you take turn from Lake shore drive, It then turns into Mujeeb Ur Rehman way then into Ma Jinnah way and then into Gandhi way....**

Well, its not one way, so you can basically start from Gandhi and end in Mujeeb... No?

Plus, I am sure there is an Israeli connection there too.. Can't be sure. I only went there once in my entire life.

yup if you keep goin west on devon (away from the lake) eventually the desi town stops and becomes jewish town.

Thanks so much for giving that much information. I really wanna see that place now. But have never been to chicago. may be one day i will.
So tell us more about that place. I want to know abt people who live there, hang out there and work there. their attituateds, their looks, languages and everything.

have there beeen any conflicts among two neighbours?
Jews live in rich neighbourhoods they how come they be close to desi town?

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/confused.gif

Oo yeah.. I remember.. I was in chicago's west surburbs for a year. Thats Devon Avenue. The whole street has Indian and Pakistani Restaurants. I believe you can find the BEST pakistani Food in USA on Devon Ave. BEST is USMANIA. NO one! NO ONE can compete them!

And if you are into Arabic food, go to SKOKIE for Pita Inn. And if you like Persian, Guys and girls there is no better place than REZZA in the heart of Downtown! but expensive

Dont tell your God how big your problem is.. Tell your problem how big your God is!
Jazak allah khair

am i sensing something like Devon Devon aye....

best place is Ravi Kabab!

love, rezza’s quail.

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/yummy.gif

One day I will get to visit! :)

Thanks for the pic though!

cHEeGUm, thanks for the photograph..i have heard about the place from a lot of relatives..just wondering if you could post some more pictures from the shopping area/ food places etc?

Well there are a bunch of nice restaurants on Devon! you find all different types of food there. Even Pakistani chinese!

My favourite places are Sabri Nihari and Usmania. There a real good south Indian place too, its called Udipi. I will have to try Ravi now! Since somebody mentioned it up there!

Besides that Devon isa nice place to hang out if you are homesick. Thats what I usually did in the summers as the weather was real nice and all these desi people just roam around there. Just like Tariq road Karachi. Especailly in summers when Khawateen come out and show there beautiful Pakistani dresses!

Next time I am there, I will take a bunch of snaps and post em right here..

I live on Devon but I don’t like it so much..

…This place is full of desies..You’ll feel like you are in karachi…Someone just said it’s lke sadar..lolz…yeah, coz ppl stare at you from head to toes…

…If you’re walking on the main Devon and if you are a girl, atleast one of cars will stop and someone will shout at you “salamalakum!!! dosti karengi humse?? haaye karlo na”

…Hmmm, yeah, nice place to hang around and eat good Pakistani/Indian food…And there are also good buotiques too…Nice dresses though expensive…There’s alot of fun and josh-o-kharosh here on Eid, Diwali, and other festivals like 14th of August…You’ll see alot of proud Pakistanis and Indians here…

“Me Fail English? That’s Unpossible!”