I decided to write the future me a letter, so when I grow older, and if I still am on GS, I will be able to search for it and read it. (InshaAllah)
You guys don’t have to read it. It’s a bit long, and probably boring for you. This thread is for me - the future me. ![]()
Dear Phatima1 of the future,
Hi, I’m Phatima1 of the past
. I wrote this one day because I thought it’d be interesting for me to read when I got older. Anyways, so right now I’m in the 10th grade, and I have my own room (the small one across Sara’s room). I take interest in photography and journalism. I became a Mod on GS just a few weeks ago. I like editing pictures and making videos, as well as watching movies, shopping, writing, listening to music, making food, and playing tennis. It’s Ramadan right now, and I laid down in the Musjid harram last night - greatest feeling ever. My three best friends, at the moment, are Asma, Leila, and Umber. (Umber moved to California a few years ago, which really sucks, but InshaAllah I’ll be able to visit her over winter or summer break). I like to listen to old desi songs (Rafi and Lata), and other music like The Postal Service, Weezer, The Dandy Warhols, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Bright Eyes, Modest Mouse, Tori Amos, Enya, Arabic music, and sometimes I’ll listen to the classics like Michael Jackson, Beastie Boys, etc. I got in a fight with daddy yesterday because he wouldn’t let me go over to Leila’s house for Halloween because it was a school night :].
School sucks. You know why. I’m hoping to get into the University of Maryland CP and study journalism or photography (or maybe a combination of both - photojournalism). My dream job is to work for National Geographics or something and just travel around and take pictures and write a few articles (feature stories for magazines maybe). I doubt I’ll accomplish my goal because everything’s so competetive and I hate competiton. I was supposed to go to Pakistan this winter for Yasir bhai’s shaadi, but I have exams and all, so only Ammi, Aapi, and Ahmed are going.
Advice for the future me:
Whom to marry (InshaAllah): Pleaseee don’t marry a guy that’s really hairy. Please =(. Don’t marry someone that’s fake or does stupid things trying to look cool. Marry someone who is a good Muslim, and smart, and makes you laugh. Don’t marry someone that gossips or judges people to quickly or by little things they do. Whatever you do, do NOT marry Omer.
When I have kids (InshaAllah): don’t be too strict. I’d like to raise them as good Muslims, and make sure they have a sense of their own culture. Make sure they know Urdu, and how to read the Quran. Allow them to excel in whatever field they’d like (don’t force them to become doctors). Let them go over to their friend’s house, no matter how much you’ll worry about them. Don’t rid them of their fun, just because you love them too much. If you’ve brought them up as good Muslims, then you’ll have no problem trusting them. Don’t spoil them. Don’t hit them. Scream at them when you’re mad, and then laugh 3 seconds later. :]
Be sure to take good care of your parents. Don’t ever think of them as a burden. Spend as much time as possible with them (do it while you can). Live somewhere near the water, have a pet cat, do hijaab. This life only has temporary happiness. aim for the bigger prize. ![]()
Ok that’s all I can think up to say for now.
Love,
Phatima1 of the past ![]()