what I don't understand is.....
if you truly believe in the concept of a "soul" that departs the body after your death then how can we continue to believe that the body should not be sliced and diced?
as Captain Korris said in my OP, its an empty shell :D
yeah....but then they bring up the reference of "makhee bhi bethay tau murday ko takleef ho'ay gi"
and if you say "magar rooh tau jism ko chor chukee hai"
then they say "nahin....jab tak dufna'o nahin rooh aas paas hi rehti hai"
Off course no one can be sure of the mystery of graves, but according to the "nahin....jab tak dufna'o nahin rooh aas paas hi rehti hai", those poor soldiers whose bodies are still waiting to be found in Sayachin, their rooh is still around them?
Raw, I am aware of the opinion difference but that stays at organ donation . Here, we are talking about way beyond organ donation. I am not sure what is going to be Islamic stance on that.
Hula, you must read the book I am talking about. It's called STIFF. Search it and it should be second or third link
I will definitely put that on the top of my reading list. Thanks.
As of What I heard reigiously, Rooh leaves the body after death but stays around the body until buried properly. And then comes the hisab kitaab of one's deeds. Im not fully aware myself either though.
As of TLK's question, I think if everyone starts donating their body, then I fear of humans losing their morals at one point, and morals really do matter. How does the having a dead body being raped sound? Disgusting, gross, inhumane? Well they do all sort of weird researches on dead bodies as well. I personally support people donating their organs and stuff, and I am a donor myself but donating bodies completely is something that I haven't been able to convince myself on. With the kind of technology we have today, gnomes cyclones and all that funny stuff I don't think we need dead bodies and animals to research on, unless its something very serious. Not as dummies for a car safety test.
People are usually more open to organ donation than cadavers. I shudder to think of what might the dead people's relatives and loved ones may go through if they are to give these bodies for betterment of humanity in terms of dissection and test-manikins etc.
I know how horrible dissection in anatomy is. Another sensitive issue would be having a woman's body to be lying naked. It indeed is a very scary topic TLK bhai.
I personally think we can do a much more contribution in terms of organ donation such as the eyes or kidney etc. Even stem cells donation can help make wonders in the scientific world in curing fatal genetic diseases.
As of What I heard reigiously, Rooh leaves the body after death but stays around the body until buried properly. And then comes the hisab kitaab of one's deeds. Im not fully aware myself either though.
As of TLK's question, I think if everyone starts donating their body, then I fear of humans losing their morals at one point, and morals really do matter. How does the having a dead body being raped sound? Disgusting, gross, inhumane? Well they do all sort of weird researches on dead bodies as well. I personally support people donating their organs and stuff, and I am a donor myself but donating bodies completely is something that I haven't been able to convince myself on. With the kind of technology we have today, gnomes cyclones and all that funny stuff I don't think we need dead bodies and animals to research on, unless its something very serious. Not as dummies for a car safety test.
These days it is not the bodies which are donated which get raped. Inhuman tendencies are always there and because crime happens in cars we cant ban cars can we.
Please understand what works in animals might not always work in humans. While I understand your perspective that it is difficult for us to imagine somebody peering at our body after our death, we need to let go of these and try to understand that this is something that is being done for the greater good.
I appreciate the fact that you are a organ donor ...
Lil-ash, as storm mentioned, nit everything can be done using animals or fake bodies. And in whichever field of science, if they can do the research without using cadavers, they are doing it already.
Enig, what I understand from the book, a cadaver is rarely naked. Its almost always fully covered and only the part relevant to the research is exposed.
so then what of those people who's bodies are never found to be buried properly? what happens to their roohs?
Of course it would be. But my ability to influence is limited to me and my own. So if someone else wishes to do so I have no right or authority to tell them otherwise.
Wouldn't that be hypocritical? Keeping yourself out of it.
Just for the sake of this thread. In real life, we all have our choices. And anyways, real life is full of hypocrisy, innit :D
Of course it would be. But my ability to influence is limited to me and my own. So if someone else wishes to do so I have no right or authority to tell them otherwise.
Yes, we cant imagine to donate the bodies of our love ones, but this might hit you closer to the home. One of the chapters in that book talks about using cadavers to test the boots manufactured for the soldiers who walk the field full of land mine. No dummy, or animal can give the results that would show the boots as certain protection for real soldiers. Only a test done on human body can give certain results.
So when some people donate their bodies, they end up saving our lives and lived of our love ones. We may not be ready to donate our bodies, but point is that we should never lose the respect for those who do that.
Yeah I pretty certain I am the only one among all my friends and family that is remotely close enough to landmines. And nope saving the life of some solider who will eventually kill a civilian in the theater of war does not remotely interest me. War has no heroes. Only graves.