The biggest turn off ever in the world is hearing a person speak and realize they're just stupid.
I am more worried about 'what should I talk about with a complete stranger and that of the opposite sex'. I don't like gossip, I don't like celebrities, I don't like watching the media that much, I don't want to talk about how nice or bad the weather is. I am worried about awkward silences.
As far as being stupid in a conversation is concerned, I really don't know what people generally classify as being stupid in a conversation unless the person in question lives under a rock. Maybe an example or two will help.
Well that depends on what type of guys you are hanging out with, with the open minded bunch you will definitely be welcome and liked, with the one track DESI (majority) some one might misinterpret your friendship as like and you will end up having a mushy conversation about how he is in luv with you and with the Mullah as well as the AUNTY types will lable you as a bimbo :D
I agree. As some of you have said already, I find that guys who are extremely social and friendly tend to become indifferent overtime and not value the friendship as much. If one wasn’t working out as per their expectations, they can just move right along to the next one (as opposed to pursuing the one they really like). This is just based on my experience.
I personally prefer that the guy is approachable and friendly (not uptight to the point that he considers having a conversation or a handshake with a girl to be haraam) but I don’t like if he has been out with every single brown girl in town (even if it’s just for dinner). I wouldn’t want to marry a guy who is so friendly and easygoing that every other girl knows his habits/secrets/likes/dislikes/etc. I also get suspicious of the sincerity of a guy’s interest in me if I know that he can easily switch from one girl to the next without getting emotions attached.
To the OP, I think having a good conversation is a two-way street. You have to look at the next person and know how to carry the conversation or when to stop. Cant’ always blame the guy for an awkward conversation.
Well that depends on what type of guys you are hanging out with, with the open minded bunch you will definitely be welcome and liked, with the one track DESI (majority) some one might misinterpret your friendship as like and you will end up having a mushy conversation about how he is in luv with you and with the Mullah as well as the AUNTY types will lable you as a bimbo :D
....Now I feel bad about it, its not like I was going to fornicate with them.
seriously? who uses "fornicate" in a normal conversation. as if you went there lol.
anyways, yes i would also agree its much easier talking to guys that are generally more outgoing and friendly as opposed to ones who are introverted. at the same time i know some more conservative guys in our group who are not as openly friendly with girls automatically but i notice they can still hold a good conversation. i think it depends on person to person and their mentality. and agreed that sometimes conversations go both ways. my husband is definitely the more outgoing type where as i am more shy but we still compliment each other? but when we were getting to know each other, there were still a lot of awkward silences and pauses because when theres the added pressure of knowing your talking to a rishta and its strictly business its hard not to feel awkward and find topic with a complete stranger. its natural and not always a red flag, atleast in my case. i think it helped knowing alot about his family and a little bit of his background before personally getting to know him, and having mutual friends also helps i think.
but to simply answer your question op, yes it totally helps as its naturally easier for those types of personalities to drive a conversation as they might be the first to bring up things your hesitant to mention, or just have a lot of life experience to offer, doesnt always mean all guys are flirts but sometimes it does.
I beg to differ on this one, during college and early years of my work life I was this guy and one of the main reasons of girls being around me was respect, i looked at them respectfully and thus they were comfortable to talk to me, and not to mention I did date 2 of the women in the group.
And thus PCG talking to girls or being part of a co-gender group gives you a certain comfort level to talk to your opposite sex.
Then there are the bhai types inert men who are really chummy with girls. You'll see this character always surrounded by a group of girls. They present no 'sexual danger' to girls and the girls dont even feel uncomfortable sitting in their laps, greeting them by hugging etc. They are also very friendly and easy to talk to.
Whats the point here?
Holy shhhhhh!!!!!!
That kind is found abundantly around here......... mind you, some of them are like *behen *.types too.....
i dont like men who're too comfortable with women...period...its ok to have grls/women as acquaintances and a hello here and there...but i never wanted a guy whose group of frnds included 4 grls and 3 guys or whatever the case may be...i actually like the quiet/shy/religious ones more...once u get to know each other the conversation will flow...he doesnt have to be a chatterbox with every grl that comes his way. no thanks.
So you want a guy who's socially awkward with half the human race?