dating culture

okay.. so.. hmm…
girls, What’s your opinion on dating? i often see (desi) girls here who wants to marry and wants to find a guy on their own. They meet a guy, starts liking him…hang out for few months and stuff.. decides he is not for me and move on and find someone else.. trend continues till you meet ur match
Is it right?? i would just like to hear ur opinion this topic as i see a lot desi girls dating guys in Canada

and for guys, would you marry a girl who has had b/f(s) in the past??

just curious, what ppl think on this topic besides few desi i personally know.

Re: dating culture

qibla aap aghaz karein, what are your views?

i'll definitely share my viewz but first would like to hear what's others have to say.

No no for dating. Though it depends what you mean by it.

If 'dating' is trying to find a partner for marriage or whatever without being exclusively tagged as 'gf' or 'bf' and having the view to marry that person and keeping the* physical stuff ***out **of the way then thats not really dating.

Dating is usually the gf bf stuff where the physical stuff goes on too and thats a no no before marriage and wrong imo.

A no no to dating before marriage whatever form it may be in.

A lot of people are proud of the fact 'I knew my partner for so & so years before marrying & they’d give all sorts of justifications for it…that, in simple words is flirting…idk how they do it coz its not allowed in religion. :nahi:

‘getting to know the person through these dates’ is the lamest excuse :smack: If you live in the west you dont have to follow them blindly. Our parents etc have successful marriages without dating and marriages will break even after dating so this does not make any difference.

Besides no matter how much you try to know the person, you only truly get to know them after marriage.

Dating culture where a girl and a guy are together as a couple is not right.

If its a girl and a guy talking to get to know each other...not hanging out or being intimate...then its not dating. Walking into a blind marriage without knowing the other party's views at all...is WAY too risky in this day and age.

In other words, go on Shak's post, copy paste it

what he and she said...except does anyone have time to even hang out these days :p

^ Shakky, my version always sounds better…:snooty:

no to dating.

:hayaa:tauba no dating:nahi:

no to dating, but talking a lil trying to get to know each other is not a wrong thing IMO, however no unsupervised meeting :k:

well...i can't say if they are keeping physical stuff out or not.. i can't spy all the time, i tried :P
No, i don't mean like a rishta sorta dating. When your parents tell you, this girl/guy might be good for you and you want to meet that person and have a discussion to see if you are compatible.

you meet a guy somewhere, he gets your number and you two start hanging out and stuff, and you start to like him. so, you start hanging out more simply b/c you want modern day love marriage. Oh yeah, arranged marriages are for backward ppl with stone age mentality.

okay, lets go a lil extreme. Is it right in your views for a girl to be friends with guy(s)? where you hang out, go to movies etc casually but no physical stuff.

If you date, you date. It's up to each individual where your limits are. Some go further than others, males and females included.

Physical or not, at the end of the day we are responsible to what we do or don't do. As long as you're comfortable with your limits and won't judge another more badly for having done the same then where's the issue. After all we're al born into a world with dissimilarities in upbringing.

Be with someone who's past you can be comfortable with, after all a past is a past. And for those who'd rather not get with someone with a past through personal choice or action, respect to you and look to others who share same view.

I don't see the issue with dating. I don't care what anyone else does as long as they are not harming me or other people.

I think dating teaches you a LOT about yourself and the kind of person you'd be compatible with. You can choose to keep the physical stuff out of it if you want, or not.

I know some late teens who are dating. I am starting to see how psychologically visible they feel. It is good for their self-esteem and psychological health. It, obviously, requires that one understands the pits one can fall into. But the presence of pits has never stopped us from walking. We learn to go around them, or fall and learn.

I think dating is important before getting married. It teaches you alot, and gives you insight about the opposite gender. I have seen girls who have never had a boyfriend act so wierd and awkward infront of guys.

I agree with Shak and Reha. IMO, if a guy and girl go out for dinner, see a movie, or hang out and it's just them, that's dating... regardless of physical contact. And I don't agree with that type of relationship unless if there are friends and family accompanying the "couple."

While I say that, I have noticed that those who dated end up getting married and are happy. I'm sure the husbands are aware of the girls' previous bfs, but they accept the girl.

MissTY's point is interesting and I agree with it to a certain extent in that a girl shouldn't be so sheltered that she doesn't know how to interact with guys. But I don't think one has to date in order to not appear awkward in front of guys.

well, dating isn't acceptable in the majority of desi culture and religion so I can understand why people avoid it. If you dont look at it from the religions point of view, then I think its quite healthy and normal part of a single young adult's life.

good point

desi girls dating and finding their own match :konfused: REALLY???

i heard that desi girls marry where their parents want them to get married and stuff aur baki sub associated things

that’s a new one for me :wink: