Dating among desies

Pakistanis date all the time but the community as a whole hasn’t accepted this idea yet. It has a negative connotation to it. However, I feel this taboo is slowly fading away in the big cities of Pakistan. Is this a good thing or a bad thing?
Is it ok with you if your sister/brother is going out with a guy/girl or both? I think I would be perfectly alright if your sister is going out with someone…but hey thats me!

I think it's bad but not that bad if you're in your limits. I don't think it's nice to see a desi dating with random people or going out with someone "just to have fun" ....It's kind of disgusting!

You are right that this concept is catching on fast. In big adn small cities in INdia it is not uncommon to see young men and women going on romantic jaunts. I think some of this has to do with the growing middleclass where the objectives of the people in what they seek are becoming more scrutizing. people are becoming comsumers rather than buyers, there fore they would like to try before buying the goods.

*Originally posted by Matsui: *
You are right that this concept is catching on fast. In big adn small cities in INdia it is not uncommon to see young men and women going on romantic jaunts. I think some of this has to do with the growing middleclass where the objectives of the people in what they seek are becoming more scrutizing. people are becoming comsumers rather than buyers, there fore they would like to try before buying the goods.

All the marriage beaurous must've started advertising "30-day money-back garuntee!"

^ :hehe: RT, sometimes I want to put you across my knees and :smash:

I have a male friend in Pakistan who talks to one of his female friends on phone til 5a.m. in the morning and they hang out every now and then and he says, 'we're only good friends'...:)..I really don't get it plus it shocks me when I think this is happening in Pakistan!

Time to invest in Drive-in cinemas in Karachi and Lahore.

Matsui, can you please come up with a Business Proposal?.

Thanks,
FG

Originally posted by CurruptAngel: *
**I think it's bad but not that bad if you're in your limits. *

Define limits. Who defines the limits anyways

*I don't think it's nice to see a desi dating with random people *
Kyoon ji? Desi inssan nhin hain?

*or going out with someone "just to have fun" ....It's kind of disgusting! *
I think its ok if ppl are having fun...why do u think it is disgusting? The whole world is having fun..what more can u ask for..

Define limits. Who defines the limits anyways

Well it all depends on one's lifestyle(religion and culture) and family background- if you know these two then you know what your limits are! :)

Kyoon ji? Desi inssan nhin hain?**

Desi bhi insan hain magar zaroori nahi hai kay woh doosre insano ki nakal karen. Dating with random people is a western concept and I don't think it's good for us Muslims to adopt this concept because this is about our dignity and respect- You can't just hang out with anyone, there's something called "reputation in society" you know..It's about what kind of self-image you want to project in front of other people as well as yourself!

I think its ok if ppl are having fun...why do u think it is disgusting? The whole world is having fun..what more can u ask for..**

It's not the only way to have fun and being a desi yourself, I'm sure you know it very well! :)

One more comment I wanna make:

If you do decide to go out with someone first make sure it's worth it!

I'm an advocate of "supervised" dating. grin

I agree, its becoming a lot more common, and the issues dont seem to be getting addressed. Lots of secrecy, which is sad. Its sad that both the parents and the children are not opening up to eachother.

It's cool with me. How do you think I'm my brothers favourite baji :P

Originally posted by Munni: *
I'm an advocate of "supervised" dating. *grin

I agree, its becoming a lot more common, and the issues dont seem to be getting addressed. Lots of secrecy, which is sad. Its sad that both the parents and the children are not opening up to eachother.

I agree. However, I don't think the 'dates' need to be supervised if the parents and kids are all open and honest about where they are going, etc. :)

Karachi ka toota hua drive-inn yaad nahin hai kia? Ab ki dafa drive-inn tora to ‘azaad panchion’ ko us ke saath he ander de dein gae :halo: Bata raha hoon.

Actually "dating" in some form or another has always been in the Desi culture. Couples in love try to meet among the rush & hustle bustle of a marriage ceremony, or at any other family festivals like Eid where they know they will get un-noticed, getting out of the house apparently for errands but actually meeting someone that they admire etc. Though it's always something that is kept undercover, couples share it with their close friends or cousins but not with their parents, siblings of opposite sex or elders.

If I understand correctly, BoSS bhaijaan is talking about "dating" as is understood in the western culture. Where two people, supposedly in search of a spouse, meet people and find out if they are compatible. They don't necessarily date people whom they are in love with, they date people whom they find attractive in one form or another and consider prospective future spouse.

IMO, all social structures are well intended! And if followed in the true spirit will produce good results. If someone dates knowing the complexities of emotions and with the good intention of getting to know someone because he/she is considering to spend their life with that person, then most probably they will succeed in their effort. Though, not all dates are fixed on that premises, or in other words, getting married is sometimes the last reason people want to go out! So, to openly accept such a norm can lead to many other social problems, which the Desi community might not be ready to deal with at all.

*Originally posted by CurruptAngel: *
**If you do decide to go out with someone first make sure it’s worth it! **
Ok Mom :-p

**Munni: I’m an advocate of “supervised” dating **
Do you take the whole neighbourhood with you? Even the poodle? :eek: hmmm thaz such a turn off.. do u want me to change my mind now or what? :hoonh:

Khanzada: so whaz the story behind toota howa drive inn.. sounds interesting :smiley:

** BosS** Thanks for listening beta…:~P

Thats the whole idea…turn it off.

hehe, umm. Feel free to disagree BoSS. I have my own ideas of what “supervised” means, which I wont get into here. smile

i believe religion i.e. islam comes 1st before all worldly customs/traditions/social customs etc so taking this fact into consideration its'a bad "innovation" amongst muslim desi's dating.