Dates for iftar.

Relationship wali nahi , ramzan main haram hay .
Khanay wali dates , which ones are the best ? Which kind you serve for iftar party and which one you use for daily iftar ?
Big size Medjool are so freaking expensive in US. :mad: at Arab or other desi stores. I found same ones a lot cheaper at Sams club though.
Why do desi folks like to milk their own kind in Ramzan ?

Re: Dates for iftar.

But dont the Medjool dates taste way better than the ones sold at BJs or Sams club...??
I have both of them at home this year.And I agree that the ones sold at desi stores are pretty expensive...:-//

Didn't I say they are selling same dates ( (meaning same big size Medjool) at Sams club cheaper , hence my rant. :@:

oh ok...I haven't seen the same Medjool dates at the wholesale clubs...they are the California dates but not the Medjool variety.

ii haven't tried many varieties. i hate the green dates but LOVE the California Medjool dates :)

We're super lucky in that my dad is frequently going/coming back from Saudi. He brings kilo's and kilo's of dates every time and we mostly keep them for Ramadan. I can't remember the name but my fav is a large one from Medina.

Am I the only one that eats them at Sehri? I can't eat much at that time so I eat dates, almonds, maybe a banana, porridge.

:mash2: Send some to me.
Your sahri is very nutritious :mash2: say.

Stoppit mashallah you are really fortunate mate ... Saudi produces some of the world's bestest khajoors ...

All the friends in the UK, please could you also share the brands of dates you guys buy ?

I got some from Tesco yesterday. They are called khudary dates ... Taste good :)

I just love Khajoors :wub:

We bought some yesterday too - samar dates from local asian cash and carry in UK

they taste quite good :)

Chicken Biryani, I like Khudary or Safawy/safawi dates. Basically the really chewy toffee type variety of dates. Don't like the the ones coated in glucose syrup- why do they do that when dates are already sweet enough.

Also like fresh dates to if you leave them to go bit soft they are nice too.

The ones I bought are called Al-Medinah...and they are lovely and soft.We were given a a box from some friends who went on Umrah recently,so we saved those for ramzan.

Like stoppit,I eat them in sehri too.It stops me from feeling thirsty.

I tell you,I can't stand those four for a pound jobbies.They are so hard...yuk.Those medjool dates are really expensive :(.Sometimes Costco does some nice ones too.Dunno about this year,though.

sawafi, khudri and ajwa are my faves,

i love the chewy toffee type ones as opposed to the soft gooey ones...yummmy though!

sir jee, wo tou shawaal aur rajab main bhee haram hain

Medjool are the best ...

We were able to get a really good price $1.50/lb for medjool dates at a farmers market.

Same here, not my dad though, my chacha bring us our Ramadan supplies a month or so before Ramadan. I have a small tub of Ajwa dates just for me! Ajwa dates are the best. I actually request them all year round.

Medjool are definitely the best...way too expensive though. I bought some from Asda this year, £1.50 for around 8... but I think Morrisons are cheaper. Sometimes they have offers etc around Christmas for dates and other dried fruits, so if you're super organised you can buy them then.