I’m sorry I can’t stop laughing. I dunno if that’s a joke or you’re pulling somebody’s leg but whatever it is it’s so amusing. Indian dramas are better than Pakistani I’m sorry again but can you tell me the mental hospital you’re admitted in currently.
Indian dramas are by no means better than Pakistani dramas. They are all about wicked in-laws or wicked daughter-in-laws.
I think it is the opposite way .... Pakistani dramas deal with issues that Indian producers would not dare to; i.e. Sadaayein....Chamak....those were really entertaining and fairly original in plot line.
Pakistani dramas deal with issues that Indian producers would not dare to; i.e. Sadaayein....Chamak....those were really entertaining and fairly original in plot line.
I only watched one episode of Kahaniyan, so I don't really know what it is about. I think they deal with women's issues, right? I have yet to see an indian drama that deals with domestic abuse, etc.
One can only sympathise with those folks who prefer Indy trash 'soaps' to the local stuff...they are truly bakwaas - wicked saas, a bahu and tonnes of money is all the sh*t they can think about..they suck and they are NOT relevant at all to the society we live in.
Pak dramas will take a while to come up to the level they previously had, as a LOT of work is currently being done, good and bad...it will take a while for the bad stuff to be filtered off. Previously you had 7 dramas a week, out of which only 2 or 3 were worth watching. Now you have atleast 35 or so dramas and sitcoms running on the many channels, some of which are pretty good - Kahanaiyan being a good example. They have some real good telly serials on on the new Geo channel.
ITS PURE BULL TO PUT DOWN YOUR OWN STUFF - it's probably the envy of the many people across the border.
As for cinema - it will not progress till it shifts its base to Karachi, though I am no native of that city! It's a fact that cienma needs a progressive and open environment to thrive, and it's starting to happen in Karachi now that people like Samina Peerzada have shifted there base to that city. Let's keep our fingers crossed!
lets put it this way there are more pakistani's in England (probably other countries too) with Indian channels e.g B4U /Zee. afew ppl I know have subscribed to these channels, and they say they show more Ind drama's than Pakistani, occording to them "the story lines are just as good as paksiatni's" they wud much rather watch a Indian drama then renting a Pakistani one.
my veiw was based on some of u lot who seem to have stopped watching Pakistani films and turned to indian films same thing will happen here India is or probably has improved it's drama's too,
Too me their drama are trash juz like their films,
Ne ways if Pakistani's continue to support Pak drama, and post their views on forums like this, other will follow but if 2morrow threads start to be opened bout Indian drama's then it'll all go down.
Sofina jee I'm sorry laken aapka bhi koi deen aiman nehein hai.
Above you said Indian dramas have storylines and to a point that Pakistani can't even come close. Then you gave Pakistani dramas 5 more years of gurrenteed life and after that they'd end up just like the fillm industry. Correct me if i'm wrong. And when you were critcised like anything for your openions or comments aap ne saray ka sara muda utha ke kisi aur ke sar dal diya. Behi kiya baat hai.
Shani meri jaan mera deen aiman ik hie hai, I do consider myself as a Pakistani, even though like other Pakistani's I don't think Bollywood is gr8, i'm a minority, so I guess my views don't count, I only talk bout wat I see, in this case what we mite see in afew years time, hope I'm wrong their. who knows maybe one day all subscribers on Indian Channels mite give it up for ARY +Prime
Meray jigar de goshey you're right that lots of Pakistanis have subcribed to indian channels. I won't deny it, heck my family have two indian channels (zee and sony). But that doesn't mean that they (note the emphsis on they, my family not me) like watching indian dramas but rather because of old and new indian films.
Such is the case with majority of the Pakistanis that have indian channels. Trust me on this they have it because of indian movies not because of indian dramas. Majority of Pakistanis (and a big majority i mean) prefers Pakistani dramas over any indian drama. Lots of replies in this thread discussing about quality of Paki and indi dramas are proof that I'm legit about what i'm saying.
*Originally posted by Shani12: *
Meray jigar de goshey you're right that lots of Pakistanis have subcribed to indian channels. I won't deny it, heck my family have two indian channels (zee and sony). But that doesn't mean that they (note the emphsis on they, my family not me) like watching indian dramas but rather because of old and new indian films.
Such is the case with majority of the Pakistanis that have indian channels. Trust me on this they have it because of indian movies not because of indian dramas. Majority of Pakistanis (and a big majority i mean) prefers Pakistani dramas over any indian drama. Lots of replies in this thread discussing about quality of Paki and indi dramas are proof that I'm legit about what i'm saying.
So if someone has subscribed to English channels what that would be?
I have America's top 100 and HBO so lemme see what would that say for me. Probably that I like a few programs of TNT, USA, Comedy Central and MTV, Cartoon Network and from HBO a few good movies that they air in a month.
As for cinema - it will not progress till it shifts its base to Karachi, though I am no native of that city! It's a fact that cienma needs a progressive and open environment to thrive, and it's starting to happen in Karachi now that people like Samina Peerzada have shifted there base to that city. Let's keep our fingers crossed!
I've proposed that shifting film production to Karachi might help a little, since one of the biggest complaints of new producers/directors is that the established production houses in Lahore interfere with their work...
But at the same time, shifting locations is not going to solve everything, it will just help. If the newer directors and producers try to LEARN how to make a real film...then maybe that might solve a lot of problems. Having the experience of making some television dramas wont make you a great film director by default.
Thats what I meant - but the environment you work in to a very large extent influences your work.
The so-called 'Film Mafia', which gets the actresses from where we all know they belong to the film studios rules in Lahore. The 'industry's' (if you can call it that) workforce is totally out of sync with the modern, changed world. These include the script writers, directors etc. who lack a vision. They are just as archaic as their much blamed equipment.
Getting it to Karachi, you have people like Jami, Mehreen Jabbar who r itching to make a film but will not because of the Law of the Jungle that prevails in the studios in Lahore.
I hope it's not too late for things to start working for cinema in Pakistan.
if the re-location of the film industry works then by all means take all the outdated labs, cameras etc to Karachi or Haiderabad or where ever you want. Yeh bhi dekh laitey hein.
But one question. Mahreen is such a talented director (Kahaniyan is a proof of that) why can't she and other like her come to Lahore studios and make a film?
oh and please don't take a cheap shot at me by calling me a regionalist or whatever. My thoughts and I'm way too above this nonsense.
shani dude, chill out. No one is regionalist, and i aint a Khi native as i said be4.
Films are not just all fancy labs and glossy prints. Films are made of scripts, populated by characters and brought to life by the technicians involved. Majority of what comes out from Lahore barely represents the 0.1% of Pak population [if even that!]. It just can't work out there - I have been in both the cities and the attitudes and environment is totally contrasting.
ok good. I'm convinced. We've talked about experimentation forever now it's the time to actully do some. The challenge now is how to make the industry walas realize this.