Daas Kabir Jee

A long time ago I sat at a live performance of the late Aziz mian, one of the finest quwwals Pakistan has ever produced and the final act that night was a tribute poem sang by Aziz Mian sahib but which had been written centuries ago by one of the most unusual figures of the history of the Sub continent.

Linked in part to my Burning bridges thread I will be introducing several charcaters in the History of the Sub-Continent who bought not just small communities but the whole nation together in thier acts. These were universal human biengs and loved by many people from different walks of life.

One of these is the revered Saint Daas Kabir Jee. To Muslims Kabir is revered as a Saint, to Hindus as a great Sadhu and to Sikhs he was a figure who could be described as one of the founding fathers of thier faith too.

Sadly outside of the Sub-Continet he is relatively unknown and even in India, Banladesh, Pakistan few know his story.

Basically he was a mystic who was bought up by Muslim weavers and learned the spiritual and worldy arts through Muslim Sufis and Hindu Sadhus both being the mystic holy men of thier religions.
His life is said to have spanned the period between 1440 and 1520 AD although some put his date of departure at 1518 and his Birth date around 1417. We know very little about his early life and almost nothing is known of his parents. One assumes then that he was perhaps an orphan originally bought up by Muslim weavers but who later went to stay with the Great Hindu Saint Ramananda who was the founder of the Bhakti Hindu faith. Famous Nepalese Ghurkas of the Bahkti tribe were said to be the most astute followers of this faith but it has spread across India since that period.

He was from the region of Varanasi which is one of the holiest places in Hinduism with its great temples and many buildings along the Ganges river which even today is used for bathing and its supposed cleanliness of the soul.

Saint Kabir was taught by the greatest Hindu Sadhu of the time which caused much consternation among the other Hindu students for Kabir was a Muslim but Kabir seems to have trancended the boundaries of faith and many atribute to him great healing abilites and he is revered among both Hindu and Muslim communities as a powerful saint blessed by the one true God.

Kabir is known for his great philosophy in which he combined Hindu Brahmanic beliefs with his own vision of a one true God. This is most profoundly exibited in his poem “Main kya Janoo Ram.” Which forms one of many works in his great Bijak. The Bijak is essentially an Anthology of poems which translate as “the Seed” and it is well known for its direct manner of adressing many of the fundamental questions of man towards God.

The fifth Sikh Guru Arjun Dev collected some of Kabirs works to form what is the holiest scripture in Sikhism the Guru Granth Sahib.

Saint kabir is a rare example of a man who is reverred by all three of the major faiths of the subcontinet and is one of the prime example of efforts to create love and harmony betwen peoples.

I have chosen him as the first of my Bridges between the people and will soon post more interesting personalities that have tried to bring harmony in a land of great turmoil. All of these people deserve to be recognised for thier efforts and you dont have to neccasarily agree with thier universal teachings but you can help but say that in terms of human efforts they did indeed achieve great things.

Sadly Kabir is one who is less well known and recognised but I will soon post more personalities from Warris Shah to Khwaja Shahab and many many other great bridges of the Subcontinent.

For now I leave you with the original and very rare recording of Aziz Mians rendition of Daas Kabirs Poem. It is an hour long but well worth listening to as a work of classical music and philosophical debate between man and his maker.

Re: Daas Kabir Jee

I need time to read this :) I will read it and let you know;)

**thank you for a long but informative post.

btw, his name wasn't Daas Kabir...it was *Kabir Das* :)**

^ Thankyou I came across both refferences to him and was not sure which to put. I was told by Indian friends that he is coloqially referred to as Kabir Daas but apparently its more formal to call him Daas Kabir. I honestly dont know for sure which term is more correct but thankyou for the input. :)

welcome...i've never heard anyone [or read in any books] refer to him as Daas Kabir in India. he didn't have a last name. :)

Yeah I heard we dont even know for sure his real name as Kabir was merely something that was writen or imprinted on his hand and that is how he was known. His full story is quite amazing and I have just gone over the basics... theres a slightly more detailed though again not authenticated version on Wikipedia but most Google searches are not very helpfull.

das kabir is how punjabis called him. his dohay are very popular in india. couple of dohay i remember from my hindi textbook -

kaal kare so aaj kar, aaj kare so ab
pal mei parlay ho jayega, bahuri karega kab?

dukh mei simran sab karey, sukh mei karey na koi
sukh mei simran jo karay, to dukh kahe ko hoi?

maala pherat jug bhaya, mita na man ka pher
kar ka manka chor de, mann ka manka pher.

and a couple of more recent renditions of his poetry.

naiharwa

jhini

wah wah !! nice read :k:

Recently Abida Parveen sung Kabir’s kalam very beautifully.

:) I was above to post these videos any way thanx for sharing here !

Wonderful Wording !

The whole essay is beautifully written.

Thanks queer - have not heard these dohas in ages.

My uncle had a twist on the kaal karey so aaj kar doha

"aaj karay so kaal kar, kaal karay so parson
itnee jaldee kyon hai, jab zinda rahna hai tharson"

I suspect it is not original, but when we were young, we got a kick out of this modification.

"Wonderful Wording !

The whole essay is beautifully written."

We expect nothing less from Faris ud-Deen

Sant Kabir, apart from a renowned Bhakti Saint was also a social reformer, he criticised various Hindu and Muslim religious practices which he deemed were entirely unnecessary and prevents a human being to realize the divinity of god, he believed the most of the people in the sub continent do follow their religion just as an obedience or duty rather than worshiping the divine. there are dohas that actually criticize the religious practices of both main religion of the sub continent at that time. Guru Arjun dev, designed the gurumukhi script in punjabi. Sant Kabir dohas are part of Adi Granth of guru granth sahib along with Baba Farid, a sufi saint, Sikh religious practices are similar to both Hindu and Muslim religious practices, and then sikhi doesn't subscribe to fasting and pilgrimage like Hindus and Muslims do.

dohas by kabir (mods feel free to edit, if it hurts religious sentiment of the people here, that not my intention)

Pahan poojan Hari mile toh mein pujun pahad.

Kakar pathar baandh ke majjid li chunway
Us par mulla bangh de, kya behra hua khuday

^ Bhai zara translation ka bandobast kiya jaay!

*paahan pooje hari miley to mai poojun pahaad
taatein chakki bhali jo pees khaaye sansar *

translation :
if praying to an idol (stone) leads to God then I will pray to a mountain
better than that is a stone flour mill

which feeds the world grinding grain

kankar pathar jod ke masjid liya banaay
ta chad mullah baang de kya behra hua khudaay

translation:
gathering pebbles and stones
they erected their mosques
muezzins climb the minarets
and shout with ear bursting calls
is God hard of hearing?

As simple as Kabir's dohas are, they're difficult to translate. Just reading the english versions online you can tell a lot is lost in translation (if you understand Hindi). I recently happened across some of Tagore's interpretations and found them too labored/embellished. They lack Kabir's grounded, relatable tone.

Naiharwa by Kailasa was profoundly moving. I just looked up the lyrics. Kailash's voice is blessed by a higher power.

Abida Parveen is legend, as usual. What a wonderful collaboration with Gulzar. I wish she would take care of herself, she's already had one heart attack.

Thanks for sharing everyone. Amen to soul food.

Thank you chaibiskut! Looks like Kabir was an equal opportunity critique of both religiions.

^ I meant critic