Re: ** DAAM **
wow ! loved this week's episode!! feel so happy for bano's family!!!
u mean zara’s family ![]()
yea i agree,where was pari and the kids of big sister.plus why didnt zara parents go to the airport.well i think fiza is married to junaid.poor junaid:(plus dont you think they are winding the drama a lil bit too fast:hmmm:
i think there are like 2 more epis left at the most. there's not much story left now.
I think after the Junaid/Zara breakup there was not any story that needed to take a long time to build up. The core relationships had already been established so that’s why it seems like things are moving very fast to us but if you look at it, there is no need to show Zara sulking over Junaid for 3 episodes or Maleeha getting abused by her in-laws for 3 more. A lot of other directors would have done that and DO that in those pointless 20 minute soapisodes.
I still remember in MZZB they showed 1/3 to 50% of the episodes where Faisal Qureshi was just crying or lamenting himself and it got tedious. I am sure other directors would have shown Seemi’s big house and big car, and her kids running around the house or Zara walking up and down some hospital in the UK. Usually Mehreen doesn’t do this kind of stuff and hardly uses any extras. If you think back, we never saw an elaborate wedding ceremony of Seemi’s. If it was someone else directing, there would have been at least a 20 minute sequence on her shaadi hall arrival and rukhsati.
I think after the Junaid/Zara breakup there was not any story that needed to take a long time to build up. The core relationships had already been established so that's why it seems like things are moving very fast to us but if you look at it, there is no need to show Zara sulking over Junaid for 3 episodes or Maleeha getting abused by her in-laws for 3 more. A lot of other directors would have done that and DO that in those pointless 20 minute soapisodes. I still remember in MZZB they showed 1/3 to 50% of the episodes where Faisal Qureshi was just crying or lamenting himself and it got tedious. I am sure other directors would have shown Seemi's big house and big car, and her kids running around the house or Zara walking up and down some hospital in the UK. Usually Mehreen doesn't do this kind of stuff and hardly uses any extras. If you think back, we never saw an elaborate wedding ceremony of Seemi's. If it was someone else directing, there would have been at least a 20 minute sequence on her shaadi hall arrival and rukhsati.
Exactly!!!!
Just wanted to make a list of things that Zara returned the money for.
Asma's wedding loan - 50,000
Aunty & Uncle's gift - 25,000
Food items/college canteen bills - 25,000
misc loans during 7 years of college - 25,000
gifts from Maleeha - 50,000
used items from Maleeha for Zara's use - 20,0000
looks like she over budgeted some of the stuff :) But I still found it a good read since usually they'll just show the blank paper from the opposite side.
how come she was able to return that huge amount even b4 finishing her specialization? she was sending money to family too while still studying.
God knows how....and cuz of these dramas people in pakistan believe that in these countries money grows on trees...otherwise cost of living is high in england.
drama should have shown zara paying back maleeha her debt after seven years.
Just wanted to make a list of things that Zara returned the money for.
Asma's wedding loan - 50,000 Aunty & Uncle's gift - 25,000 Food items/college canteen bills - 25,000 misc loans during 7 years of college - 25,000 gifts from Maleeha - 50,000 used items from Maleeha for Zara's use - 20,0000
looks like she over budgeted some of the stuff :) But I still found it a good read since usually they'll just show the blank paper from the opposite side.
Thank you. Couldn't read that handwritten note. Zara ought to have consulted a financial analyst -- money has some time value too, so she ought to have returned all that with some basic-level of interest lol -- if she considered the amount to be a loan, that is
God knows how....and cuz of these dramas people in pakistan believe that in these countries money grows on trees...otherwise cost of living is high in england.
drama should have shown zara paying back maleeha her debt after seven years.
may be she saved from her scholarship money.
i really liked this list..![]()
but i feel bad for maleeha..why didnt she tell him the truth..i mean junaid…7 yrs ho gai hain
i hate fiza n her mom…lagta hai fiza aur junaid ki shadi ho gai hai ![]()
and yes i didnt like jamal’s attitude…btw,where is zara’s younger sister??![]()
it may not b possible
I am with you guys - I have no idea where she was getting the money from. Maybe some Pakistani politicians were secretly funding her LOL
When she sent that first check for 25000 to her parents, I was surprised. When you are living on a scholarship, you have enough to get by after paying your bills.
Stalker - you're welcome! she sent 5,000 extra rupees as interest lol ;-) But I think she over budgeted which means some of the bills listed (like food & clothes) have interest included in them.
Hiba - how many sisters would go up to their brothers and tell them "I ruined your life"? :D
You folks aren't familiar with these common wealth / Fulbright scholarships I guess. Tuition is waived and you get a big monthly stipend. S friend of mind is getting $2000. And 25000 is just 250 pounds. And 200000 is around 2000. Very meager amount
lol!!! yup u R right!!!
I am with you guys - I have no idea where she was getting the money from. Maybe some Pakistani politicians were secretly funding her LOL When she sent that first check for 25000 to her parents, I was surprised. When you are living on a scholarship, you have enough to get by after paying your bills.
Stalker - you're welcome! she sent 5,000 extra rupees as interest lol ;-) But I think she over budgeted which means some of the bills listed (like food & clothes) have interest included in them.
Hiba - how many sisters would go up to their brothers and tell them "I ruined your life"? :D
yar atleast maleeha ko apni ghalti accept kerni chayee..
^^ Adeel Hussain took some really cool pics in B&W!
To Mehreen Jabbar,
Daam is an excellent story and very well directed indeed. Just watched it recently on you tube. Like some other people pointed out, I don't like too many flash backs, they definitely drag the story.
I would like to know what is the name of the actress who is playing the role of Zara's mom?In my opinion, she has done a superb job and deserves an award for this performance. If you can, please convey my compliments to her. I rememer seeing her in one of PTV serials, but I don't know what her name is. And Maleeha's mom is such a sweetheart, she does look as if she is equally sweet in real life too. Zara's father (Hidayat) has also performed really well.
And I rather like that mamoo character, there are certainly many people like that around us. Very realistic character. Also I don't think that his role or his wife's role is redundant, as they are an integral part of the story.Love the mumaani's accent, who is she by the way?
While I like your style of direction because the dialogue delivery is very natural and realistic etc, sometimes I feel that there is an 'understatement', even in situations where one needs to be more 'expressive' sometimes the actors' tone is too flat and without emotion.
Of course this drama too has many recurrent themes which are common in all of Umera's novels/stories. She seems to be suffering from unipolar disorder:
)) because all her stories are immensely tragic.
Ahh!! I was really hoping that Junaid would have divorced Fizza in 7 years! Now they have a girl so it complicates things. Poor Zara - uss ki shakal dekhne waali thi when she saw Fizza w/ Junaid. Again great job acting.
They should have touched on what happened to Manno a bit more and cut down on the 3 scenes of Mamoo - that was too much Mamu for me esp. the 3rd scene was completely unnecessary even though I enjoyed Seemi's dialogues there lol