Cutting off your TV cable

With video streaming services like netflix and hulu plus and media boxes like Roku and Boxee, I am reading lots and lots that ‘experts’ are recommending to cut the cable off and save up to $50 and month and what not.

Have you guys any experience with media boxes and/or streaming services?

PS: I did not know whether to start the thread in Entertainment or Gadget forum so I am doing it here.

Re: Cutting off your TV cable

oh…i thought you was referring to cutting off TV altogether :smack:

Well I bought Sony Internet TV (built in wireless) with subscription for Netflix & Hulu+ .. .for desi stuff/cricket i get Jadoo Tv. It’s been a month now with out cable.. .and i am doing pretty well.

Netflix is must for every household.
Hulu+ if you watch tv shows .

Jadoo TV for Pakistani/Indian channels + Movies.. bonus cricket .. .what else a man wants..

on top of that.. new Sony internet tvs are DLNA certifiied.. so they connect with your home desktop/laptop to stream music/video/pics..

aur kya chahyia :chai:

nahi, abhee itna bhee moluvi nahi hua :smiley:

Ok that sounds postive. I want to do that, we hardly watch TV but just for couple of channles for kids, we are paying $80 per month. I signed up for Netflix this weekend ($7.99 plan) and since then, Kids are just watching shows and movies off Netflix. I dont see a need of Cable TV myself and now after your testimony, I may go for that.

I don’t have kids.. but i did encounter this problem when families with kids are over my place. So what i did was i add couple of kids/family movies in the Instant queue .. man.. two hours of sakoon :k:

or

you can access youtube on jadootv/internet tv .. so create queue lists of cartoons on your youtube accounts…

My kids enjoy cartoons but evary and any cartoon does not work for them. But you are right, between Youtube, hulu and netflix, I think they are well covered. They also do not watch TV that much anyways.

We aren't paying for any TV channels either.

i heard you don't pay for anything.

stealing cable from the neighbors, are we BBq?

@ firenze: No, my daddy does.

cuz of cricket, we already exceeded our streaming bandwidth limits. :teary1:

Yes, I'm seriously considering online services in favour of continuing paying my cable bill of Rs 250 for the whole package with four tvs hooked up. :D

We only have a tv for videogames. Don't watch regular TV at all. What I want to watch, I watch on iplayer or download and watch through the xbox media centre.

That is only achieveable in Pakistan! :hehe:

^ Not true, you could get a chipped box on Virgin (formerly Telewest). All the channels for the price of a basic package. :p

PTCL is offering IPTV for Rs.500 a month though....with VOD, TimeDelay n stuff like that...

well, even JadooTV that foirenze talked about, is not legal

I pay for device, content is coming freely.

ahem :D

I am not saying anything.

my friend is into this sort of thing, for just 20 quid you could pretty much have every channel broadcasted in the UK. any sky or virgin staff reading this, u sucketh. :@: