Custom Avatars Policy - Revision Request

AOA Azkar bhai,

Today I’m really sorry for I cannot post 1000 times where half of my posts do not mean anything to anyone. I can rather post 100 times and make it sure that atleast 95 of them are useful for many members.

I remember that I tried to use custom avatar and failed, on Jan 13th, 2005 the day when I became a member of GupShup.
Fine, I was new, and absolutely unknown guy with zero contribution. That’s understandable and I was O.K. with that.

Avatar is not a big deal in fact, I’m fine with my current question mark and black head which seems to be of a gentleman :slight_smile: but I just dont understand the reason of one thousand posts.
I have spent almost 18 months with GupShup now and I want to be able to do what other members are doing who joined six months later.

I was just thinking that two can fall in love in 18 seconds, a mother can deliver child in 18 minutes, the military can take over Islamabad in 18 hours, I’m sure 18 days is hell of a time to code a medium sized Perl module but I dont know why using custom avatar is not possible in 18 months?

I have more than 150 posts. I know some bulk posters will definitely laugh now. But Azkar bhai you realize that I have spent some time here?

Tell me one thing, sir, do you have a policy to review the quality of posts to grant privileges and revoke privileges of bulk posters?

Consider the positive aspects of what I am telling you. Hundreds of other forums have the same old typical terms and conditions i.e. minimum xxx posts to have this and minimum xxx posts to have that. I expect you to stand out.
I mean just try to understand the fact that how can everybody be posting online at same speed when they have different speeds of talking when they’re offline?

In 18 months I could have made 2000 posts too if I was interested in all categories and not just computers and philosophy. But that’s not my fault if I find most of the topics meaningless in General and Shor Sharaba forums and I always postpone my idea of being friendly with others in those forums.
Religion and World Affairs are time consuming forums, you understand that. I want to and I can participate in those forums but the topics they raise are usually very controversial. One needs much time to seriously share the opinion. Because authentic references and then reasons are required in such issues which cost much time.
While in Computers and Philosophy forums, you can be precise in fewer words. Such forums are easy for atleast my kind of people.

Perhaps I should I write a software to help GupShup Admin. track individual members, their history and detailed stats. So the Admin. will know what kind of person that individual is and how should he be treated (just in case you know)?

I dont know when was the last time you reconsidered that where does your forum stand now, reviewed the statistics of the forum, updated the policies. But I am sure that you dont do that often. I dont think you have a policy to review and update the existing policies or do you?

Yes I am trying to convince you to kindly revise the Custom Avatars Policy. I do not mean that you should create a different policy for each member to make them happy but the single policy for all members should be atleast flexible enough to run things smoothly. 1000 posts is way too much.

Seriously, in current situation, one size does not seem to fit all.

P.S: Not only GupShup, if anyone reading this message owns a forum too then I’d like to suggest that please use some of your common sense when carving strategies to run a forum.

Regards,

Ihtesham Ali

Re: Custom Avatars Policy - Revision Request

sigh

Once single PM to Mr Custom would have sufficed!

but do you see why he only has 150 posts?

:cb:

go for it Gizzy…in fact, give him two for the price of one.

quantity is objective, quality is subjective.

plus you would be hurt if someone reviewed your posts and said that the quality did not measure up to a level that you could have a custom avatar.

airlines have frequent flier miles based on how much you fly, not that you flew to nicer cities and accomplished major things. (aside from some special promotions for certain routes off and on)

Yes brother I could but I wanted to suggest that honestly to the Admin. because I care, a little, for the others too and of course PakLinks.com

So I thought it wouldnt be the best thing that I can do if I PM and get just my custom avatar enabled.

Fraudz: Try again pilot.

Damn…:omg:

Hello… even a flooder dont have such facility, how you could have…:rotfl:

You have to PM Gizzy bhai or Mr Custom. You can’t upload your avatar by yourself.:halo:

nyah, not worth my time falsafi..or as history of the world refers to philosophers as..

Who invited you anyway dabba pir?
Now keep your dignity (if that matters), dont post here again.

I can’t answer for all, but daaaamn i’m impressed. :cb:

ouch not a good move Ihtesham

Lol, Ihtesham, this IS a Pakistani forum after all!

He is one of the Admins:rolleyes:

Now apologize for disrespecting or else get a warning or two :smilestar:

Then somebody please learn him how to talk on a public forum. The Username we choose at the time of registration has a purpose. An admin must not call a member with any name he wants. He initiated that and he didnt leave enough space for me to make a better move. I was pushed, so he has disrespected himself.

I am trying to discuss some serious matter here, in a humble way, with Azkar bhai (who I think takes this forum as a responsibility too besides entertainment). I am not calling any god damn joker to come here and tell me that this thread is trash and not worth their time.

Oh come on Anwaar Qureshi, warning on GupShup is not the end of the world.

LoL
You see that Tofi?
Tanqeed bara-e-tanqeed. Aur oper se yahan per sub bohat hassaas hain aur apni jaib may 6 chamchay le kar ghoomtay hain.
Kaam ki baat karna yahaan bohat mushkil hai.

Read your above posts and unwarranted personal attacks and you will realise who is "bohat hassaas" here. If you want others to respect you try respecting them as well. You have made a request and the admins feel that there is no need to revise our policy at this point in time.

Thanks for raising the issue.

Tell me that your title “Director of GS” is not custom :hehe:

Relax ehsan, let Azkar tell us what he feels since it was a direct message for him. If Azkar bhai is too shy to speak himself then ok I consider your answer on his behalf. You may lock/purge this thread right away.

Thank for sharing that how other admins feel.

Ihtesham, they will not change this policy. You do realize how many people will be standing in line ouotside Mr Custom's office if they changed this policy. Who is going to decide what are the quality posts and what are just space filler quantity posts? You certainly dont want a handful of mods or admins to decide that. There is just too much bias involved? Get my point?

Best option, if its still available to you, would be to just PM the avatar you want to Mr Custom. Thora sa makkhan/desi ghee lagao and then just wait patientiently for a reply.

^ I know..lol mera kiya houga :hehe:

It can make Mr Custom’s life easier if the min. limit is 300 posts and member can update custom avatar himself, just like the normal way it happens, on other forums. Offensive avatars can be reported, so moderation is not a big issue. Also, I’m sure GS have no webspace constraints. Even if there is any, what are we for? :slight_smile:

Anyway, I got you brother and I think that you are right. More chances are that they wont upgrade. I’ll get some butter for Mr Custom.

Ok now that the important part it over, lets have some fun :slight_smile:

Ihtesham : 168 posts since Jan 2005

Hats off to these monsters

danial shah : 21,458 posts since Aug 2005 (please lend me 1000) :omg:
sidz_angel : 6,832 posts since Mar 2006
OMG : 7,661 posts since Jun 2005

^ hey don’t make fun of my big brother danny :mad: