Re: Curves are back!
I'm closing this thread because there is no end to stupidity.
*side note
I really think everybody (in general) needs to stop stressing about what men find attractive and learn to accept themselves first. If you want to lose weight or become fit and athletic, do it for yourself, not for somebody else.
absolutely right!
so when the next aunty tells you or your sister that there is something wrong with her.......simply ignore........
No, don’t close the thread. Itney dinon key baat itna saara traffic aaya hai Health mein
^lol
aap ko siraf traffic ki fikar hai. ![]()
Anyway, all credit goes to Jolie. ![]()
nooo don't close it!
do you really need to know? at least we are all sure that you support them...........
I support curves!
I feel so much like a piece of clothing right now
Ladies! Ladies! Please stop all this fighting. Let's settle this the right way. hands out lingerie and pillows Okay, now commence. Thanks.
no, no, don't......then the thread will become all about boobs and thighs and butts........
Jolie, I think as women (not just Pakistani, but all), we need to learn to recognize when people subject their own fears and insecurities onto us. So when people degrade your sister, it's due to their own fears and insecurities ... this is a Pakistani cultural insecurity (amongst older aunties) opposed to Western cultural insecurity (being 'curvy'). Teach your sister to recognize this (if you have not already) and ignore it. It's not ok for people to project their insecurities onto you or your sister.
I think it is so important to teach young girls this .... come to think of it, boys too. I have seen one too many "fit" men refuse to eat anything with sugar for fear of becoming fat. Learn to love yourselves and recognize that if someone says something negative to us, it is OUR choice to either listen and internalize what they have said (damaging our own self-esteem) or recognize it as someone projecting their insecurities onto us.
Runway models and magazine ads do not define you. The community commentators do not define you. Only you can do that.
and neither can designer labels, they can't define you either.
Girls, girls, girls!
I like all of you. Equally.
No discrimination here!
No I think my initial message to a rant got misinterpreted.
She asked why Angelina Jolie or VB aren't putting up weight because some magazines said so. My response to that would be maybe their completely confident about their looks, and feel very happy that the way they are and aren't surrounded by people who make them feel inadequate? Is it a crime for non curvy folks to feel good about themselves and be at peace? The whole talk about fashion industry came much later and thats a bit different and pretty deep issue.
Shall I make a thread about why Kim K or Mariah Carey aren't losing weight since skinny is so in?
I get the part about Jolie and VB not putting on weight, the fashion talk is what I was talking about.
You seemed like you didn't mind the current models on the ramp but I think their body image is ridiculous and just not healthy, the brands they represent cater for all ages yet the models that are cast start fro the age of 16. Many of them are either too skinny and not healthy or just haven't fully developed which is not something the average woman should compare herself to but because of the media constantly throwing these pictures at our faces it causes a lot of vulnerable women to develop eating disorders and spiral into depression.
If all the ramp models, high fashion models and commercial models have a healthy BMI then I don't care whether they have curves or not, although personally I think curves (in the right places, not bumps) >> no curves, then again that's just me.
I get the part about Jolie and VB not putting on weight, the fashion talk is what I was talking about.
You seemed like you didn't mind the current models on the ramp but I think their body image is ridiculous and just not healthy, the brands they represent cater for all ages yet the models that are cast start fro the age of 16. Many of them are either too skinny and not healthy or just haven't fully developed which is not something the average woman should compare herself to but because of the media constantly throwing these pictures at our faces it causes a lot of vulnerable women to develop eating disorders and spiral into depression.
If all the ramp models, high fashion models and commercial models have a healthy BMI then I don't care whether they have curves or not, although personally I think curves (in the right places, not bumps) >> no curves, then again that's just me.
Okay I agree High Fashion models being too skinny.
@ bold. But would say that this whole militant promoting of certain curvy types (i.e Kim K and M.Monore = all so healthy and perfect) in commercial media or in general desi gatherings can also cause a lot of vulnerable women to develop eating disorders and spiral into depression? It is indeed a two way street. Recently I read somewhere about young girls going for breast/bum implants to achieve a 'perfect', 'curvy' look. Is that supposed to be healthy?
Aap phir shuru ho gaye? ![]()
Khatam kab hu’ey thay?
We must have made a record here O_o
Okay I agree High Fashion models being too skinny.
@ bold. But would say that this whole militant promoting of certain curvy types (i.e Kim K and M.Monore = all so healthy and perfect) in commercial media or in general desi gatherings can also cause a lot of vulnerable women to develop eating disorders and spiral into depression? It is indeed a two way street. Recently I read somewhere about young girls going for breast/bum implants to achieve a 'perfect', 'curvy' look. Is that supposed to be healthy?
Agreed. The bum implants thing is horrible, I read a report on someone dying because of the implant shudders
did everyone log off or got bored..
more more more...
fight fight fight..
flat ladies can diss well endowed ones
and chubby ones can diss atheletic ones
waiting
you got here too late.....