Cultural Shocks

The world has been converted to global village. People from different cultures meet and interact on regular basis.

Have you ever come across anything shocking (surprising) about the culture of people you met?

Re: Cultural Shocks

:hehe: looks like shocked word is now your patent. :faizy:

What would you say about pleasant shocks?

There is a restaurant near Muhammadi House (I.I. Chundrigar Road). A fast food centre namely Memon Foods. Once me and a Memon friend went there for lunch. In menu card there was an entry ‘Memon Surprise’. My Memon friend got excited for that and ordered that. When he saw food, he was shocked, because it was small burger and Pasli ka brost for Rs 200. I said to him Memon surprise shocked a Memon :hehe:

When I visited Pakistan, I shocked that western world saying that pakistan is pioneer in extremism and dhamaky bazi, but my visit was quite different many fashionable girls were walking without hijab (a term commonly used in western media to suggest Muslim women head covering.) :bummer:

How come that was a surprise for you. I mean didn’t you know Pakistani culture before leaving for US?

oho, i know pakistani culture very well. I was presenting western view of Pakistan. how they perceive us.

ok and what was shocking when you saw there culture? ;)

oh i saw a you tube video where a hundi larki was getting marrried to a dog, in some part of india if their kundali have something they are getting married to trees, dogs n these sort of things, it was shocking for me :eek:

saarii dunyaa hii shocking hai...yaa phir...hamaare 'shock-absorbers' hii KhaTaaraa ban gaye haiN. :(

lol. i posted my shock long time ago. will send you link.

I think Aish aunty also married to a tree before marrying to Khamba.. I mean Abhishek lamba

Global village?

Hardly more like Global slave market...

Anyway just outside the Eastern Turkish city of Batman I was suprised to find people who still lived in the primitive caves, they were nice people and somehow through various clever ways they had rigged up power to thier labrythine dwellings so that they had TVs and fridges it was a very strange sight indeed.

KKF what was shocking for you in Canadian culture (if there is any separate Canadian culture)?

system kii iimaandaarii aur aur logoN kii ek duusre ke liye respect!

People still lives in caves? wow.. Near Sehwan Sharif, there is a place called Pathan ki kaafi (not coffee). Its a cave, which have now been converted to a tea-stall by Pathans. The cave have some natural system that it remain cool in hot summers and warm in winters.

true :( anything else about how they interact, their traditions, etc

Yes I have heard of this place, sounds good although I've been advised to avoid the place at night... but that rule applies to most places.

i LIKE amish people...they are very primitive in their living style...just like we used to live in our villages! simple life style! :)

amish means?

I was passing by a chinese restaurant and saw board * today’s special fried cat *

:bummer:
I don’t know if it was a reAl fried cat or just a name like hot dog.