...Cultural Clash...

Re: ...Cultural Clash...

Shikra you are a married man, and your dad is upset you're not calling him everyday?

That's adorable, and yet I think your dad needs to let go.

It depends on the family. I don't see most desi parents being so clingy to their sons after they get married. However, if its minor stuff like calling them and saying some words to them to make them feel special, then why not? Part of it might not be culture, as much as they've got this son, and he's growing apart from them because he's growing up, and they are having separation anxiety. Just try to be understanding of it. You only have so much time in the world with them as it is.

Re: …Cultural Clash…

^ You are right and yes, when we went to NY a few days ago, I called him right when I got out of the plane to tell him we got there safely. I understand. Then he asked if someone is there to pick us up? I said yeah, Bilal bhai is coming to pick us up, he should be outside, I haven’t stepped out of the airport yet as the first thing I am doing is calling you. He said okayy, once you meet him and get in the car, call me again and let me know. :bummer:

My emotions were: :eek: :aj: :mad2: :crying:

Re: ...Cultural Clash...

LOL at above Shikra. Just be patient, thats what i try to do atleast. Both my parents call me every single day and if they dont hear from me, they get offended somewhat. In the begining, i felt a bit wierd, thinking if my MIL was doing that with my husband, i would be really annoyed. But then i realised, they love me and care for me and now that i am married and away, they probably miss me more than i miss them. We are a small family to begin with ( 3 siblings total) so perhaps that makes it a bit worse, who knows.

All i know is that they do this out of love for me, as do your parents. Just try to be patient. InshaAllah it will have its own reward.