my cousin got married last yr, and she didnt cry, her mum didnt cry, her dad didnt cry, the only person that started crying was my mum…and then when her mum saw my mum crying, she started crying…lol..it was so weird…my chachu who found this hilarious began laughing..so her wedding film looks really odd at the end..
on the other hand i went to my mate sisters wedding.and the girl cried HYSTERICALLY…i mean badddddddddddd crying, as in you could hear miles away sobbing into her tissue and crying her lungs out..i thought any minute she was gna start wacking her chest like a banshee…
in fact her entire family was crying like banshees… me and my family just stood there amused…
i think every individual is different but rukhsati is an emotional time for he majority of us....and generally i think the norm is that girls do cry!!!
i mean every wedding i've come across the girl and her fam is emotional....
i didnt cry at the rukhsati...but i did cry a little when i reached my sasuraal and those never ending rasams were going on..
But I cried a lott later when i saw the video recording of my rukhsatii,saw my mom crying there and it still makes me emotional:(
my mom sang a beautiful song during the rukhsati....later my mumanis joined in...it was an emotional...not necessarily sad....but joyous moment...
"khushi khushi kardo wida....
hamari bano raaj karay gi"
khushi khushi kardo wida...
hamari _____ yaad karay gi....
i was expecting her to cry like no tomorrow..but she smiled and held my hand..while my husband held the other hand...thats what i wanted..smiles and reassurance.... :)
we cried and cried when we saw it on tape though :) haha
I got married some couple of months back.... The ruksati scene made me cry when I thought of it before shadi... but on that very day... I was expression less.... i kept on talking even with my freinds and cousins...wasnt cam conscious etc.... even I was smiling before ruksati time.... and I cried hell out when baba hugged me and said 'acah momi beta'.... but someone grabbed me into the car... I cried the whole way.... and when i reached back at m susraal i was damn sure that I must be looking like a churail...lolz
gals...galsss....galsss....i had tears full in ma eyes oon ma mangni...sittin on stage wen i saw ma dad n i saw him apprehensive n sad,,,i had extreme tears n i started crying....i wonder wat m i gonna do on baraaat....
talk about the partying continuing after the bride and groom have left… someone else cut our wedding cake and obviously everyone else ate it! never cut or tasted my own wedding cake!!
no one cried at my wedding except my mom shed a few tears which i told her she did it only for the camera so it can be in the video.
nope didnt really cry. My bro wanted to cry but he just kept biting his jaw....lol
for some reason my chachi dramatically cried by hugginy my shoulder left to right...etc...and making comments...I was weirded out. I was just focused on make up - had to take pics cant afford to shed a tear :)
I didn't cry. I was married in Karachi, then coming back to the US to live close to my parents. So it didn't feel like I was leaving. I don't think anyone cried. But when I went to Karachi alone the next time, I sobbed and sobbed when I left, and everyone said it felt like my real ruksati, two years later.
I didn't cry either, cos was coming back to england after the wedding so didnt feel like i was leaving my family.
rather, the whole thing, i just sort of felt like i was dazed the whole time, it just seemed like a dream, surreal.
Sahar02, same for me, when i went back to pakistan to visit my hubby, on leaving him and his fam, i cried a lot, though most of it was done in private lol.
recently i attended one wedding, every time when bride cried, groom started to cry also. I think groom cried more than the bride.
I think crying at the rukhsati time is now part of a tradition, and not the expression of separating from parents.
another thing is if you dont cry then you worry what people will say ... dekho dekho roie nahi ... lagta hai is ka pehlay say is larkay kay sath chakar ho ga aur apni man mani ki ho gi, jabhi to woh ro nahi rahi aur yahan say jaldi jaldi janay ki kar rahi hai kiun keh us ki bahon mein janey ki jaldi jo hai.