Criminal procedure amendment bill

This is definitely a move in a right direction by the present government. Hope to see these kinda actions in other fields as well which have a direct impact on the masses.

ISLAMABAD: President Asif Ali Zardari signed the code of criminal procedure amendment bill 2011 on Monday.
The bill states that under trial prisoners shall be entitled to statutory bail if they have been charged with any offense not punishable with death and have been detained for one year.

http://www.dawn.com/2011/04/18/president-signs-criminal-procedure-amendment-bill.html

Re: Criminal procedure amendment bill

Looks like geared towards saving the politicians.

This is very good at a side but on the other hand criminals will be using it frankly; So as a normal criminal case reaches to its end with in two -three years and one who committed fraud/ corruption of billions ,he will be out after a year.
It looks good while living abroad.

IMHO, it helps people who have been locked up for ages and their cases keep getting adjourned till the next trial date. It also relieves our over burdened criminal justice system and over crowded jails. Not sure, what you exactly mean by ** it looks good from abroad**...

Koi achhi English main in ko samjhao

looks like Zardarii is anticipating going to jail when the new Govt. comes in after the elections which will deffo be hostile to him... :)

Chanda, no need to get personal... You have no clue where I reside or what I do for living. I would recommend to contribute to my thread constructively otherwise move your assumptive a&& to Cafe.

Even though it looks good on paper to save innocents/people who didn't commit big crimes but as you said frequent criminals/politicians will use it conveniently (if they get caught).

I don't want to know,May be living in Aabparah.
We struggle for right of the public but ground realities are quite different.
We see the matters as those happen to us.
Use of law like Raymond case. May be Zardari thinking about his previous struggle for living in jail for a decade without any punishment. But he should also remember that law could be easily changed as it was practiced in past.
It is good to say but till the courts make it sure that the cases will be decided in a year ,this law looks favoring criminals only.

We have long way to go in actually reforming the whole justice system, there is a lot to be done before 'awaam' can have a sigh of relief.

A boy born in Choudhry sahibs house.
and a villiger went to the Chodhry
s house to inform him and said
Choudhry sahib Mubark hue Munda peda hoea e
(he Ch.didnt notice that the villiger talkling about his born baby)

Choudhry listen the news and said SANU KI
villiger said Choudhry sahib Towadhe ghar hoea e
Choudhry said
Fer Tuwanu ki:D:

ye bill khowas ke liye banaya gea hei
awam ke liye nahi,

Obviously you do care, otherwise you would'nt have said in your previous post, and I quote "It looks good from abroad." Anyway...

We struggle for right of the public but ground realities are quite different.
We see the matters as those happen to us.

I'm very familiar of the ground realities in the Land of Pure, probably more so than you. I dont need no preaching from you.

Use of law like Raymond case. May be Zardari thinking about his previous struggle for living in jail for a decade without any punishment. But he should also remember that law could be easily changed as it was practiced in past.

It's a tendency among some of the Pakistanis to blame for the ill's on the PPP led government and credit the Pakistani armed forces for all the praiseworthy actions in the country. The reality is the Raymond Davis would'nt be out at the moment if the Chief of Army Staff Gen. Kayani and more importantly the nine core commanders didn't give a go-ahead to release Raymond Davis (and that is a ground reality).

It is good to say but till the courts make it sure that the cases will be decided in a year ,this law looks favoring criminals only.

This is a work in progress. I personally don't expect Pakistan's chaotic judicial system to be straightened out overnight. But this is only a beginning. IMO, there are always going to people out there who are going to mis-use the law. But that shouldn't stop the law makers in the country for doing what's right. One of the features I really liked was the one about women. According to the new law: law envisaged special concessions to under trial women prisoners. The time frame specified for under trial women prisoners for eligibility to statutory bail is half of the time frame for male convicts.
A woman under trial prisoner will thus be entitled to statutory bail if she is accused of any offence not punishable with death and has been detained for over six months. In case of an offence punishable with death the accused woman prisoner shall be liable to statutory bail if the trial had not been concluded in one year instead of two years as in case of male under trial prisoners. As other guppies have pointed out the law does look good on the paper, it boils down to the enforcement of the law. Hopefully, with an activist judiciary in the country, we can get that part also taken care of, hopefully soon. If the law is properly utilised, it will help people from the country side(mostly) who have been framed in fake judicial cases by their land lords.

Jeetay raho