cries of a weary soul...

so I have been following the traumatic cases of Mukhtar Mai and Dr. Shazia, and the unfortunate intricacies of our legal system. They belong to different social classes, but share the same experiences. Both tried to seek justice, which, in our country, is nothing but a wild goose’s chase. They managed to get media’s attention, took the courage to speak out, risked the further deterioration of their images (unfortunately); but nothing happened.

What would happen to a country where the Head of the state gives a verdict on the innocence of the alleged rapists even before the trial begins?

I love Pakistan, but aren’t we just pushing it to the limit?

Re: cries of a weary soul...

janab-e-aali where u been living sir ji

Dr Shazia has been granted exile in a foreign country and she is mazay se pakistan se baahar

and Mukhtar Mai...the PM and Pres r personally giving her attention

ab mazeed hum kya karayen???

Re: cries of a weary soul…

“mazay sey Pakistan ke bahir”

Irem, how can she be ‘mazay main’ when she has been through such an ordeal. :disgust:

cat-woman yaar abhee tak kuch prove nai hua hae
tum Pakistanyon ko nai jaanti jo yahan palay baRhay hon...we (including myself) r very kameenay log :D
Allah behtar jaanta hay but i am not ruling out the possibility of her putting up a drama and doing all this jus fo political reasons and then in the end she got away with foreign country exile...

Irem, what do you mean by 'granted exile'? It was more of a forced decision upon her.
Capt. Hammad was put into a house arrest, and nothing beyond that was done. The President of Pakistan had given a verdict on his innocence before the trial begun. He directly influenced the court's decision by giving such a statement.

As for Mukhtar Mai's case, they rapists had been freed as per the decision of High Court. The case is in Supreme court now, but the case has lost its strength because of the High court's decision. I am not sure, but I do think that it was also influenced by some other forces.

Initiator why was it forced? She could have easily continued living in Pakistan???

And wasn't there going to be a trial on Capt. Hammad?

Khayr, in case she really was a victim, I shouldn't take my doubting of her too far.

But still, I do think the govt & public both tried its best to do something about the situation, you can't say they didn't do anything.

Irem, just follow her statements from the beginning and try to see the sudden twist in them after a certain point. First she criticized the legal system and accused Capt. HAmmad of rape, then she started praising the same legal system (the Government). She also said that she wasn't sure if Capt. Hammad really was the criminal.

Follow the trail and you'll have your answer. I am not saying this with 100% surety, but things just do not seem right.

you said it buddy ;) it DOES seem fishy

Allah only knows the truth

Can some please give me some stats how many rapes happen in NYC alone & in whole pakistan ? :o

Thats a diffrent story if it happens in country like Pakistan it will be in the headlines of international news.

:bravo:

JonyBr, you can't compare. Mainly because so many rapes in Pakistan go unreported, and many of the ones that are reported, the blame is put on the women when they go to get an FIR.

Whereas in NYC alone, women are more brave to go report the crime because they know something can be done about it and justice can get served if the guy is caught.

^Okay. U have statistatics for that? From where? How many cases dont get reported? 20%? 50%? 80%? Even if u add that in the list…can i still have the stats?

:bravo:

initiator bhai, just to bring forward a different angle of wat u said. Have u studies Islam about such cases? If not, then plz do so, just so that you will know how difficult has Islam made it for any person to prove the rape “zana bil jabar” cases. I wont go into any details u can find that out pretty easily in most if Islamic books. Then after u find out the Islamic theory about it then, eigther call Islam a biased and non logical religion or else u can think the logic behind it. Why will Islam make it such a hard thing for any gal or person to prove a rape?
:k: best of luck with finding out the logic behind it.

PCG and Jony… When we talk about places like NYC, then most of the gals there dont bother much if that happens, they dont report at all, they just forget about it and keep living like nothing has happened. So there is no comparison in NYC and pak.

When we talk about places like NYC, then most of the gals there dont bother much if that happens, they dont report at all, they just forget about it and keep living like nothing has happened. So there is no comparison in NYC and pak.

I am really perplexed by this statement; do you mind elaborating?

Someone pinch me please. I must be dreaming!

Our rapes, their rapes, NYC girls dont care about being violated, Islam comes out winner yet again, Dr. Shazia wanted to immigrate hence she created the whole drama!

You guys must be out of your friggin minds. Have some sharam. You are talking about violation of helpless women here. Where does proving that "my country and my religion is better than all the others" come in here? And since when have we learnt to start casting aspersions on people who have been wronged?

drops dead on the floor

SCRATCH!!!!!!!!!!!!

Scratch stop preaching dude. Don’t tell us to have sharam we have sharam already.

I was just bringing in a different point of view. I ended my post with Only God knows the truth. I never said what I said is the truth did I? :rolleyes:

As for what BM was saying, there IS indeed a difference between Pak and Amreeki society. That can’t be debated. Our society at the end of the day IS a more conservative one. Nobody said they don’t care but in Pak such matters are a much much bigger deal. The Amreeki pres would never have interfered in such a case but in Pak Nawaz Sharif when in his regime this happenned interfered and now Mush did. Says a lot.

Irem, you must heard that muhavara "kuttay ki dumm ... right? You can be excused.

Irem the govt also could have gotten involved because we're dealing with a captain as the possible rapist.

I'm really saddened that you doubt the girl before hearing any evidence yourself. If you want to wait for evidence to come out, then why doubt? Aren't you committing the same folly you accuse your opposition of?

LOL Scratch. Yeah that muhavra talks about you very well. You’re the one who jumped to conclusions and then started telling us to have sharam and accusing us of casting aspersions on people who’ve been wronged.

Has it even been proven if Dr Shazia has indeed been wronged? There’s no harm in seeing all sides of the picture. Nobody is going to deny the truth when it comes out. If indeed she has been wronged BM (I’m sure) and I would be the last person to not have sympathy for her.

Please think before accusing us of such behavior next time :rolleyes:

Yaar PCG thats not the point. If you notice, I had said in my earlier post “Khayr, in case she really was a victim, I shouldn’t take my doubting of her too far.”

So, I have been keeping an open mind from BOTH sides. From her’s as well as the other side. B/c this whole incident happenned at a time of great political turmoil in Balochistan and it very well could have been played out for very different motives.