Cricketnama has become a cemetery !!

Time was when there was so much action going on here esp around major Cricket tournaments. So much energy, passion, diversity and involvement in the discussions here.

These days, however, it seems like somebody has imposed a curfew in this section. Barring a few newbies who lurk around and post juvenile comments for the most part, there isn’t much going on here. In fact, for some of the games, nobody even bothers to create a thread any more.

So, whatever happened to this section of GS. This is not a recent phenomeneon…or specific to Asia Cup…or even to the current state of Pakistani Cricket…I have been noticing this “quietening down” of Cricketnama for the past 6-8 months.

Cricketnama is the only reason , I keep coming back to GS…but looks like that is not gonna be the case for very long.

So, anyways, why don’t folks like Captain1, skhan, Saby, Ehsan, fkhan2, Phoenixdesi, the_game, decent6chora etc post as regularly any more…

Cricketnama is dead…long live Cricketnama.

Re: Cricketnama has become a cemetery !!

Seriously i did not appreciate this thread of yours.

So you are saying that these newbies should not be here? Why do you people always forget that you people were newbies also before. Isnt cadet a newbie? Isnt he a moderator right now? You should thank us newbies who still love this Pakistani team and also the forum and we do come back to the forum. I was a silent reader of this forum from two years now, occasionally posting here. You think I do not have a right to post here? Only those people that you mentioned should post there? As if you guys are some professionals in the first place. At least we are giving some juvenile comments and it is us some newbies in your opinion which is keeping this beloved forum of yours from dying. So I suggest to you that next time you think before you blurt stuff out.

I would love to read from other senior members as well .... :)

*Aisha, throw your handbags somewhere else. This forum isn't for kiddies.

Some1 my friend, do you want to know the reason? Do you really? It's Malik. It's all his fault. Seriously. *

game sir, I did notice your presence in another forum....

Talking about Malik, I did see a plethora of blistering threads attacking Malik's captaincy after today's game. In my opinion, Malik comes across as a modest, calm and a low-key person and is obviously a useful player.....it is just that he does not possess a "leadership" personality (that is normal, many people don't, including me)....he should not have been made Captain. People should not be so irate with Malik but against those who appointed him Captain. Malik did not ask for Captaincy, it was thrust upon him really.

Man-2-man, I still think Pakistan is a formidable side....it only needs a good "conductor" to "orchestrate" it (make it 'gel' together).

But I digress from the topic....

Yes, even on the other forum, I've been bashing Malik left and right! The guy is making me hate Pakistani cricket. And his bunch of cronies (Rao, Akmal, etc) make it unbearable for me to watch my team play. Seriously, we are going in the opposite direction to Indian cricket; I remember the time when India only introduced bowlers like Prasad, Mohanty, Kuruvilla, and we had Wasim, Waqar and Akhtar in our ranks. India took a different approach and look at the battery of pace bowlers they have now; we have Rao to show for all our brilliant selection in the past few years. It's f'ing frustrating and it saddens me a lot.

Have you forgotten about the new jokers produced by the Pakistan production line i.e. Wahab Riaz, Fawad Alam?

Sub Ghamoon sai bara hai ghum, ghum-e-roozgaar and then there is Malik (as game has already mentioned)

The lack of participation by regular/senior members has a lot to do with the current state of Pakistani team/PCB. Many of us are sick and tired of PCB and how the team is being run. Some issues that come to mind are lack of leadership (Malik), and lack of backup players.

There are tons of talented players in Pakistan but they are unable to find a place in the team because of incompetent PCB selectors. We have no backup batsmen/bowler in case a player gets injured despite PCB's claims. Many of us are simply heart broken...

The idea of this thread is not to attack anyone but to bring home the harsh reality that cricketnama is no longer as interesting or entertaining as it used to be.

Try and understand what Some1 is really saying here. It is not about newbie or oldie but about involvement in discussions and posting something interesting, you know something new and original rather than just copying and pasting from webs (I appreciate they can be very interesting and informative sometimes) all the time or just turning up on match days and posting latest scores! As someone who has been a member for two years and a bit, I know that some posters are clearly more knowledgeable about cricket in special and sports in general than others. To quote an example I recently opened a thread on 'switch-hitting.' Frankly I did not know myself the difference between reverse-sweeping and switch-hitting before I researched the subject. I thought people would appreciate it as it was something new. So it involved going away and reading up on the subject (sports sections of various newspapers and tabloids, web etc.) "Legend of the month series" is another example. I am doing it again next month but it would be nice if someone-else could contribute too in the future. During the time that I have been active here, I have probably contributed as much as if not more than any other guppy to khail khilari.

Some1 is himself a very good poster, one of the best here. I do not know him personally but I have thoroughly enjoyed reading some of his comments since joining GS.

...aur yahan koi sifaarish bhi nahin chal rahee...

Apart from the names Some1 mentioned above I have not seen F&B or Antumul Alona post anything for a long time. Don't see legbreakgoogly, smooth_guy, Faisal bhai or even the game posting much these days either. Even ehsan bhai only really shows up on match days. pidbull, a1kashur, brahmachari, Co0ol Breeze, Rock_Express, HomiD, gravity_kills & let uz chat (the ones that I can remember offhand) are other good posters here. And whatever happened to Yassir and Anil Khan!! The sudden disappearance of a few guppies esp. after the World Cup and Woolmer fiasco in 2007 is very understandable. They have all likely moved on to other more important things in life like family, kids, better, more demanding jobs etc. and probably still browse but don't have as much time to spend on the forums as they used to. At some point in life you have to reset your priorities and move on. Can't just limit yourself to these forums. Besides it is probably necessary to take a break from GS and other cricket forums once in a while and I am going to be doing precisely just that....will browse for sure but will probably read more than write over the next few weeks to months.

Not only has the level of participation been poor recently but also the content and quality of some of the threads. I appreciate some of it has to do with the current sad state of our cricket. As a keen cricket follower I am only too aware that other teams have similarly gone through rough times in the past - England (mid-late 90s), Australia (mid 80s when Kim Hughes was the captain) etc. Even though I like to think of myself more as a cricket fan rather than just PAK cricket fan, it is not easy to motivate yourself to come back to GS when your team is not doing so well.

Apart from Imran Khan and a few others most of the cricketers that I have admired over the years are West Indians and 1 or 2 Indians and Australians. Vivian Richards is the greatest player that I have seen in my lifetime followed by Imran Khan and Sachin Tendulkar. And I was fortunate enough to see Viv at his best in the Reliance World Cup in 1987 (National Stadium, Karachi). That day Viv stroked a masterful 181 against Sri Lanka, an innings full of majestic and breath-taking strokes and no less than 7 bludgeoning sixes.

When the game and I criticised Malik's appointment last year, almost everyone here disageed with us but I am glad to say now that time has proved us right. We have been vindicated by our recent poor results. Malik just does not have it in him to be a good leader. He is too dull. Besides he does not automatically select himself in the test team by merit. Even laid-back figures like Zaheer Abbas and Inzi were better motivators of men.

Cricket will always remain my no. 1 passion in life but barring a serious improvement in our cricket in the short-term (sadly can't see that happening though with the players that we have at the moment) - afterall no one really enjoys discussing defeats day in and day out - and more interesting/absorbing discussions here, I can also see myself gradually drifting away from cricketnama and even other cricket forums for a short while atleast if not for good.

It could also be because the oldies here bore the heck out of the newbies.....not saying that's what happened but could be!

But once Shoaib is banned Pakistanis lost interest in cricket. I am only saying it in half jest. That would have happened in India too when Sachin's star started fading but the Dhoni phenomenon, a couple of unexpected wins and IPL happened to keep interest alive. Then cam the cheerleaders and rest is history (and anatomy)

bhaiiya let me tell you one thing. You have seen junta's love for game. We as Pakistani and or Indians support our team no matter what. Since the retirement of class players after WC03, our team is on decline. A very slow one, but its a decline. The spirit was high during this time, because of colorful India/Pak series that resumed after decade. Now the remaining class is gone after WC07 and we are left with mediocre players. Except for Mohd. Yousuf who has lost his touch in ODI completely. So we have under developing and medicore players mostly. Who will do average jobs in sub-continent and extermely poor abroad ( a new low for Pakistan cricket), before it used to be good at sub-continent and average abroad.

So if you know what happened to Hockey and Squash, where we dominated for quarter century literally, my generation saw glimps of high class hockey (Sami ullah, Hasan Sardar, Hanif Khan etc) and legendary kings of Squash courts (Jahangir and Jansher Khan). My generation still kept our hopes high with the players like Shehbaz Senior, Mansoor Khan and Wasim Feroz, which were good (not mediocre) players but with very little support from rest of the 11. Resulting in mixed results and then later on dead results. No Hockey and Squash are not only dead but people are eating biryani at their chehlum. Hockey burried in Samandari (near Faislabad) where all 11 players come from and Squash is ripped in the middle between two families.

Cricket in Pakistan is on the verge of similar fate. BELIEVE ME. For last 4 years we have not have a world class player. Bowlers come, show brilliance in two series and get injured or exposed. We are playing likes of Akmal and Afridi in national team, who deserve to be at training camp. So the interest in cricket is evaporating very fast. If I call Pakistan and ask once cricket enthusiasts about the current game, they say who has time to see club level players in uniform. People are fed up of PCB as well since Tauqeer Zia, things have gone down the drain only.

So what do you expect from Pakistani fans. Keep an eye on cricket affairs, as how much Dhoni is paid for IPL or Kevin Peiterson has introduced a reverse sixer etc. I don't know how long even the spicy news will keep cricket alive.

For Pakistan cricket is a thing of past glory only. We will be WI for a decade or two to come.
Our kids will keep playing it although soccer is making big inroads in Pakistan. But cricket will not see another Imran Khan, Javed or Wasim Akram any time soon. Days are gone.

Anil Khan !!....well, for an obdurate nationalist like him, I can see why he would be particularly upset by the state of Pakistani Cricket these days (not to mention the batting performance of his idol -- Afridi).

Truth be told though --- there is way too much Cricket going on. I mean the significance of tournaments like the recent Kitply Cup and the current Asia Cup etc have been severely diluted because there is always a "next series/tournament" round the corner. This is so much unlike the 80's and early 90's when fans savoured a tournament win for a long time...and at the same time it took a long time to move on from a defeat (e.g. the last-ball Miandad six).

There is only so much Cricket, fans can follow (and analyze).

Quite true!!.. The main reason is that most of the guppies are pretty much disappointmed and dis hearted by the current state and affairs of Pakistani cricket. We know that every one gets a rough patch, but Pakistani team is on a rough note for quite long now.

We are not playing as a team, but individuals. On a given day, we can win based on the performance of certain player/players.. This situation leads to complete loss of interest in cricket. Not to mention the high quality drama and skills of Malik the Cheater.

For me, whole Pakistan's current situation also adds to the misery. I personally dont feel good most part of the day, by just reading Pakistan's news.

I guess it was seen as comming in back in the days too. remember people raised concerns that too much Indo-Pak cricket will kill the charm of the game? That i think is one of the biggest factor coupled with exit of some good members, T-20 and lack of drama in either of the teams...

Well I cannot speak for anyone else but I have been quite busy sorting out my life lately. And the current loser-ish mentality in Pakistani cricket has also played its part. Wasim Akram recently said that Pakistani team lacks star appeal which used to happen in his days, that used to pull people to stadium just to see them play, even when we were losing. Difference nowadays is that we are losing :) I think we need a player who can perform consistently and in style.

Coming to cricketnama, I really miss posting here and I did post after so many months. I hope to do it regularly now.

Some1, Like you the only thing that is preventing me from cutting off the umbilical cord with gupshup is khl 1 (plus a few old hotties in food corner and life 1 who have almost stopped coming).

But you are right there is not much insightful participation other than an odd thread here and there.

As far as Pakistan cricket is concerned, if you remember I started a thread a while back (circa 2004) where I expressed my frustration over the unprofessional attitude of Pakistani cricketers and administration. I also predicted that the way Australians have transformed the game, Pakistanis won't be able to keep up if they don't change their typical desi tactics asap. Fortunately for India, they have some very sound and visionary entreprenuers at the helm who have instilled the professionalism into Indian players. Some of it has also to do with the amount of money at stake.

Anyway, I am way over and past looking for cricket enjoyment solely from my country of origin. I now enjoy cricket for the skills displayed be it a West Indian born Australian raised SouthAfrican kicked English national or if it is the little kaaloo Rajhasthan Royals openers who is Kaluwithrana look-alike. Cricket is way bigger than nationality.

I post when there is controversy, just to give a different perspective. Lack of many controversial topics lead to less activity here. Besides India winning against Pakistan isnt any more a rarity.

Do you still hate tendulkar ?

Tendulkar may be a legend for the Indians but frankly speaking he is not an innovator or a legendary contributor to the game. He is no doubt the best Indian batsman ever but what has he done to improve or innovate the game? played an innings to be remembered? If he had played his cricket for say England or Australia he would not be as famous. it's the Indian billion that have made him into an icon.