Agreed....Ganguly and kaif should be shown the door........
To be honest, that was a pathetic display of batting by India, and note to the two indian members here, now dont bring pakistan in now, Ive already observed atleast two pakistani bowlers bowled awfully, and our batsmen need to realize whats going on.
*Originally posted by Spock: *
To be honest, that was a pathetic display of batting by India, and note to the two indian members here, now dont bring pakistan in now, Ive already observed atleast two pakistani bowlers bowled awfully, and our batsmen need to realize whats going on.
who brought pakistan here.... :)
r u alright.......
frankly that was the pathetic batting display by Indians.most importantly everyone read the pitch wrong including curators... but still it was 250-260 wicket but Dutch did very well..they stuck to basic... keep it straight and on stump and dont bowl fast.Let them batsmen do the work.
Very smart bowling.
But i liked this comment by Prem Panicker..
India sealed a 68-run win after looking likely to taste shock defeat -- and pocketed four points. The question is whether that silver lining is sufficient to mask a cloud that seems to hang over the team -- a cloud of uncertainty and confusion that needs dispelling, quick, before Saturday's crucial game against Australia.
On balance, you would say India is in hopeless touch -- but then again (objectivity yields space, here, for some good old-fashioned parochialism) when has India ever been predictable? As a friend pointed out shortly before this game began, "India is perfectly capable of losing to the Dutch, and then smashing Australia out of the park."
The Indians almost managed the first part. In just about 72 hours from now, we will know how well they go towards part two.
The Wicket was alright man..Except for Sachin and may be Rahul - everyone else got out to poor shot. Even Sachin was extra cautious after Ganguly & shewag got out. Dravid should have played straight, but the ball did keep low. Credit must be given to the Dutch bowlers and fielders.
*Originally posted by Asif_k: *
The Wicket was alright man..Except for Sachin and may be Rahul - everyone else got out to poor shot. Even Sachin was extra cautious after Ganguly & shewag got out. Dravid should have played straight, but the ball did keep low. Credit must be given to the Dutch bowlers and fielders.
No it was not alright... Dismissal of Sachin ,Ganguly is a clear example of how slow wicket was.
nobody is taking credit away from Holland.They did exactly the kind of bowling needed on that wicket.Wicket was very slow and stroke play was impossible.What was needed was to build ining with singles and doubles.
Quite honestly, I see a one-sided IND-AUS match on Sunday.
I do not see India getting past 150 whether they are batting first or second. The Indian batsmen are very low on confidence right now(blame it on their performances on the NZ pitches). And also their efforts (or the lack of it) in this match against Holland will continue to hunt them.
The crucial thing is going to be the opening partnership.
If Ganguly opens, you can be rest assured that India will be one wicket down at the blink of the eye and it is going to be all downhill from there.
The story of Indian batting has always been "all or none" i.e. if the going is good you will see even guys like Harbhajan/Kumble chipping in with useful runs. If the innings is in dire straits, you rarely see anyone playing a sheet anchor role and the Indian inning caves in - in no time.
Also like someone mentioned here - India for all its batting strength has a fairly long tail that seldom wags.
I hope I am proved wrong though.
*Originally posted by andha_qanoon: *
No it was not alright... Dismissal of Sachin ,Ganguly is a clear example of how slow wicket was.
nobody is taking credit away from Holland.They did exactly the kind of bowling needed on that wicket.Wicket was very slow and stroke play was impossible.What was needed was to build ining with singles and doubles.
I already said about Sachin's dismissal, but Ganguly's dismissal ?? I was watching the match live and Gangs looked completely out of sorts before finally giving a catch to the WK. Wicket was slow, I agree, but hey look at the fact who was batting - Sachin, 11000 runs, Gangs - 8000, Dravid 5000+ runs against their names. Bowlers were very ordinary and our batsmen were not even able to take singles.
*Originally posted by Asif_k: *
I already said about Sachin's dismissal, but Ganguly's dismissal ?? I was watching the match live and Gangs looked completely out of sorts before finally giving a catch to the WK. Wicket was slow, I agree, but hey look at the fact who was batting - Sachin, 11000 runs, Gangs - 8000, Dravid 5000+ runs against their names. Bowlers were very ordinary and our batsmen were not even able to take singles.
As I already said in my previous posts that yes indian batted poorly and yes wicket was slow.Which means wicket was not as good as it was made oput before the match started.It was not a 300+ wicket but yes it was 250 type and that is where indian fail short by 50 runs.
My grandma could have batted well on this wicket.Batsmen needed to react very slow and late.
SOME1,
talking about AUS match,.we all know that the result will be.Infect result will be same against ENg and PAK also.. ;) ;)
so stay tuned......!!!!!!!!
My grandma could have batted well on this wicket.
Really !! Does the Indian selection board know about your Grandma :)
*Originally posted by Some1: *
Really !! Does the Indian selection board know about your Grandma :)
No....thats the problem man............ !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Abey Andha_Qanoon... office mein kaam-waam nahin hai...
Nahi Guru...........
tera kya haal hai?
Man the Indian batsman should be ashamed, that was horrible batting, if they can score 200 odd runs against Holland, imagine how bad it will be against Australia.
I thought Pakistan had a bad batting lineup, team with stars like Tendulkar and Dravid still couldn't score 250+ against Holland, that is very shameful.
I hope people don't comeup with excuses that it was the pitch like New Zeland, since we have already seen high scoring matches in the WC.
Woh gaana suna hoga, taira jaadoo chul gaya...
lagta hay ehsan bhai kaa jhaaRRoo chul gaya..saari posts delete ker deeN (maira itni mehnat wala song bhi) :(
Prem Panicker writes about India - Holland match,
"The curator at Boland Park, meanwhile, told my colleague Ashish Magotra that the Dutch bowling was so inept he foresaw the Indian batting lineup piling up a mammoth total, even perhaps topping the 400-mark and setting a record.
"I myself have been hitting these guys (the Dutch bowlers) for 15, 16 an over in practice," the curator told Ashish."
Fungus,
I think everyone here agrees that Indians batted pathetically against the Dutch, so what exactly are you trying to prove again and again with such posts...
BTW, the groundsman have been proved wrong many times in the past... for example recently in NZ the pitch curator before one game said that he had created a perfect batting pitch but both sides crashed for around 100 totals on what turned out to be a graveyard of a pitch.
Having said that do not assume that I am blaming the pitch for India's batting display in the IND-HOLL match.
here'z full score card
ODI # 1948
ICC World Cup, 2002/03, 7th Match
India v Netherlands, Pool A
Boland Bank Park, Paarl
12 February 2003 (50-over match)
Result: India won by 68 runs
Toss: India
Umpires: DJ Harper (Aus) and P Willey (Eng)
TV Umpire: Nadeem Ghauri (Pak)
Match Referee: DT Lindsay
ODI Debut: J Smits (NL).
Man of the Match: TBM de Leede
India innings (50 overs maximum) R M B 4 6
*SC Ganguly c Smits b Lefebvre 8 39 32 0 0
SR Tendulkar c Smits b de Leede 52 91 72 7 0
V Sehwag c Zuiderent b Kloppenburg 6 15 9 1 0
+R Dravid b de Leede 17 45 38 0 0
Yuvraj Singh c & b Adeel Raja 37 87 56 3 0
M Kaif c Lefebvre b Adeel Raja 9 25 21 0 0
D Mongia run out (Kloppenburg/de Leede) 42 78 49 2 0
Harbhajan Singh b de Leede 13 12 8 0 1
A Kumble run out (Scholte/de Leede) 9 9 7 0 0
Z Khan lbw b de Leede 0 5 2 0 0
J Srinath not out 0 1 0 0 0
Extras (lb 2, w 8, nb 1) 11
Total (all out, 48.5 overs, 206 mins) 204
FoW: 1-30 (Ganguly, 11.5 ov), 2-56 (Sehwag, 14.6 ov),
3-81 (Tendulkar, 23.3 ov), 4-91 (Dravid, 25.6 ov),
5-114 (Kaif, 31.5 ov), 6-169 (Yuvraj Singh, 43.5 ov),
7-186 (Harbhajan Singh, 46.2 ov), 8-203 (Kumble, 48.2 ov),
9-204 (Mongia, 48.4 ov), 10-204 (Khan, 48.5 ov).
Bowling O M R W
Schiferli 10 2 49 0
Lefebvre 9 1 27 1 (2w)
de Leede 9.5 0 35 4 (2w)
Kloppenburg 10 0 40 1 (1nb, 3w)
Adeel Raja 9 0 47 2
van Troost 1 0 4 0
Netherlands innings (target: 205 runs from 50 overs) R M B 4 6
JF Kloppenburg c Sehwag b Srinath 0 2 4 0 0
DLS van Bunge b Srinath 62 192 116 5 0
HJC Mol c Dravid b Srinath 2 38 30 0 0
B Zuiderent c Sehwag b Khan 0 7 6 0 0
TBM de Leede c Dravid b Harbhajan Singh 0 17 9 0 0
LP van Troost c Dravid b Kumble 1 10 10 0 0
RH Scholte lbw b Kumble 1 5 5 0 0
*RP Lefebvre lbw b Kumble 3 14 14 0 0
E Schiferli c Mongia b Kumble 13 28 21 2 0
+J Smits c Sehwag b Srinath 26 76 66 0 0
Adeel Raja not out 0 12 10 0 0
Extras (b 2, lb 6, w 18, nb 2) 28
Total (all out, 48.1 overs, 204 mins) 136
FoW: 1-0 (Kloppenburg, 0.4 ov), 2-29 (Mol, 8.2 ov),
3-31 (Zuiderent, 9.4 ov), 4-38 (de Leede, 12.6 ov),
5-42 (van Troost, 15.5 ov), 6-44 (Scholte, 17.1 ov),
7-54 (Lefebvre, 21.3 ov), 8-82 (Schiferli, 27.5 ov),
9-131 (van Bunge, 44.4 ov), 10-136 (Smits, 48.1 ov).
Bowling O M R W
Srinath 9.1 1 30 4 (1nb, 1w)
Khan 8 1 17 1 (9w)
Harbhajan Singh 10 1 20 1
Kumble 10 1 32 4 (1nb, 1w)
Ganguly 4 0 14 0 (2w)
Tendulkar 4 0 9 0
Sehwag 3 0 6 0
Abay jaan lewas, zakham pay namak kyo charak rahay hoa.
Fungus,
I think everyone here agrees that Indians batted pathetically against the Dutch, so what exactly are you trying to prove again and again with such posts...
BTW, the groundsman have been proved wrong many times in the past... for example recently in NZ the pitch curator before one game said that he had created a perfect batting pitch but both sides crashed for around 100 totals on what turned out to be a graveyard of a pitch.
Having said that do not assume that I am blaming the pitch for India's batting display in the IND-HOLL match.
Basically to keep reminding of kinds like u. ;)
who brought pakistan here.... :)
r u alright.......
You seriously need to work on your english. Read what I said again. I said, you (and ur twin) will probably lash out at me when I say India batted pathetically by quoting Pakistan's performance; I merely said I was well aware of Pakistan's performance, so no need to mention it. Whenever someone criticizes India on this forum, you are the ones who drag the Pakistani team into it.