Cricket World Cup 2003---> Pool A

*Originally posted by Spock: *

You seriously need to work on your english. Read what I said again. I said, you (and ur twin) will probably lash out at me when I say India batted pathetically by quoting Pakistan's performance; I merely said I was well aware of Pakistan's performance, so no need to mention it. Whenever someone criticizes India on this forum, you are the ones who drag the Pakistani team into it.

Hummmmmm....not always....depends on person who criticizes because I know few of them pretty well here ;)

AQ, what do u think of me? ;)

*Originally posted by andha_qanoon: *

Hummmmmm....not always....depends on person who criticizes because I know few of them pretty well here ;)

Yeah, I guess you do. Your twin has been keeping files on me.

*Originally posted by funguy: *
AQ, what do u think of me? ;)

You are nice reasonable person. :)

AQ ji what do you think about me! :hehe:

A Moron. :wink:
And I know feeling is mutual.

kharboozay ko dekh ke kharbooza rang pakarta hai :hehe: kharbooza

Why do you people resort to personal attacks? Lets discuss cricket, plz.

Sri Lanka just finished off Bengladesh with 10 wickets win in 21 overs. This is what I was expecting India vs Holland i.e. India in full control of the game. It was sad to see India struggling against a minnow. I hope Pakistan doesn't do this way against Namibia.

India’s been struggling since NZ tour. But last game was just…:rolleyes:

Points System in World Cup '03

England didn’t play vs Zimbabwe yesterday, but today the points table shows Zimbabwe having only 4 points. If it was a “no result” Zimbabwe should have 6 points. Is it because the points table has not been updated at Cricinfo.com or is it because they have been denied any points?

Re: Points System in World Cup '03

They havent yet decided about that match.Whether it will be played or point should be given to Zimbabwe.

*Originally posted by Changez_like: *
Sri Lanka just finished off Bengladesh with 10 wickets win in 21 overs. This is what I was expecting India vs Holland i.e. India in full control of the game. It was sad to see India struggling against a minnow.

Arey Ehsan Bhaiya... if you want to delete , delete my whole comment. Dont retain a statement while removing the context... it is like putting words in my mouth... I dont think its right for moderators to do that...

The zimbabwe point crap is just a waste of time since there is no way the cry babies england are going to play in zimbabwe....which is the main condition of even a delayed game. They should just deduct englands points and move on.

India’s batting the key at SuperSport Park](http://uk.cricinfo.com/link_to_database/ARCHIVE/CRICKET_NEWS/2003/FEB/140104_WC2003_14FEB2003.html)

If it were not for the nature of the teams involved, Saturday’s Pool A match would already be written off as a no-contest, SuperSport Park, Centurion, would be half-filled at best, and journalists would be tempted to use agency reports in place of meticulously written previews.

But memories are still fresh of one particular series - also written off as a no-contest - between Australia and India in which the latter bounced back from one Test down to deny their rivals the series win that would have been the ultimate prize for a team with a cabinet already stuffed to bursting with silverware. To boot, Australia are hardly as potent in one-day cricket as in the longer version, India are more likely to play out of their skins in a World Cup game, and as the television pundits don’t miss any chance of informing us, anything can happen in one-day cricket.

Even, it appeared for a brief period on Wednesday, a defeat of India by the Netherlands, and that performance must still be preying on John Wright’s mind. India’s prime intent, after a tour of New Zealand that must have left deep psychological scars on the batsmen, would have been to get big runs against Holland’s bowling - gather up Dutch courage, so to speak, before they padded up against McGrath and Co.

Instead, India mustered only 204, and only Javagal Srinath and Anil Kumble - experienced bowlers, almost mechanical in demolishing the Netherlands’ batting - prevented the first Goliath-slaying incident of the 2003 World Cup. But the subsequent victory would hardly have allayed the jitters that Indian fans felt as they saw the wicket-to-wicket seam-up military medium-pace of Tim de Leede knock over stalwarts like Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid.

The Indian captain, for one, recognises the endemic weaknesses riddling the batting, and Sourav Ganguly will depend even more on his bowlers against Australia. “We have to play to our strengths, and we have two high-quality spinners in Harbhajan (Singh) and (Anil) Kumble,” he said on Thursday. “We have to make the best possible use of them.”

That remark is perhaps a pointer to India also playing an unchanged team at Centurion, and indeed after Wednesday, Ganguly could only feel that they need the seventh batsman more than the fifth front-line bowler. It is also a foregone conclusion that Dravid will don the wicket-keeping gloves yet again.

Australia, however, are targetting primarily one of those seven batsmen, one who has enjoyed immense one-day success against them. “We haven’t played against him for a while, but every time we have played against him he’s done extremely well, he’s played brilliantly,” said Australian captain Ricky Ponting. “We’ve had lots of plans and different things we’ve tried against him, and none of them have really worked.”

Ponting regarded Tendulkar’s recent poor form - the 52 against the Netherlands notwithstanding - as ominous rather than promising. “I would rather have him score a lot of runs coming into the game against us,” he said. “He seems to save his best for us!” With Ganguly confirming that Tendulkar would continue to open, the first few overs of the Indian innings may just be the most explosive.

Tendulkar himself may rue the fact that a dear opponent will not be trundling in to bowl at SuperSport Park. The absence of Shane Warne, an immense source of relief to most teams, will impact India to a lesser extent; their success against the leg-spinner may have actually given them an edge, although the presence of Brad Hogg as sole spinner will not exactly set them quivering in their boots either.

The Indians will be encouraged by SuperSport Park’s tradition of encouraging big strokes and big totals. Only two scores of below 150 have been registered in 15 games, and the ball comes on well to the bat - a fact that strokemakers like Virender Sehwag and Sachin Tendulkar will undoubtedly relish.

But the track also offers assistance to bowlers willing to bend their back, and few are as willing as Glenn McGrath, Jason Gillespie and Brett Lee. In the final analysis, it will be India’s display against Australia’s pacemen that will either let them down or - in a more optimistic scenario - convince a billion backers of their unalloyed potential.

So who do you think will win. I think it will be a close match provided India's batting performs upto its potential.

I think AUS have too much arsenal for indians.India can only win because of some individual brilliance and ..most likely person to do it will be either Sachin or Sehwag.

Indians might include Bangar today in place of either Kaif or Mongia simply because Indian dont wana introduce spinners in first 15 overs.This will be a big decision knowing limitations that Bangar has.But he did good against Windies.Another big decision Ganguly has to take is who will open.I personally feel Sehwag and Ganguly should open and Sachin should be at number 3.

Aussies will bring in Lehman and Bevan in place of Jimmy Maher and Harvey.That will strengthen their team a lot ,which already is too good for indians.But I think they are week in bowling department and which was exposed by Laf and Akram in last match.They are short of bowlers after Gillespi,Macgrath and Lee.20 Overs will be shared between Hogg,Bevan,Lehman and Symonds and that can be exploited.They will miss Warne.

Success of Turbanator against Aussies will also be at the back of their mind specially ponting who didnt have clue about his bowling when he was in India. Was never able to play more than 10 bowls from him.

lets see what happens...Exciting match on card if any 2 of Sehwag,Saurav,Sachin and Dravid perform.Otherwise one sided thrashing of India very much similar to what happened to Pakistan in last match.

Andha, I think your analysis is very right.
But didn't Ganguly confirm that Tendulkar will open against the Australians because of his good success against them?

If India chase, it will be a good game to watch. I just hope the game doesn't turn into a solo effort.. damn do i hate those games.

*Originally posted by Peoples Champ: *
Andha, I think your analysis is very right.
But didn't Ganguly confirm that Tendulkar will open against the Australians because of his good success against them?

I hope someone asks him.... If sachin success against Aus is such an Important conideration then let ganguly himself come in middle order and let Sehwag and Sachin open the batting.

MY HEAD SAYS :
Indian batsmen are at the bottom as regards self-confidence which is not the best situation to go into a match against an opposition that has a bowling attack as good as Australia's.

Australia will give India a sound beating. As for Sehwag, he has lot of technical flaws.. McGrath will probably get him in his first over.

ME HEART SAYS :
India will win !!

Look for India to get bowled out for about 100, whether they bat first or second.

Look for Australia to score 300+ if they bat first, or finish the match in 18 or so overs if they bat second (chasing 100).