Cricket World Cup 2003 - Final Squads

Check the stats why they include SALEEM ELAHi for ODIs
SALEEM ELAHI ODIs record in RSA
He is the leading run getter in recent ODI series in RSA.

cause of Saeed inclusion the Opening pair is more experience

My Playing Eleven will be

1)Saeed
2)Elahi/Taufeeq
3)Afridi/Azhar
4)YOYO
5)Inzi
6)Younis
7)Razzaq
8)Rashid
9)wasim
10)Waqar
11)Shoaib/Saqi

Where is Imran Nazir???
Hamaare mulk mein bande ko khilaa ke zara acha karte hein aur jab woh ek baar out of form ho jaaye to hamesha keliye ghaaib ho jaata hai.....I don't think any of these Taufeeq..Saleem Elahi are better than him....He had great shots...

*Originally posted by Spitfire: *
Where is Imran Nazir???
Hamaare mulk mein bande ko khilaa ke zara acha karte hein aur jab woh ek baar out of form ho jaaye to hamesha keliye ghaaib ho jaata hai.....I don't think any of these Taufeeq..Saleem Elahi are better than him....He had great shots...

He was also very inconsistent though, plus we have four openers already in the squad, Saeed, Elahi, Taufeeq and Afridi.

Saeed is in a class of its own, whether he will be able to perform in this world cup is another matter.

Elahi has been the leading run getter in SA during the ODI.

Taufeeq can double up as a wicket keeper.

Afridi is a very useful bowler as well.

Therefore no place for Imran Nazir.

Gosh Where on earth is Imran Nazir..
N who is that Taufeeq guy ?
Salem Elahi gosh that dumb punk is back in the team
Azhar.. for god sake guy is injured plus he can’t bowl..
Mohamad Sami.. uff even i can bowl better then him
Damnn on excluding imran..
N shahbax Salem Elahi is not a player man
he can’t play his strokes all over.
all he got is cover drive.. thats about it

*Originally posted by superglue: *

Gosh Where on earth is Imran Nazir..
N who is that Taufeeq guy ?
Salem Elahi gosh that dumb punk is back in the team
Azhar.. for god sake guy is injured plus he can't bowl..
Mohamad Sami.. uff even i can bowl better then him
Damnn on excluding imran..
N shahbax Salem Elahi is not a player man
he can't play his strokes all over.
all he got is cover drive.. thats about it

yeah if Saleem has the only cover drive how can he is the leading Run geter..
if he is not selected then there will be big noice in media abt it..

I guess Taufeeq got the nod of selctors after they way he handled the bounce and pace in two well played innings of 39 each ion the first test. But i doubt he will get a match in WC. unless someone gets injured or patheticly out of form.

Its sad that Faisal Iqbal couldnt make the squad. BUt frankly enough, he didnt do enough in the test to justify his place. But including him instead of Taufeeq wasntr a bad choice either.

And i m sure they chose Azhar becuase his style of bowling can be effective in SA. He doesnt pitch the ball up often like our other bowlers do and bowl slightly back of length. IF he is fit, can play a part.

And though Kamran Akmal can feel agreived of not being selcted. I think its fair to him. Imagine him playing in front of a noisy croud in india-pakistan encounter on march 1st. Only a seasoned performer can do the job there, And thats where Rashid or Moin can be handy. And insha’allah Rashid will do great.

Go Pakis Go :jhanda:

aaaa .. Pakistan squad k chakker meen neend bhee nahee ayee sahee say. Over all a good squad. Good to see Saeed Uncle back. Best of luck following will be my playing eleven for first match against Auss

• Saeed Anwar
  • Salim Elahi
  • Yousuf Youhana
  • Inzemam Ul Haq
  • Younus Khan
  • Abdul Razzaq
  • Azher Mahmood or Saqlain Mushtaq
  • Rashid Latif
  • Wasim Akram
  • Waqar Younus
  • Shoaib Akhter

Finally PCB made a good decision. I think the team look good the only complain I have is not including M. Zahid. I was looking forward to the bowling attack which looks good and I hope Waseem makes his 500 wicket in ODI during one of the WC match. Batting pretty much is the same you can’t really say anything about the batting line BUT the good thing is Saeed is there :k:. Goodluck to PAK

:jhanda:

For the first time in a long time, I am feeling totally satisfied with Pakistan team. Thank God, they recalled Saeed and kept faith with experienced players.

As long as Shoaib keeps fit throughout and bowls to his potential and Waqar doesn’t make too many selection mistakes or batting order mistakes, this is THE team to win the World Cup! :k:

Good Job by PCB after a long time.I think this is the best vailable team right now.

Pathetic selection! Pathetic Pathetic Pathetic.

Check out the report I posted from a Dawn newspaper. It say, Azhar Mehmood ain’t gonna be available in the World Cup. Despite of his shoulder injury, he got selected?

I’d have preferred Muhammad Zahid and Faisal Iqbal instead of Salim Elahi and Taufeeq Umer. We should have at least one extra fast bowler on the bench. What if Shoaib/Akram got themselves hurt again?

Plus, no second Wicket keeper. Who’s gonna take charge of wicket-keeping if God forbid, Rashid hurts himself again?

All I can say is : Pathetic Selection of PCB!

if they pick azhar rather than sqlain so there’z no spiner:rotfl:
we must have either afridi or sqlain in every match

PT yara relax. If anyone gets injured, PCB has a right to change them immediately. WC committe has allowed that. Apart from India, no other team has named 2 WC and india did so understandably as Dravid is not a keeper as such.

Faisal iqbal’s exclusion is a bit disappointing but i m sure had he scored some runs in first test, he would defiently have been there. And Azhar mahmood has been picked after asking his doctor Dale Nyer. He will be fit by then, he will start bowling by 15th etc etc. Relax, if anyone gets hurt, they can bring platers in immediately. So save your brain cells bro :hug: We will do great insha’allah :jhanda:

*Originally posted by Jaan Lewaa: *

we must have either afridi or sqlain in every match

thats right, one spinner atleast is a must. I would prefer Afridi.

Don’t defend your claim by giving examples of India or any other thrid country.

Plus, no Moin Khan? Man, you are kidding me? Aren’t you? Who’s gonna be our Wicket-Keeper then if Rashid got himself hurt? Answer that dear.

Oh yeah now as Umer and Elahi made history in Test cricket of Pakistan.

Hug and Jhanda ain’t gonna work out for World Cup. I’ve been saying this and said it many times, experience players we need if we are up to win the World Cup. Muhammad Zahid bowled well in a side match. He wasn’t included in the Test and now World Cup squad. Pakistan should have at least 2 extra fast bowlers on the bench i.e Sami and Zahid if Akram/Akhtar/Younis are playing in a match.

All I can say is Pathetic Pathetic Pathetic decision ever made by PCB. I ain’t got much hope, seriously.

I don’t see a source where it says Azhar Mehmood going to be fit for World Cup. Can you show the source?

*Originally posted by Pakistani Tiger: *

Plus, no Moin Khan? Man, you are kidding me? Aren't you? Who's gonna be our Wicket-Keeper then if Rashid got himself hurt? Answer that dear.

Well if Rashid is unfiot God Forbid, Moin can be called in anytime. thats how WC committe allowed replacements in case of injuries

About that Azhar mahmood source, i will let you the link to The news date on which i read it. Dont worry :)

Originally posted by saby: *
Well if Rashid is unfiot God Forbid, Moin can be called in anytime. **thats how WC committe allowed replacements in case of injuries

WOW,

Shouldn't this decision be a no 1 of 2002 by PCB? We can't include an extra wicket-keeper and fast bowler in the squad. All we gotta is to just give a call.

About that Azhar mahmood source, i will let you the link to The news date on which i read it. Dont worry :)

Forget The News. Read Dawn article that I posted.

*Originally posted by Pakistani Tiger: *

WOW,

Shouldn't this decision be a no 1 of 2002 by PCB? We can't include an extra wicket-keeper and fast bowler in the squad. All we gotta is to just give a call.

Forget The News. Read Dawn article that I posted.

I have read it. I m just saying what i heard PCB cheif saying on GEO TV and also read in newspaper.

Though no comparision between warne and Azhar. But thats how Aussies wil name warne in their side. If he doesnt get fit in time, they will bring any other player in. And thats why England picked Andy Flintoff.

Look i m not saying that they did the best thing by including Azhar, But he brings more balance in the team and has a good record in SA. If he doesnt obtain match fitness in time, ofcourse they can bring in Zahid. And to be honest If Zahid is gonna go to SA just to sit on benches then whats the use. The only person i think who will continuously sit on benches is Taufiq Umar. Everyone else will play in atleast one match here and there.

About picking Rashid only, well had they picked Moin as well, they would have wasted a place. And they can always give any player a call in case of inuries. Thats how WC rules are made. You mean to say, they should have covered for Shoaib/Akram using Zahid? Well wohi baat naa, they wil name stand byes i m sure, in Moin, Zahid and Faisal.

P.S I would also have preferred Faisal over Elahi but whatelse can we do, Faisal was unlucky eough to be run out in 2 out of 4 innings he played in SA.

saby,

If you say this is the best selection of Pakistan's Squad by PCB(As you said in your first post ) then you are dead wrong.

Azhar Mehmood ain't fit at all, he got selected. Muhammad Zahid physically, mentally fit, and isn't elected. How could anyone defend this moronic decision of PCB?

Pathetic fools PCB!

Originally posted by Pakistani Tiger: *
**saby,

If you say this is the best selection of Pakistan's Squad by PCB(As you said in your first post ) then you are dead wrong.

Azhar Mehmood ain't fit at all, he got selected. Muhammad Zahid physically, mentally fit, and isn't elected. How could anyone defend this moronic decision of PCB?

Pathetic fools PCB!

well if Azhar is not fit in due time, ofcourse they wont risk in WC. Zahid wil be on standby and will be aksed to play coninuosly and he will try harder keeping in mind that he can be asked in the squad anytime

P.S i didnt say its the best squad. f i did, point it out, i will accept and rephrase it. I said apart from one or two disappointments, its a very good squad.