Damn,
Steve Waugh ain’t gonna be on World Cup squad either.
…and the surprises began before World Cup.
World Cup is gonna be exciting.
Damn,
Steve Waugh ain’t gonna be on World Cup squad either.
…and the surprises began before World Cup.
World Cup is gonna be exciting.
PT, your final 15 look pretty close to what I think the PCB will announce. But I think Kamran Akmal will be included for Moin Khan. Also, the stupid Elahi is sure to be picked for the final 15 as he done some magic on PCB's eyes, and to include him, the PCB will moste likely not include Mohammad Zahid or Faisal Iqbal, but probably it will be the Mohammad Zahid who will lose his place to the Dumb A$$ Elahi. One thing is for sure, if Pakistan is to have any chance to win the World Cup, they need to have Saeed Anwar.
*Originally posted by Pakistani Tiger: *
[list=1]
Pakistani Tiger's Choice for World Cup Squad
[li]Saeed Anwar.
[/li][li]Shahid Afridi.
[/li][li]Yousuf Youhana.
[/li][li]Inzamam-ul-Haq.
[/li][li]Younis Khan.
[/li][li]Azhar Mehmood.
[/li][li]Abdul Razzaq.
[/li][li]Moin Khan.
[/li][li]Wasim Akram.
[/li][li]Waqar Younis.
[/li][li]Shoaib Akhtar.
[/li][li]Muhammad Zahid.
[/li][li]Rashid Latif.
[/li][li]Faisal Iqbal.
[/li][li]Muhammad Sami.
[/li][/list=1]
PT why 2 keepers. Why not have one more batsmen or all rounder instead of 2 keepers ?
*Originally posted by yaasir: *
PT, your final 15 look pretty close to what I think the PCB will announce.
I've got secret contacts, you know. ;)
But I think Kamran Akmal will be included for Moin Khan.
Stupid decision. We need experience player, not youngster. Remember?
Also, the stupid Elahi is sure to be picked for the final 15 as he done some magic on PCB's eyes, and to include him,
Stupid Stupid Stupid.
the PCB will moste likely not include Mohammad Zahid or Faisal Iqbal,
I think both should have to be there in the squad.
but probably it will be the Mohammad Zahid who will lose his place to the Dumb A$$ Elahi.
All I know is that Taufeeq and Elahi ain't gonna give us flying start. We need Saeed and Afridi as openers.
One thing is for sure, if Pakistan is to have any chance to win the World Cup, they need to have Saeed Anwar.
Precisely 101%.
*Originally posted by Nakhrey Wali: *
PT why 2 keepers. Why not have one more batsmen or all rounder instead of 2 keepers ?
agar kisi match mai allah na karay keeper injured ho jata hai tou uss ki jaga koi dusra tou hona chaiyay
*Originally posted by Jaan Lewaa: *
agar kisi match mai allah na karay keeper injured ho jata hai tou uss ki jaga koi dusra tou hona chaiyay
I guess substitution outside the 15 players is allowed dur to injury. m i right ?
*Originally posted by Nakhrey Wali: *
Hmmm.........
Moin is a good batsman, not a great wicket keeper as Rashid is. If one of them got injured, we would have an experince keeper left. Wouldn't we? ;)
NW, you tell me who would you like to replace and include?
Elahi? Taufeeq? Who?
Just tell me.
If rules says that a players can be substitued for a outsider if injured then i will opt to go with Imran Nazir instead of Moin Khan. Moin Khan is out of practice for quite some time now and Imran Nazir is not less of a blaster if he gets going and forget about batsmen your 15 dont have SAQLAIN
. He for sure is needed.
Alright,
I’ll correct myself.
I’ll replace Saqlain for Muhammad Sami as Sami has been very expensive both in Test and ODI.
But Imran Nazir over Moin Khan? No way!
ok good ! everything is good now. See give n take works ok…now send it to press ![]()
Following report is chosing Azhar Mehmood over Elahi :smack:
I’d prefer Muhammad Zahid to replace Azhar Mehmood. Seems like Azhar ain’t gonna be recover for World Cup. ![]()
Surprises Likely in Pakistan’s World Cup 15
KARACHI, Dec 30: **The long awaited suspense over announcement of Pakistan squad for next year’s World Cup in southern Africa will end on Tuesday afternoon when the national selectors unfold the 15-man party in Lahore. **
Chairman of national selection committee Wasim Bari was scheduled to arrive in Lahore on Monday evening to discuss the finalization of the squad with fellow selectors Shafiq Ahmed and Abdur Raqeeb.
The squad will be approved by chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), Lt Gen Tauqir Zia at the board’s council meeting on Tuesday morning before it is made public at a press briefing later in the day.
The task in front of Bari and company is definitely tricky, although most of the squad, who were on duty during the recent one-day series in Zimbabwe and South Africa, pick themselves. But in this country where everything is possible, a few surprises in the final list cannot be ruled out.
After the calamities in the Morocco Cup, the tri-series in Nairobi, the ICC Champions Trophy in Colombo and the 4-1 thrashing against Shaun Pollock’s Proteas, the PCB has already come under a barrage of criticism.
The selectors must keep in mind that the time for whatever experimentations is over and they must ensure the best available team is picked for cricket’s most prized trophy. They are left with no alternative but to include a few players who were not considered for selection despite having strong claims.
**Saeed Anwar, barring a last minute change of mind by the selectors, is almost certain to be recalled for the mega event after being constantly overlooked since the ICC event in September. ** :biggthumb:
The left-handed opening batsman, a veteran of 242 One-day Internationals, was sorely missed in South Africa where his experience would have surely come in handy at the top of the order where time and again Pakistani openers failed to deliver.
**Another ex-captain who is hotly tipped to make a comeback is Moin Khan. According to well-placed sources, Moin, who was dumped after leading Pakistan in New Zealand 20 months ago, is being considered as reserve batsman and the second wicket-keeper behind Rashid Latif. ** :biggthumb:
Moin’s inclusion with 2853 runs in 190 one-dayers is likely to face strong resistance from Waqar Younis because the Pakistan skipper does not feel comfortable with yet another ex-captain coming under his wings with Wasim Akram, Saeed and Rashid already in the squad.
**Azhar Mahmood is certain to miss out because Surrey physio Dale Naylor, has intimated to the PCB that the all-rounder is making a slow recovery from an old shoulder injury that flared up on Zimbabwe tour last month and is unlikely to be fit on time. ** ![]()
Shoaib Akhtar, meanwhile, finally arrived back in Lahore on Monday from Durban after his latest ‘disappearing act’ and is expected to appear tomorrowbefore the PCB panel of doctors who will assess whether the injury-prone speedster has recovered from reportedly sore knees.
**Shoaib was supposed to return on Dec 21 along with Wasim and Rashid after the conclusion of the one-day rubber in South Africa. Tauqir, must have heaved a sigh of relief to have his favourite player back. Any disciplinary action against Shoaib is unlikely because he is supposed to be the key to Pakistan’s remote hopes of repeating their World Cup triumph of 1992. **
This time the selectors must get the balance right otherwise another disappointing campaign is on the cards for Pakistan.
On another front, the PCB is keeping its options open as regards to naming a new manager to replace Brig Khawaja Nasir, who reportedly twice clashed with Waqar during the Zimbabwe tour.
However, in some quarters it is believed that either ex-Test off-spinner Hasib Ahsan or Salim Swaleh, a Karachi-based businessman, are the front-runners to take over from Nasir.
**Likely World Cup squad: Waqar Younis (captain), Inzamam-ul-Haq (vice-captain), Saeed Anwar, Salim Elahi, Yousuf Youhana, Younis Khan, Abdul Razzaq, Rashid Latif, Wasim Akram, Saqlain Mushtaq, Shoaib Akhtar, Shahid Afridi, Mohammad Sami, Moin Khan and Faisal Iqbal. **
English Squad:
England: Nasser Hussain (Captain), James Anderson, Ian Blackwell, Andrew Caddick, Paul Collingwood, Andy Flintoff, Ashley Giles, Steve Harmison, Matthew Hoggard, Ronnie Irani, Nick Knight, Alec Stewart, Marcus Trescothick, Michael Vaughan, Craig White
**Pakistan announces World Cup 2003 squad
The following is the 15-man Pakistan cricket team for the 2003 ICC World Cup to be played in Southern Africa between Feb 9 and March 23:
Chief Selector’s statement
LAHORE: The Chairman of Pakistan cricket selectors Wasim Bari Tuesday unveiled what looks like a formidable Pakistan cricket team for the 2003 World Cup with a conviction that this squad had the capacity, talent and capability to regain the lost glory.
"Of the 15 selected players, 11 have previously played in World Cups. Besides, there are 14 boys who are playing or have played on the recent tour to Africa. The only newcomers to the squad maybe Saeed Anwar and Azshar Mahmood.
**“Saeed has been included because of his rich experience while Azhar Mahmood has an excellent track record in South Africa. Dale Naylor, Surrey’s physiotherapist, has informed us that Azhar would be ready for the tournament,” Wasim Bari said in a press statement. **
Pakistan won the 1992 World Cup while lost in the quarterfinals at Bangalore in 1996. They were the losing finalists to Australia in 1999.
“It (the team) is a combination of youth and experience. In my mind, there is no doubt that this is the team that is capable of excelling in the World Cup despite a recent poor run of form. But I believe form is temporary and class is permanent and there can’t be two opinions that this team has plenty of class, elegance and natural flair,” Bari said.
Bari urged the media and the nation to back the team for the mega event.
“The best possible boys have been picked for the tournament. And my request to all you gentlemen is to back this team because today it requires support, motivation and confidence boosting. Instead of criticizing the individuals that would only dent their confidence, they should be made to realize that they are the ones who can rise to the occasion and win back the title,” Bari said.
**Bari said Shoaib Akhtar has been included in the team after he was given a clean bill of health by the specialists in South Africa. “He has also been cleared by the PCB panel of doctors. A lot of investment has gone into Shoaib for this tournament. Now the onus is on him how he can repay. There is no doubt that he is a match-winner, like few others in the team. We have high hopes in him and can only wish him and the team best best of luck.” **
**On the inclusion of Rashid Latif, Bari said his committee has believed and followed the policy of continuity. "Rashid has now been with the team for almost 18 months now and has been playing well. He has the experience of 1996 World Cup behind him.
“Kamran Akmal has been identified as a future prospect and has time in hand. As regards Moin, he is an excellent batsman/wicketkeeper but then we had to back our instincts and follow our policy of continuity,” Bari said. **
On Wasim Akram, Bari said: “The man will be playing his fifth World Cup and at the age of 36 with 490 wickets in the bag, he is still the most feared bowler in the world.”
Bari said the captain, vice-captain and coach were consulted before the team was finalized. “Ideally, we would have liked to make the team by sitting across the table. But then we had to meet the cut-off date i.e. December 31 and the trio is in South Africa. Nevertheless, they totally agree with the composition of the squad.”
Overall a reasonable squad, 6 batsmen, 3 all rounders, 5 bowlers and a wicketkeeper.
** Good luck to the team** :jhanda:
i wanted to know about two players who I think are good - Misbah Ul Haq and Hasan Raza..what actually happened to them? I did not see them in SA as well
*Originally posted by oursoulsatpeace: *
i wanted to know about two players who I think are good - Misbah Ul Haq and Hasan Raza..what actually happened to them? I did not see them in SA as well
Misbah after doing well in Kenya failed badly in subsequent matches. Hassan Raza is more of a test player than an ODI player. He should have been there for the test matches in SA.
What did I say Pt Bhai, Either Mohammad Zahid or Faisal Iqbal won't be included for the final 15, well it turns out, both of them aren't included. I was surprised to see Taufeeq Umer in the sqaud. I think thats just plain stupidity by the PCB to include him, as he has failed in ODI's. Faisal Iqbal or Imran Nazir would have been MUCH better choices. Good to see Saeed in the squad, but disapointed to see both Elahi and Taufeeq. I think Afridi should have open with Saeed, but with Taufeeq and Elahi in the team, There is no chance of Afridi opening the innings. He will be wasted throughout the World Cup as he will be sent down the order.
*Originally posted by yaasir: *
What did I say Pt Bhai, Either Mohammad Zahid or Faisal Iqbal won't be included for the final 15, well it turns out, both of them aren't included. I was surprised to see Taufeeq Umer in the sqaud. I think thats just plain stupidity by the PCB to include him, as he has failed in ODI's. Faisal Iqbal or Imran Nazir would have been MUCH better choices. Good to see Saeed in the squad, but disapointed to see both Elahi and Taufeeq.
Yaasir bhai, Taufeeq is included as a cover for Rashid as well in case he gets injured then Taufeeq can keep wicket. I think that is the main reason for his inclusion.
*Originally posted by ehsan: *
Yaasir bhai, Taufeeq is included as a cover for Rashid as well in case he gets injured then Taufeeq can keep wicket. I think that is the main reason for his inclusion.
I hope you're right Ehsan Bhai...because I don't think he will do much opening the innings in ODI's.
*Originally posted by oursoulsatpeace: *
I watched Misbah playing....he needs to be in the squad....kaafi zabardast shots hein iske....but again aakhir middle order ka kya karna hai opening chaahiye
Good luck Pakistan :k:
nice combination, only point that can be raised is Taufeeq’a inclusion but i think he is the covber for both Saeed And Rashid. :k: