Cricinfo used to be a very good site. They had pure Cricket related material and wasn’t even half as messed as it is now. All I see now is Indian advertises and other garbage. Even when I’m loading the scorecards or any other article on Cricinfo… first I get bombarded with Indian banking, matrimonial, Cricket, etc. ads then I get to view the material (…and not to forget.. they’ve purposely reduced the speed ). So now it takes almost twice as long to view scorecards and articles. On top, CricShop is loaded with Indian Cricket merchandise.
CricShop’s latest addition: ‘Stars of India - India v Pakistan World Cup 2003’
*sighz… I hope someone else takes charge of Cricinfo soon.
Totally agree with your sentiments, Sadiyah. I've been using cricinfo since it's inception in late 90s. It has ONLY gotten worse after their introduction of annual fee members. The non-paying members like myself have to go thru the torture of pop-ups and extremely slow downloads of pages. I have found alternatives of cricinfo that are much faster. However, cricinfo's live scores and commentary is still the best.
Other sites thats I like to visit are cricketonline and sky.
Instead of Cribbing about Cricinfo’s ads, you should thank them Since it is because of these sponsors Cricinfo is still there and running. It requires a lot of money,effort, manpower and time to manage such a huge site. Muft ka Chandan bhi gheeso aur gaaliyan bhi do. . I think all those ads are Indians bothers you more.
If you really hate all that stuff please find a site which suits you or pay 12 dollars and take their Cricinfo plus membership. 12 Dollars per year mean 1 Dollar Per month for all that info is really cheap.
the site is very slow that's my only complaint. Other wise I don't care abou the ads 'cuz for one i have a pop up stoper and second I don't pay attention to ads that are on the page.
It would have been a different stroy if gupshup started charging or displaying annoying ads. Then it would have been " a damn annoying Pakistani site". All everyone wants is the old cricinfo without all the crap thats on it now. And cricinfo will loose its popularity if things dont improve. Why would anyone want to pay for that crap if you can find it free else where.
Asif_k: It's not just about the Indian ads. I'd be equally as upset even if they had Pakistani (or any other) ads unrelated to Cricket.
So if I pay $12... then guranteed I won't be viewing any of those bothersome ads? If yes, then I'm switching for sure, inshAllah.
Besides, it wasn't till recent times that Cricinfo started to putting up this junk. They didn't seem to need any such ads around WC99 or earlier. I don't mind popups and other ads, so long as they are related to Cricket.
It would have been a different stroy if gupshup started charging or displaying annoying ads. Then it would have been " a damn annoying Pakistani site". All everyone wants is the old cricinfo without all the crap thats on it now. And cricinfo will loose its popularity if things dont improve. Why would anyone want to pay for that crap if you can find it free else where.
I don't mind paying $12 because Cricinfo's the best Cricket website online. The rest aren't even half as good as Cricinfo.
*Originally posted by LahoriMunda: *
You are soooo Intelligent. Comparing Gupshup with CricInfo. Gupshup is just a Chat/Discussion Forum whereas Cricinfo is a place which provides you free information about every match plyaed anywhere in the world. They need resources in every corner of the world to cover those games. They archive every bit of information about each game, player,country etc and that requires a lot of effort and money. People like you are not willing to pay 12 USD per year in short 50 Rs per month but you will certainly come here and crib about how slow it is.
About Cricinfo being a crap - If it is really a crap, then why are you even visiting there, find a site which gives you as much details and information as cricinfo FOR FREE and once you have found the site please dont visit a crap Site like Cricinfo. Cricinfo will survive with or without MUFATCHANDS.
PS :- Try cribbing about Gupshup to Admins - They will promptly tell you to find a site which suits you.
Asif_k, dued, that's wrong with u. u seem to fight over each and every god damn thing that is discussed in here. just because you are here does not mean other people can't say what they want. so chill..
*Originally posted by funguy: *
Asif_k, I think u got it all wrong on this one. Sadiyah stated the facts. It is mostly Indian ads, so thats why she said Indian. Don't be such a DH.
Funguy - perhaps you forgot to read the following :-
**On top, CricShop is loaded with Indian Cricket merchandise.
CricShop's latest addition: 'Stars of India - India v Pakistan World Cup 2003'
Cricinfo sells only Indian merchandise ??? Is it a sin to sell the India-Pakistan Video ??
I didn't get anything wrong, Logon ko Muft ka maal khaane ki aadat si ho gayee hai. As long as Cricinfo was providing free information they were very good, but the moment they put some banners on their site, they become very annoying. Ohh I forgot Just because some muftkhors dont want to pay 50 rs a month Cricinfo shouldn't sell anything and continue to give them free and fast access.
Asif u dont need to defend cricinfo just because its selling some indian stuff. Sadiyah is rite when she says that cricinfio quality is reduced. Its true in such times of increased competition & reduced profits it needs all those sponsors. But it nonetheless is annoying. That and the fact that it has gotten slower has no question lost them quite a few visitors, me including. I now rely more on bbc and wisden.
Instead of Cribbing about Cricinfo's ads, you should thank them Since it is because of these sponsors Cricinfo is still there and running. It requires a lot of money,effort, manpower and time to manage such a huge site. Muft ka Chandan bhi gheeso aur gaaliyan bhi do. . I think all those ads are Indians bothers you more.
Sure does. But it seems focus has shifted to money making. Remember... it is supposed to be a non-for-profit org.
... And no it doesn't matter whether those ads are indians or not. It wouldn't be a bad idea if u can, atleast for a change, come out of ur negative frame of mind. Gd luck on that! :biggthumb