Asif_k I agree with you because its hard to maintian such a big site without sponsors and stuff.
*Originally posted by akpower: * That and the fact that it has gotten slower has no question lost them quite a few visitors, me including. I now rely more on bbc and wisden.
If you already moved to other sites then what are you cribbing about. Be happy in surfing those FAST sites, I wish you best of luck in surfing those sites. Cricinfo has lost visitors ??? You must be dreaming.
Sure does. But it seems focus has shifted to money making. Remember...** it is supposed to be a non-for-profit org**.
??? Where did you read that crap ?? From the Cricinfo website :-
CricInfo is a private company, and has its Head Office in the UK. In 2000, Indian internet services company Satyam Infoway (NASDAQ: SIFY) acquired 25% of the company. The company has operations and employees around the world, with offices in Australia, New Zealand, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, South Africa, Zimbabwe and Bangladesh"
*Originally posted by Asif_k: *
If you already moved to other sites then what are you cribbing about. Be happy in surfing those FAST sites, I wish you best of luck in surfing those sites. Cricinfo has lost visitors ??? You must be dreaming.
i am not "cribbing", but just presenting what i think is rite. As for visitors, yes they have. Many people, in my circle of friends, have switched. This thread also confirms that trend.
??? Where did you read that crap ?? From the Cricinfo website :-
CricInfo is a private company, and has its Head Office in the UK. In 2000, Indian internet services company Satyam Infoway (NASDAQ: SIFY) acquired 25% of the company. The company has operations and employees around the world, with offices in Australia, New Zealand, India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, South Africa, Zimbabwe and Bangladesh"
My mistake. I thought it was still non-profit. Khush ho ja. U were rite (albeit due to my disinformation) for a change.
Funguy - You have no clue about me, whether or not I am a Paid subscriber of cricinfo , is none of your business. At least I am not cribbing like the mufatchands.
Too Bad, you and your pals including the PCB has to live with it. You know that Cricinfo sucks, still you will go to the same site for information.
. Why not do something about it and create a free cricket site for everyone..But I think that will be too much to ask to someone who cant afford 50 rs per month.
Only thing you can do is keep accessing that Free Cricinfo and keep cribbing about the ads on it ![]()
and there we have it, ladies and gentlemen.
*Originally posted by akpower: *
As for visitors, yes they have. Many people, in my circle of friends, have switched. This thread also confirms that trend.
Good for you and your friends who have stopped coming to Cricinfo. I hope you all find a better site and stick to it. Anyways FYI from Cricinfo :-
*GROWING & EXPANDING
At times possibly the busiest single-sport site on the Net, page views have been growing exponentially since the site launched in 1993 (1,100,000 in 1994, 3.5 million in 1995, 30 million in 1996, 105 million in 1997, 240 million in 1998 and 591 million in 1999). CricInfo delivers up to 9 million pages in a single day. Our aim is to continue growing and expanding with wider coverage and an ongoing improvement to services offered. *
*Originally posted by Asif_k: *
*GROWING & EXPANDING
At times possibly the busiest single-sport site on the Net, page views have been growing exponentially since the site launched in 1993 (1,100,000 in 1994, 3.5 million in 1995, 30 million in 1996, 105 million in 1997, 240 million in 1998 and 591 million in 1999). CricInfo delivers up to 9 million pages in a single day. Our aim is to continue growing and expanding with wider coverage and an ongoing improvement to services offered. *
I never said that cricinfo is not expanding. It will expand due to the increased role, in general, of technology and increased internet users throughout the world. The fact, though, still remains that it is losing some audience.
now you have to pay and get a better cricinfo..
thats y they are doin this...
And once again these people turn this into a personal battle. ![]()
Thank you all those who are not going to cricinfo website anymore. Now I can surf it easily being a free surfer. Oh wait a minute I only go there to check upcoming attracktions ;) so I guess for me its still the same.
BTW free ka kuch aur he maza hota hai. Ok how many of you like free stuff hands up plz?
(both hands in the air)
Asif_k: I apologize if I've offended you or anyone else. It's not about $12-15... it's about the speed and the number and the content of the ads on Cricinfo. In fact, it's a very reasonable amount for such a great service. Had I known earlier that by paying $12/year I would be getting advertise free service, I would've surely signed up long time ago.
As for the Indian merchandise at CricShop, that I believe is a problem that needs to be fixed. Not everyone is an Indian Cricket fan. They need to add more variety... more videos and merchandise of other Test playing nations. Really... if you check out the CricShop, you'll notice that majority of the material there is related to the Indian team. Now, I'm not saying that it's something bad, but they at least gotta add equal amount of stuff of other Cricket teams.
Anywho, once again I'd like to apologize for causing a rift on this forum and offending Asif_k and the rest.
Sadiyah, no need to apologize, you said the right thing and it was a bullseye.
I don't understand why should anyone defend a website and oppose other poeple's view just because that website runs (or some portion) on a particular country's ads. If I say that this site sucks no one can make me think otherwise and if I say cricinfo sucks because of indian ads then every indian (though I doubt majority of them have a time) can come try and convince me other wise, then they can try all they want my thoughts and openions stand. So why bother.
Sadiyah - My posts were not directed at you or anyone and I am not offended so there is no need to apologize.
Anyways Was Checking Cricinfo today and here is what they have in features and competition in Offers :-
[Quote]
Rewriting cricket's basic codes - that's Waugh's Australians Report
There'll always be an Australian More | Tour
Hayward wants South African comeback Report
Heartening performance in Sharjah Rashid Latif Letter
Alec Stewart talks about his future Audio
PCB's **World Cup Review: Only half the story? Comment
Appearances record a worthy milestone for **Waugh Report
Wasim Akram: I'll help Hampshire's youngsters Exclusive Interview
Sami explodes with balls of fire Feature
World Cup videos to be released: pre order now CricShop
NEW:** Stars of India*: India v Pakistan 2003 DVD CricShop
Great savings on the 2003 Wisden CricShop
Share your views and win replica shirt CricInfo/BT Survey
New **Sachin Tendulkar* signed mini-bat at CricShop Offer
Win Somerset family membership for 2003 Monthly Quiz
Free trial copy of Wisden Asia Cricket magazine Details
Please see how many times Pakistan/Australia and India Figure in it.
(replying to sadiyah's orginal post)
You're right Sadiyah, cricinfo sucks and it sucks because of indian ads and merchandise on it.
janab ka kiya hal hai? ![]()
Thik hai - Cricinfo sucks, Par aaplog fir bhi aap log woh site surf karenge
PCB will still beg the same cricinfo to host their Site. ![]()
but cricinfo sucks, man. And indian ads are to be blamed. :)