aww bidh is sucha special treat. why dont you try to make it at home :@:
Re: Bidh for shaadi
:p BIDH GIDHHHH KI BHENN :p
you guys are not helping :(
what’s bidh ?? ![]()
bidh is those little packets of nuts, chocolates, supari, ect that are passed out after the nikah is performed. some people use them as wedding favors.
Bidh are the little packets of sweets/dried fruit/nuts distributed by the groom’s side after the nikah.
I helped make bidh for 2 of my cousins’ weddings. Fun at first but can get very boring and repetitive. We included dates, dried figs, pistachios, almonds, wrapped toffee sweets etc.
so since its those nikkah treats, why don't you buy the little sachets and fill them in yourself?
get the sachets either from pakistan or from here...whatever you prefer
i don't really know if you can get the bidh stuff already made from before :@:
i would suggest filling it in yourself with whatever kinds of nuts and chocolates or candies you like
you can get some of the material from Bulk Barn. and you can also check out karachi bazaar for either pre-made Biddh, or the packets of supari if you're assembling it yourself.
well u can prepare it in canada.. buy some almonds, dates, candies n wrap them it some packets.. u can tie a ribbon for dacoration..
heres sumthing easy u can make:
What you need:
Paper doilies (as many packages as needed for # of guests) These are
available in white, gold Victorian print and assorted pkgs. at any
craft supply store; glue gun/glue sticks; Tulle rounds (as many
packages as needed for # of guests); Rice, or bubble bottles
(available at craft stores), or confetti, or mints; Ribbon 1/2" wide (color of choice).
What to do:
1. Roll the doily into a cone shape and glue at center front.
2. Push center of tulle round into bottom of cone.
3. Make small bows from the ribbon and glue on front of cone where you glued the doily into a cone.
4. Fill with you choice of confetti, bubbles, mints, or rice. Note:
If using confetti, bubbles or rice you will need to enclose them in color tissue pockets or tulle pockets before placing them inside the cones.
P.s: if u ca nt understand these items search them in google images n u will know wot these are
MC_Punjab..i dont know about you but i really dont like those little white sugary circular things. no one even eats them!! so dont put them in ur bidh :)
MC Punjab bidh usually contains almonds, dried dates known as chuwaaray, saunf/supari, mishri. If you wish you can get candy coated badaam. A lot of people add little chocolates or candies too. Its totally up to you but badaam and chuwaray are soemthing i have seen in pretty much ever bidh. Just buy whatever you wish to add in bulk. You can buy ready made little organza sacks from arts`and crafts stores. just fill them up and thats it! They usually have a ribbon sewn in to the top edge to tighten. That would be your very basic bidh I think.
BTW congratulations :)
you can get some of the material from Bulk Barn. and you can also check out karachi bazaar for either pre-made Biddh, or the packets of supari if you're assembling it yourself.
yup, i agree with SGC. you could also try going to any desi store, and finding individual packets of the things that you need. might be a little bit cheaper making your own, instead of buying pre-made ones.
if you're having trouble finding what to wrap them in, like femme mentioned, go to any crafts store (walmart's fabric section has lots of choice too) and pick out some material that you could use to make the pouches.
you would however, need a lot of man power if you decide on making them yourself. also depends on how many you wanna make :p
I agree with finding things are bulk barn or desi stores to fill them in. Adding chocolates or candies is nice too, you can get them in big packets. For the actual bidh packaging, I’ve seen little pouches like these below filled. They can be found at craft stores and are not too pricey.
some nice stuff at papermart.com
or just go on ebay and you can find really cheap stuff (I mean the little pouches for bidda)
If ur looking for them in NY, u can go to Earring plaza in midtown, they always have bunch of boxes and stuff
e-bay rocks!
Organza pouches
http://search.ebay.com/search/search.dll?from=R40&_trksid=m37&satitle=wedding+favor+pouches&category0=
just get ready-made pouches and fill them with dry fruit/candy/chowaray. If you have costco membership then get your candy and dryfruit from there, it will be lot cheaper then buying from regular grocery stores.
thanx all for helping me out ...
now wish me luck cuz i've promised my fiance i'll give her the wedding that she wants.
peace out!