Creation from Left over food !

how creative are you with the left overs? Do you have a day of the week dedicated to finish off the left overs ? or do you just throw it all away?

Please share your ideas , tell us , what is left over in your fridge and how you plan to use it , hmara bi bhallah ho jaaye ga :@:

Re: Creation from Left over food !

i try my best and even manage to mk something out of leftover food.. i hate throwing away food.. so far made keema pulao from keema, noodles or spring rolls from leftover mix veggies...nothin else i can remember.. but i know many women who make something totally new out of leftovers.. maybe GS women can suggest.

Keema pulao sounds good Mall :lifey:

I once had alot of chocolate cake left over and due to its butter icing , no one wanted to eat it … so I just mixed it all into crumbles and placed it in the a deep dish .. then i made coffee flavoured whipping cream and decorated the top with it.. the taste was awesome and the cake vanished in seconds !

At the moment i have about 10 naans waiting in the fridge .. what can i make out of them? any tips?

send it over :smiley: ill warm it with butter and sprinkle fine sugar on it and eat:hayaa:

LP :omg: you are so cute..

You can make Naan pizza or put some cooked keema/chicken/veggi and make a roll they are awesome...

Something like this CB..The Custard Apples: Image

I know, some people make a salan type thing from leftover roti, why don’t u make same thing with left over naans… :bummer:

Kinz , that looks like a plan :lifey: I will try it …

Miss adorable , do you mean turn the naans into salan?

Yes what kinz has suggested, i do all the time. Turn the naans into wraps and fill with boneless chicken, salad and your favourite sauce!You can also sprinkle some water on them and then warm them up in a pan with 1 teaspoon oil or butter and eat it with halwa and chanay for sunday brunch!They also freeze well if you cant be bothered to do anything else...:)

Freudian, thanks so much mate, for sharing the thought... I usually freeze the extra naan's .. but this time , the freezer is full to the brim ... things are falling out ! so I have no choice but to eat em all up :@:

Today I mixed some butter, olive oil, mixed herbs and garlic paste together ... spread it on the naan and roasted it on the tawa ... came out perfectly crispy and spicy .. was perfect stuff to enjoy with the evening tea :@:

i had lots of left over roast chicken from a dawat. Made thai rice paper spring rolls by shredding the chicken and mixing with shredded carrot, lettuce, soy sauce, pepper, fish sauce...the type that don't require frying and are quite healthy too! Very refreshing in hot weather.

an edible sculpture for the birds that are unfortunate enough to wander into the backyard gets my thumbs up.

from leftover turkey, we make sandwiches :D leftover daal and gosht makes a good khichRii and pulaao :) and finally, leftover rice makes good kheer :)

daal roti's are awesome. Left over daal used to knead the atta instead of water. Make roti's with this, fried with just lil bit butter, kinda like parattha, and served with yoghurt and mint chutney.

Chef Rahat made daal chawal ka paratha. You can try that from left over daal chawal (agar aap aunty jitna dil gurda rakhte hain to). She finally told that she never uses baasi chawal (unko dekh k to lagta nahi, she is kinda lakkad hazam pathar hazam).

KS09, that sounds just awesome .. inshallah will try that for sure … i must taste great with achar :@:

Muqawweel, you mean mixing daal chawal and then adding flour to it and making a paratha out of it? :hayaa:

CB i cut naan into 4 or 6 pieces and i dip em in besan mixed with salt,red chilli,methi,zeera etc and fry them ,they make perfect snacks for evening tea or a delicious breakfast with some chai.
with leftover chicken or mutton korma/salan i make daal .believe me it tastes so good ,i just add daal to the salan and water n let it cook for a while.
leftover white rice i make chinese egg fried/veggie fried rice.
left over roasted/grilled chiken : i jst shred it into pieces and cook it with a small onion,tomato,half tbsp yogurt and lots of green chillies ,it makes perfet filling for sandwiches or serve it as gyro/chicken chutney with rice.

Wow , those are some really good ideas Rosetta

Though i wanna ask , when you add more stuff to a left over salan .. and make more salan , wont it still go off coz of the first salan ingredients may not remain fresh for that long ...

for left over salan...like a karai type such as chicken, gosht or even a keema aloo, i make a biryani out of it. saute onions, add biryani masala and the left over salan and use that for your base. its really good!

left over tandoori chicken, i sometimes make rolls with naan. otherwise i add them to my salad for lunch.

i just eat left over daal as it.