I am surprised by some wedding stories on this forum and elsewhere about how people “celebrate” weddings by months of preparations and extravagant spending. In some weddings, family members start organizing dholkis and dance parties months in advance.
It’s a scary thought for me to imagine my own wedding like that
I would never want an extravagant wedding for myself even if I have enough money.
And as for celebration, I would like to celebrate with my wife after the wedding
Why do people celebrate weddings in such a way? The way they spend on weddings. Is it because of lack of entertainment their families have?
And is it true that mostly girls desire this extravagance? Or do men also like it?
(Warning: All non-serious/irrelevant replies will be removed )
My philosophy is like yours. I don’t get how people blow the kind of money they do on wedding processions. What kills me is the weddings that never end. An old friend of mine had a 7 day event wedding.
wow, talk about overkill.
By the time we hit the wedding day, everyone was bored and we weren’t even excited anymore. It’s like…YEAH, we KNOW you’re MARRIED now. Now get the heck out of here.
I think more than the couple, the parents have been dreaming of this moment for a lifetime and in desi weddings - mostly desi parents pay for the wedding, most of the invitees are the parent's friends and community.
If the couple was actually paying for the wedding - you would actually see smaller and less extravagent weddings.
I think more than the couple, the parents have been dreaming of this moment for a lifetime and in desi weddings - mostly desi parents pay for the wedding, most of the invitees are the parent's friends and community.
If the couple was actually paying for the wedding - you would actually see smaller and less extravagent weddings.
I prefer a very simple wedding. Our marriage was extremely simple. our Nikah was in Islamabad, and then we applied for her resident permit, etc. Later, she simply joined me abroad, after she got her visa.
And we invited a friend of mine and his wife for dinner here (For our Valima) to fulfill the Sunnah.
1 is OTT and other option seems like someone died :s
Having a simple wedding does not mean you don't celebrate.
You can celebrate without wasting money, without inviting thousands of guest, without getting the most expensive hall booked, and so on.
a simple wedding is fine.. i ment the other extent in which u dont celebrate at all seems dead and weird to me.
celebrating with friends and family at home is also still celebrating ;)
My sister just had a dholki and mayun…we’re going to have her mehndi, shaadi and valima now Inshallah.
The thing is, its not about money during these weddings…at least not in my family. Its more about dhoom dhaam se khushi manana. Its about all of us sisters and mom getting to sing songs, dance and have fun on this joyous moment. I dont think we pour as much money into our parties as we do time in planning a fun program and entertainment. The bride waits her whole life for these moments, she is the center of attention, she feels and looks beautiful…who wouldnt want to enjoy their last single moments with their loved ones desi-style?
Lavish weddings are relative to the people you’re talking about/to also. Someone might have a budget of 5K while someone will have a budget of 40K.