Could you be good/close friends with someone completely different to you?

Re: Could you be good/close friends with someone completely different to you?

Good advice.2 months should be ample time i think. You're right.I do have those memories which cannot be taken away.

I'm sorry that happened to you hun. It's shameful how some treat others without even realizing it, but honestly I wouldn't waste anymore time thinking about her if she's like that. I'm sure there are plenty of great people where you live and you'll be able to find someone who you can connect with. It's also not a bad thing to get to know yourself better. Try to discover things that you enjoy. I had times during my med school years where I had no friends because they were all far away. It was lonely but I also got to know myself better and it wasn't so bad. Feel free to message me if you're ever feeling lonely. :)

You can watch and enjoy Pakistani dramas without her. You can introduce the dramas to your parents without her as a reference. I know it hurts and women especially tend to become Meena Kumaris when relationships come to an end and they don't see it, but those who are on the listening end can and do see it. It isn't until much later that one will find their reactions a bit melodramatic. Sympathetic ears in real life will be patient up to a limit and on an online forum, patience tends to wear out even faster. Don't decide for yourself that you will designate the next 1-2 months of your life to wallow in the "loss" of your friend...when she is busy living her life. In hindsight we sometimes realize that some former relationships that came to an end (even without closure) were not entirely healthy for us to begin with. There's more to friendship than introduction to dramas and making future plans and having similar goals. You need to move on, Savera, and that entails pushing yourself to redirect your thoughts and energies in other areas. Don't allow yourself to become an online/offline Meena Kumari over her. Seriously. It's a flattering role on the big screen but not in real life. Move forward.

Thanks for understanding. Aur hum dost the, dost hain aur hamesha rahenge :) Is that too filmy? I fear Bollywood has ruined me when it comes to expectations of friendships and relationships. I especially blame Veer Zaara for giving me idea of finding a Pakistani friend who would complement me. jk. I guess I'm too idealistic and believe in relationships lasting a lifetime. I'm trying not to think about it. There are bigger issues in the world i guess. I live in quite a dead end town with few desis, fewer time to make such friends. Good suggestion about getting to know myself better. Thanks for the offer of messaging you. I will limit myself to 200 words in each message:)

It's true i can't expect people to reject according to my terms. All I can do is hope they do. I know that i need to move on but it's not that easy. I've avoided all social media so i don't know of any events she has and im not invited to or what she is upto. That is how i am starting the moving on process.
It wasn't much about being a saviour but just that I wanted a Pakistani friend like her so i justified all actions.

I do have showbiz Pakistan to help me with new shows. I've not shared anything in real life because i want to remain hopeful. So this has been my only outlet. I do have a tendency to over think things and become dramatic. Then i tend to listen to songs which reflect my mood not always a great idea. I mean some part of friendship can be about future plans/similar goals but not all of it.
I will give myself 3 weeks only to wallow in this lost friendship.

Would be curious to know of OP sticks to the 200 - word limit.

In which thread? if i were to write a piece on wallowing in the sorrow of lost friendship it would have to be no less than 2000 words. I would have to ponder over every major memory part of this friendship.

#64](http://www.paklinks.com/gs/usertag.php?do=list&action=hash&hash=64) is definitely less than 200 :slight_smile:
I am wallowing in my sorrow by posting sad friendship songs in bollywood forum..and by making new friends online. Not ready in real life yet. I’ll just maintain the friends i already have in real life. Eventually with time i will be back to myself.

What steps are you planning to take to lessen the pain of losing such a wonderful person from your life? I also lost someone that was truly amazing in that this person helped me through a really difficult time in my life, truly painful and made me see that life does have wonderful people too. Now this person cannot be so close to me since they are now in a different country starting their new life and it's like how you described it, it's like when i wanted to escape the scary, pain of what I was going through in my past, I used to go see this person and it was like all my sadness just drained out with one smile and the empathetic look in the eyes, it was truly magical and incredible how I felt and now i'm mourning the loss of this person. Since you give great advice and are understanding, what would be your advice to me so I can move on from losing this very special person?

Thanks for your kind words. For me personally i am willing to take in pain if at the end of the day it leads to a positive outcome. I'm not going to bother her for messages but neither will i give up on the friendship entirely. I will be pessimistic for a few days but i think with time i will always hope she will return the friendship. I will continue to message her on Eid and her bday. If our friendship is true and real and meant to last somehow our paths will cross again and our friendship will be rekindled. In the meantime i find reflecting on it and writing about it helps. Moving on doesn't mean forgetting. It can still mean cherishing those bittersweet moments by writing a diary or writing in a way to express your feelings. Like some have said above outsiders can get bored of hearing this and it sounds melodramatic to others though it may be heartfelt feelings on our behalf. There are some outsiders of course who don't mind hearing. I hope to write a story based on my friendship. So that way even if it does not exist i have immortalised it with the power of my pen.

I am sorry to hear about your loss. Distance is very hard. Sometimes such special friendships survive distance other times they do not :( Sometimes friends get separated not by physical distance but emotional distance. Apart from writing and reflecting on it another way is to make other friends who have similar qualities so with time their memories can be superimposed on the memories of the lost friend. They can never be completely replaced but with time you will notice qualities of friends who are similar to them. Is there any one else around who can be as much of a special friend? Maybe not in real life but even online. Is there someone else who has a similar smile and look in their eyes, who is also magical and incredible that you know?

The third option i can think of is helping others in similar situation but with less resources than us. It could involve helping those least fortunate through charity or helping those who do not have resources to make friendships as we do. I do not know where you live but im sure this exists. In past where i lived there was this refugee charity program that existed where locals had a chance to help them acquire basic skills such as using computer. It gives you a chance to get your mind off things, help another who may not have special friendships either and at the same time helps you move on and see things in greater perspective.

I am not trying to say i know much or i am all those qualities but if you're looking for a listening ear or someone to share memories of lost friendship then feel free to send me a message. Perhaps i might remind you of your lost friend and you may remind me of mine.

Op, may be your friend was expecting you to meet her in person on the occasion of Eid instead of wishing her via text only.
may be shes pissed off and that is why not replying to you.

Could be lekin she has moved to another state recently and i did not get a personal Eid invitatio saying she was having event and i was invited. Also i had some things to do which meant i couldnt leave to visit her.

Being friends with someone just because she is Pakistani might not be the best way to approach friendship. Then again, when you were friends, you seemed to have gone out of your way to keep the friendship bond strong but think about it, did she ever put as much into the friendship as you did?

I was friends with a girl that just came from Bangladesh and she had no family members here in the States so I offered to teach her how to drive and always called her to see if she needed my help since she didn't have a car of her own. But what I didn't realize was that she never ever showed that need to keep the friendship going. She was very superficial and I realized afterwards was friends with me because another person wanted me to have a companion during my dark, painful times. This other person is a guy (the one I was talking about in my previous post, who didn't leave to live in another country but left to get married this month so I'm distancing myself from him because I don't keep in touch with married, attached men(just a personal rule of mine no matter how strong the friendship bond was) and when he wasn't around anymore for a few months, she just dropped me. Didn't return calls.

I don't know if she liked him or did it just because he was friends with her husband but whatever the reason, it was not because she cared for me or wanted my friendship. I looked out for her and because she had no family members here I was hoping she would see me as a sister. I don't think I looked deep enough at what the friendship really was from her side. I even offered to teach her to speak English so she wouldn't have trouble integrating into American society.

You're right in that true, caring, special friendships either with men or women are hard to find. With men, after they do the marriage thing, it's sienora sirji for me. Desi women tend to put their all including their whole being, their lives into their marriages so they forget about their female friends or this particular one did. I guess even with female friendships like with love relationships, tread carefully atleast in the beginning and don't give your heart out so easily. We shouldn't be so desperate for companionship and on top of that desperate to make friends with someone just because they are Kashmiri or Punjabi or Pakistani in general.

You're right. It's not the right way to go about things. The main foundation of the friendship was having common interests in movies/songs, being able to effortlessly talk about anything, being loyal, trustworthy and reliable. Her being desi and Pakistani on top of it was just icing on the friendship cake. I don't know why communication is so hard. I guess I did give more then i got back. At times though she was there for me when i needed a listening ear and was going through some tough times. She was ready to meet up with me at short notice when i was going through some family tragedy. I guess like with any friendship/relationship one person seems to be more of the one to give than the other. It is never equal.

That was very nice of you to make that girl feel welcome. It was selfish on her part to forget all the times you sacrificed time for her in helping her to drive. Also coming to her help when she needed it just showed what a dedicated friend you were to her. People only really realise what they have lost when they are in trouble and after they have lost it. They never appreciate what is in front of them. I have experienced that a few times when people use a friend's resources but are only interested in material benefits such as you being able to drive them to places or accompany them rather than being there for you when you need it. It seems she was doing it just because of the guy. Good rule regarding married guys. I personally avoid becoming close friends with guys in real life. It's just hard to interpret intentions.

I guess we learn about friendship which is unrealistic in movies and TV. The chances of such a selfless friendship appearing in real life is less likely. I do think she did it because he was friends with her husband. She used your emotions and caring nature for her own benefit. She should see you as a sister and i'm sorry you had to go through that. I think in hindsight we can all think of incidents but at the time none of this appears to us. I think you really went out of your way for her. Did she ever do anything that expressed her appreciation of your friendship? Did she ever treat you or make your favourite sweets or something? I think sometimes we go out of our way for newcomers who are desi but they do not always reciprocate. I had made an Indian friend fresh from India. I wanted to help her settle and introduce her to local ways. I offered her to drive her to places she need to go to and she watched movies with me. Later i noticed she would only call me when her and her male friend wanted to go to places. I felt uncomfortable with that. Another Indian friend i made was more sisterly. She didn't have a car so i suggested we go shopping together. I scheduled my shopping times when she was free and always asked my parents to bring her fav food when they came over. In return she would cook food for me as well when i was busy and make my fav sweets. When i visited India and was near her city she made a special effort to visit where i was staying and to meet me.Now she has gone back and i've lost contact.

In reality it is hard to find those caring, special friendships that we often see. With guys i don't think close special friendships are possible especially when they get married. True about desi women. The only ones who don't are those that have an identity before marriage. A separate identity. Even then their whole worth seems to be determined by the success of a marriage that everything else becomes peripheral to it. I also don't get why some desi female friends get so easily jealous of each other instead of being happy when the other does well. There are very few who think about happiness of their friend above their own. Good advice but it's hard not to give a heart out that easily when you find someone you just click with. Desperation is always a bad sign but sometimes you just want to replace what is lost.
Kya baat hai. Aap ki Bangladeshi friend aur meri Pakistani friend. It's like a subcontinental story. I wonder if there is something historical in this.

:D Naah I don't think it's a subcontinental thing. She spoke broken English and was high school educated, never went to college so I'm guessing we were miles part when it came to her understanding what I was saying in English. She gave material things a lot more importance like she looked down on anybody that bought stuff from Walmart. She would only buy name brand stuff which is fine without the arrogance though.

What do you think would happen if you didn't send Eid or birthday wishes to her? She might actually start missing you. Absence makes the heart grow fonder. Do you think there was something that you might have overlooked in terms of your actions that got her to distance herself from you? If you were so close before and now this, it doesn't make sense why she would abandon the friendship. I'm pretty sure you've asked her what's wrong.

With the other friendships you mentioned, we defo want to make sure these people stay in the country for more than a couple months.

I was just thinking of how our friendships involving 3 countries of the subcontinent. It's kind of funny in a way. I guess in some ways you were miles apart but she still took advantage of you because you were a local. Then when she no longer needed your help she moved on. That's not how a friendship works anywhere. I guess maybe there weren't as many similarities and maybe in long term it would have been difficult to maintain the friendship. Still she focused more on material things than the fact you went out of the way for her. I know if i was in her situation i would have valued your friendship and help more. I was waiting for a few more days but I don't think the EId message will come now. I guess she might miss me or maybe forget about me. She lives in a place few hours away from me now so it's a long distance friendship now. Her bday is not till November so hopefully things will change before then. Maybe it is better to wait and see if she responds. It's just that i think the distance and not being able to see her in person made it easier for her to drift away from me and at same time closer friends with others. It happened slowly over past few months but i didn't realise till she cut contact. I've texted her but i've not called her recently because i want to give her personal space.

Agree with the last line. It's always the friendship worthy ones that leave