Cost of weddings

So brand conscious and yet you've never worn a dress with tights??

Don't get it.

Re: Cost of weddings

Lamborghinis are better.

yes, lamborghini for the one who is choring lambi lambi..

Cost of weddings

Congrats Reha!

Mine was somewhere between $17-20k, 4 years ago. Looking back now, even that could of been reduced but my parents wanted to invite everyone they felt they needed to. If I did it again, I would spend around the same, maybe less but definitely less people. I sacrificed on some of the details I wanted so my parents could accommodate some of their oldest friends but I sometimes regret not putting my foot down because there were way to many people and I didn't want that. I like small elegant weddings too. As long as the decor and details are nice and a good photographer who your hiring because their style speaks to you, not because their prices are low. Big events never really go all that smoothly, there was just to much to worry about.

Of course we all dreamed of the fairy tale wedding...but the fairy tale is different for everyone...there isn't just one fairy tale.

My wedding was unheard of...no one got married in my circle the way I did and I don't think it could have been any better.

For some people, lots of people around them with lots of fluff (as I call the extravagance) is important. But for someone like me...it makes no difference in how I feel. Everyone has biryani, nihari, desi food, parathay, ten foot stages, 5 foot centerpieces, lots of people, gold, etc. If you go to any photographer's blog, you see the same wedding with different faces...literally no difference and aside from a few color schemes here or there. Its like a pre-determined format everyone follows and just goes through the motions. I've been to so many white tents, banquet halls, seen so many chair covers, etccccccccc...tired of it.

How much extravagance can you possibly do? Unless you're coming in a helicopter or riding an ostrich, its all the same.

For me, the dream wedding was doing things differently from anyone else.

I agree with Reha, I've been to enough $100K-$200K weddings to know that they bore me to death. The Keeping Up With The Jones' syndrome is sickening to me now. I don't care to sit through any more elaborate, orchestrated events with the never ending procession of "bridesmades" and fulaana dhamaka with the dulhan coming in on a doli with the umbrella over her on the shoulders of all the men in her family while confetti falls from the ceiling and all her girlfriends and cousins and sisters put on a 40 song medley of bollywood dances straight out of a Karan Johar movie.....ugh...gag me. When the never ending speeches start, followed by the slide shows and then for an added kick, the "scripted movie" the bride and groom made, it's all I can do to take the butter knife and stab myself in the eye with it.

Everyone has used the exact same event planner, decor company, reception at the same hotel, same people in attendance..just swap out the bride and groom lol. There is no originality or apnaa pan in these grand scale productions.

I long for simpler times, and organic fun.

This was really funny LOL:biggthumb:

I don’t like dresses or skirts. Makes me feel uncomfortable!!! I’d have to try it now…

I don’t need to prove you anything…

I have already told him how I want my wedding to be like.. He agrees with me but he wants to do walima at the beach and that is so gorra style… However, I’d have to make adjustments… I care about mehndi and baraat the most since that is from our side!!!

It is so much fun to drive Lamborghini… I have driven two latest models but never gotten a chance to drive ferrari so I can’t tell the difference. People stare at you like if you are some type of celebrity… lol

Yes… Dream wedding for me is also doing things different than anyone else… Who's baraat comes in ferrari? They use limo, horse, and etc for that! I want spotlights to be focused on me and him while we perform our couple dance! I have thought of many things and can't share them since people here are acting childish!

oh wow.

good luck.

Mine. 250. It was extravagant by my standards. But eh....I can spare 250 rupees.

Exactlyyyy…there’s no difference.

And here’s something else for the girls planning their weddings to think about:

No one pays attention to the speeches, watches the entire procession or pays attention to the entire couple dance. And a bride traditionally doesn’t come IN a doli…she LEAVES in a doli :smack: I am sorry guys but its true…plan a wedding that’s actually fun. Not the connect-the-dots kind.

And BSB…lots of people. Someone recently came in a Rolls Royce too. What else you got?

omg...if I had a dime for each awkward "first dance" in the desi community that I've seen.......

My fiancé owns a Rolls Royce… My wedding is for me and him to enjoy!!! I do want to have the best couple dance staged where I am flying with him and I want the best wedding enterance :) ! My friends and relatives are definitely going to look forward to that… We invest too much time on dance practices for mehndi.. How can you say that no 1 will pay attention to the couple dance? It depends on family to family and your own standards. I just like it extravagant!

ahh... quoted for posterity. as this is magnificent.

BSB- do you and your fiance live in the US now? what state? do you and him work? what line of work do you do?

just wondering...because you seem to have a lot going on :)

Which Rolls Royce does he own and what exactly does your fiancé do?

If your wedding was for he and you to enjoy, you wouldn't need much at all. For two people who are truly connected, all you need is a qazi, a nice outfit and a photographer...yes I know I am being cheesy here but its true. You don't want to wait for an entire wedding to happen...you just want to get on with your life and have fun. If someone told me when I was getting married that I had to wait so we could plan a weddingggg...I'd elope.

Weddings are not about the couple...they are about the people attending seeing how far this wedding can go to top the last one they attended. Its a show being put on for people to see. And I guess its fine to a certain extent but I find it boring and mundane.

And I am simply advising you for your benefit...no one pays attention to couple dances. They're cheesy and intimate...most people feel awkward and just blah about them. They smile out of politeness and usually a few claps indicate its over so everyone starts clapping at the same time. You don't want to be that couple who's guests say things like "ab ye dekhna baaqi reh gaya tha".

There was a caged monkey at one wedding I attended...maybe you could get an elephant?

LOL I was just about to say Rolls Royce!

Lets just stay on the topic.... Shaadi ek baar hoti hai... Her ek ki marzi jaisay marzi keray apni wedding! We can't force people to do wedding in a simple or extravagant manner because it is based on personal taste. Sab log daikhtay hain shaadi mein kya diya aur kaisa tha inteezaam...