Re: Cost of weddings
£1350 four years ago ..
Mashallah. Mubarakaan! ![]()
Where’s our mithai? ![]()
First of all, Shaadi Mubarak! May Allah talah bless your marriage and aap ki jorhi sadaa salamat rahay ![]()
And I agree. Btw speaking from personal experience, I have always enjoyed the smaller and more simple weddinbg more than the extravagant ones. It seems as in the most lavish ones the focus is more on having a perfect set up and everything is controlled into the details. It lacks enthiousiasm and the family always acts so stressed because they focus on the perfectionism.
Congratulations Reha. May Allah SWT bless you and your MiaN Ji with health, happiness and prosperity. Very happy news mA
Congratulations Reha. May Allah bless both of you with all the happiness in the world. ameen.
$2000 in 2004. (includes the ticket for me to go to Pakistan)
I did not want an extravagant wedding and we didn't, phir bhi manhoos $40k lag Gaye. Weddings are such a waste of money.
Same here. I wish I could be one of those who only spent $2K...believe me, my husband and I tried to convince my Ammi to just have a nikkah only at the masjid...didn't work. We managed to skim her down to what she considered the "bare minimum", but after 4 days of wedding nonsense it still came to $25k (that includes everything from event costs to clothes & jewelry).
I would much rather have used that money towards a down payment on a house lol
About $30K in 2009
including furniture, electronics etc for a whole house plus two functions (mehndi and barat), clothes , jewellery
Congrats reha!!
And congrats Reha, any photo?
congrats Reha! very happy for you!
About $25K in 2011.
Congrats Reha!! very happy to hear that :)
I'm getting married in less then 4 months. We're paying for the nikkah,my mehndi and of course the barat (only 250 guests - Thank God!), presents for the inlaws, and my parents are also paying 50% of everything that will go into our new home, we had a budget of $20k, but we're looking at around $35K right now.
My inlaws are spending a lot more then us, because they have decide to invite every single person they know and go all out, since it's their youngest sons wedding.
Weddings are so expensive uff. Congrats Reha!!! ![]()
Woah...this is cost of weddings taking place in Pakistan? Or in America? How much do hotels charge for a hall?
25-35 k...I mean you're talking including outfit and gold jewelry?
Mubarak!!! ![]()
Woah...this is cost of weddings taking place in Pakistan? Or in America? How much do hotels charge for a hall?
25-35 k...I mean you're talking including outfit and gold jewelry?
Mine was in lahore , pakistan. But if you add but the family tickets and stuff it ends up being more. My 25K was including my outfits, jahez, gifts, etc....
My 25K was including my outfits, jahaz, gifts, etc....
You got a jahaz in your jahaiz? :O
$3500 five years ago. This is for the Walima party. Being straight out of school, that was all I could afford. Even if I had the money, I dont think I would've spent more than 8-9K.
I personally..find that smaller the budget better it is. The most ill spend in my wedding would be 15k to 20k. My idea of wedding would be nikkah in masjid and have one big function. I would call it valima. Thats it.
I had a reception in the US last year.
$27k for the reception
$15k for home furniture and electronics
Jewlery is not included in this, my parents gave that to me.
Biggest thing I found is if you pay cash for things, you get alot of discounts, and EVERYONE wants to get paid in cash. I probably saved 1-2k because i paid in cash. Also, dont go into debt for a wedding, I have alot of friends who ended up regretting everything when 6 months later they were still paying for a 1 day event.