Cost of Living

Re: Cost of Living

You are funny! I like you already :chai:. Where were you before? Aap is GS k nahi lagte :smiley:

I’m not so funny in real life. Sachee moochee. :frowning:

I never actually knew of GS until someone introduced me to a thread that had my real life story in it. :smiley:

Peace Psyah

No need to take the conversation into that religious zone. Of course Allah maintains all. I am merely regurgitating a statement made earlier about how people can "live with grace within 5k" which is not true really. People have it difficult in Pakistan. They cannot pay rent/put food on table/clothes on back/educate kids within 5 k.

Nomi, tum se toh bus bakbak ki hi umeed he.

Chalte raho.

let readers be the judge of who is doing bak bak........... and who is just pointing it out

Then you are better at separating the two states of thinking than me ... For my disability ... I was unable to reconcile condescending behaviour ... even as a joke .... It gave me irks and I had respond with that religious zone line .... When we really sit down and think about it ... We do no one any favours ... Rather those who employ are favoured by God to be vessels through which He Gives others rizq ... However He Gives others the skills and abilities, patience and time to help out those employers ... There is an exchange taking place ... And hence the servants should be treated in the same way they treat their employers.

Sorry I'm just not too good at avoiding religion in my discussions.

Sigh..psyah. It was not a joke it was sarcasm. Guess I missed out on the smiley

I was pointing out the plight of the people who are expected to live with grace within 5 k.
And living with grace I imagine means that you are able to feed, clothe and put a roof over your family's head and educate your children through halal means.

The servants we employ, we give them a lot more than just money. The truth is in today's economy in Pakistan, people cannot survive in that much and I was just bringing that up to illustrate that in a sarcastic manner.

Rest, whatever is on earth belongs to Allah; Allah hamesha deynay walon mey se rakhey.

If people are too poor to be living in grace on 5k ... Then how graceful is it to be living on 15k and constantly reminded that one is of the serving class?

In fact, does earning 250k equal a graceful living?

Or is grace measured by another factor?

Consider an old wise sage .... Living in a cave .... Is he not living (without any income) in grace? Despite people coming to him and giving him food, they merely ask him to supplicate for them and he does ...

Psyah, I just added a definition of living with grace. Please refer to it before lambasting me unnecessarily.

My entire point throughout has always been to highlight how in Pakistan today you need X amount of income to

-feed
-clothe
-house
-educate

your family.

That is it.
And that has been met with people saying no, x amount can be this small even and it is possible. I have just been saying it is simply not possible.

You support families in Pakistan. You would know the costs.

unless aap logon ke darmayan be-takallufi hai, such language can be taken as an offense by the other party.

just sayin'

its not possible to live 'gracefully' with small amounts of money......no doubt about that......
but the question is whether one can 'live' (regardless of the grace)......

meri taraf se to koi be-takallufi nahi hai.......'other party' has had tried it before too.......i think you are privy to that.:)

Aise toh one can live on the streets without regular food. Beggars and whatnot. Let's not make the question whether one can "live"

Ok I understand ... The reason why you think it is impossible is because you probably have not been exposed to the extents of possibility whilst living in Pakistan. However, I and others here have seen the range ...

Some schools are still free in Pak ... Did you know that?
Tuition or academy is not mandatory or necessary for bright children ...
I can buy food on Link Road in Lahore for half the price I can from Mall Road ...

Yes ... Rich people don't walk ... Because they will be mugged, but poor looking people are not mugged, it's simply not worth the while for the would be mugger.

I have both seen electricity bills for 15k in 1 month and 2k in 1 month ... In the same household ... The more expensive one was the AC cost ...

In some properties the rent is as low as 1k especially if the landlord is the employer also ...

Trust me .... It may not be graceful living ... But it is living and surviving nonetheless ... Some people although would welcome more are still happy enough living in those conditions. It is not to say that we should not help them ... Of course we should still do whatever we can to provide justice ...

I think the initial reaction was due to the over inflated costs ....

Demesne, after reading this whole thread, the main point seems to be: Hi, I am Demesne and I am from Defence.

.... Where we are made to believe that life is more expensive than it aught to be ...

Jokes aside .... What would be the answer to the other question? Instead of asking about comfort ... What about asking about 'what makes for a humble lifestyle' ... Those answers will be more interesting.

hahahaha..

hadh he.

I guess I'll just stop posting then. The point was supposed to be to agree to a minimal cost of living gracefully in Pakistan and not surviving on the handouts of friends and family.

Kher

:cb: log bhi kaisy kaisy comment kar daity hian.(cafeness in l1)

ok the free schools. I am aware. I am also aware of the fact that they dont provide free books/notebooks/stationary/backpacks whatever. There are other costs involved in schooling a child and this needs to be considered. Also, the quality of this education is also shoddy in most of these free schools.

As for buying food, um...mall road? I was talking about basic food prices in the sabzi mandi, not even going to shops etc for the food but buying directly from the farmer. Even basic food prices are very high.

Sure you can walk wherever you want to. Lahore isn't a small place, public transport takes a long time and is unreliable.

But he is right, because then we can evaluate what living in grace is ...

For one living on the streets is not, therefore living in grace has to mean living in a private residence ... Either rented or owned or even given to them ...