Cost of Living

How much do you project is the minimal cost of living (comfortable) in Pakistan now

I mean to take into account

The minimal rent a four person family has
Transport
Food
Clothing
Schooling of 2 children under ten
Medicines and other assorted expenses

There was an interesting song called Cost of Living on the charts. By the time it was recorded , they had to change the lyrics 2-3 times cos there is a line where they speak of gas prices being X amount and in that short period of recording they kept going higher!

There is a very unique story about ‘Cost Of Living’], Dunn tells CountryMusicIsLove.
“That song came to me in 2008. Phillip Coleman had written almost the entire song, all the verses and stuff. It didn’t have a title. It didn’t have a hook line [or] a chorus. I asked when I first heard it, if I could have a shot at it, ‘could you just give me two days. I won’t hold it up or anything.”

Coleman agreed to let Ronnie take a stab at the song. As promised, Ronnie came back with a hook **“two dollars and change at the pump, cost of living’s high and going up.”

**Once the song was finished, everything seemed to come together great until an executive at Ronnie’s label felt timing wasn’t working in their favor. “I had one of the record guys saying, ‘the economy will be turned around by the time you can get this song out,’” he says.

Interestingly enough, when the song was first recorded, the hook was “two dollars and change
at the pump, cost of living’s high and going up.”
Before the album was released, Ronnie went in the studio to re-record the line to
“three dollars and change at the pump, cost of living’s high and going up.”
**And now the song is “four dollars and change at the pump”.

**Singer refused to modify it more, even though gas price went up yet again.

Re: Cost of Living

I guess most people would say around £1000.

150000 PKR.. VERY comfortably

I guess for Lahore, take off 25-30 K for renting one floor in a one canal house, or an apartment.

25 K for groceries

10 K for one live in servant

20 K for petrol (four tanks of petrol come to roughly that much)

10K per month for each child's schooling. That is 20 K

10-15K electric bill

5K water and gas and cable

So far that is 125K

25 K random. Good going seb!

Depends totally on style of living

One of my uncle's family of 4 (Uncle + Aunt + son + bahoo) are living fine in around 70k. Family has a small car (Mehran), rental house (they own a 3-bedroom apt but have rented it out and themselves have rented a 4 bedroom house in GULSHAN-E-IQBAL).

and then there is a family of 3 (husband + wife + adult son) that i know who cry almost every-time I talk to them k "aab tu 60k-70k main bhi guzara nahi hota" (even though they are living in their own house).

One main difference I have seen b/w both families is that 2nd family is TOO SOCIAL. Hosting at least 2-3 dawats at home every month. Jub bhi baat ho, ya tu koi aa ker gaya hota hai, ya aaney wala hota hai

And yet so many survive on much, much less than that.

So that begs the question, which of the above are absolute expenses and which ones are luxuries or if not luxuries, where can people cut costs from and still live a decent standard of living? Which then begets the next question - who is measuring what a decent standard of living is?

Interesting figures, abit high tho, is the 20k petrol bill for 4 cars or 4 weeks (1 tank per week?) how far are you driving wpuld make a difference

Also 25k on random. 25k would be another families whole (comfortable) budget.

You can rent 2 bedroom floor in some parts of Lahor for 7k, on the border of Defence. Do you really need a live in maid to be minimally comfortable? Cheaper option to get maid as and when needed. Some would add a driver and gardener to the list too.

All depends on what your idea of minimum comfort is. Like some would be uncomfortable if the garden was not watered daily.

Haha I was spending seb's money

I know his standard of living kinda :)

and a tank of gas is roughly 4-5 k. I'm assuming it'll last for two weeks carefully, otherwise you can use it up in a week too. Depends.

2 bedroom floor for 7 K?

Didn't know that. Kher the emphasis was comfortable living.

25 K random is going into seb's savings . (though I hope you are saving more than that sebster)

As for livein maid, let's refine that to 10K for servants on the whole. Spend it as you wish. But not over 10K

Can you define comfortable living within 25K as you mentioned above?

I think a 60-70 K minimum is necessary for comfortable living. No house ownership, bills need to be paid themselves, no subsidies of any sort.

Paisay Jitnay Bhe Kam He Lagtay Hai :sunnyboy:

^ not true

yes, no maid (cook and clean yourself), no gardener, no shopping at HKB, cable/net 150 per month, no car, 1 bike (whole famiily of 5 can comfortably get on 1 bike, i have seen it daily)

^ Jhooti!:chai:.

^ are you saying you always want more personally?

If basic needs are met, people can be content.

u better be joking! :bummer:

Edit: And it is against traffic rules too + not safe so doesnt make sense :nono:.

You've seen it, do you do it? Don't come here holier than thou. Talk about your own thoughts and what you can practice, instead of preaching what others practice.

can be and should be, sure! however that is often not the case :bummer:.

and if u ask me, yes i wish i was more shukr guzar :p.

You have never seen this?

no. max i believe i have seen 4 but 2 of them were kids so yah :bummer:.