Copying Non-Muslims

Re: Copying Non-Muslims

Peace Brother

Though I agree with this in my own way ... I don't think many will understand hadith copy-pasted from websites without a real context.

This hadith does not mention the name of 'a young sahabi' nor does it mention who narrated this hadith and who heard RasulAllah say those words. The hadith is from a Shamaail Tirmidhi rerferenced from Fath-ul-Bari. These types of hadith need tafsir ... grave warning.

In the theme of all the hadith pertaining to clothing ... we must see what the 'distinction' in those clothes is. Style, Label, Material (i.e. silk), attitude and so on. Dress is the combination and I believe that the word "image" as in "style/image" is equivalent to the way the Arabic word for 'dress' should be translated. Because it is the collective that presents someone as one from another.

In our climate today the beard for the male is the biggest give away that we are Muslim and want to be associated with Islam. Next may be our lowered gaze and broad stance which reflects an attitude of humility, self-protection and love for immitation of the prophet Muhammad (SAW), then we can go on material type, then on style of clothing, and then on colour and then on whether it is a fashion label or a simple generic.

I would also assume that the criteria for dress code was more important in those days than these days. However, image is always important!

What a DUMB advice.!!!!Seminole

thanks for sharing bro and thanks psyah bhai for that post.

smack head

Brother, I have confirmed from a scholar that this hadith is not valid. I haven't yet found any authentic source which contains this hadith

This hadees contradicts the following hadees in which it is said that women who pluck their eyebrow are making changes to Creation of Allah. Then how Trimming the mustache is not considered making changes to creation of Allah. This contradiction invalidates both the ahadees.
The Hadith narrated by ?Abdullah ibn Mas?ood (may Allah be pleased with him) says that:"
I heard Rasulullah Sallallahu Alaihi Wassalam say:
?Allah has cursed the woman who does tattoos and the one who has them done, the woman who plucks eyebrows and the one who has it done, and the one who files her teeth for the purpose of beauty, altering the creation of Allah.?
(Narrated by al-Bukhaari, Muslim Vol 2)

Brother Mirch, let us not confuse what is ordered about men and what is ordered about women.

For example, the dress code for men and women are different, so they can not be compared. Similarly the plucking of eyebrows for women has nothing to do with trimming of mustaches of men. If we start using such logics than alot of women would think that they are also allowed to dress like men, where as they are supposed to cover themselves more as compared to men.

Allah knows BEST

The prophet allowed a lot of practices of the past, and disallowed others. So let us follow the ones he allowed and ignore the type of practices which he disallowed.

In my personal understanding of dress code, the prophet (saw) didn't allowed the tight clothes which give idea of the private parts (like jeans). I might be wrong in this case, so kindly correct me if anyone knows any authentic source.

Thanks a lot brother for the kind explanation, very much appreciated. JazakAllah khair.

wow...
I don't know what to say.

^^I thought you were joking, KA, with that whole "acquire edu from china":biggthumb....no?

:rotfl:one can’t make up this stuff…I still don’t know who is pulling whose leg

^Peace StirCrasy

It's a common mistake ... no one is pulling anyones leg ...

The "go to China" hadith has been denounced as a fabrication on the consensus, of scholars, however, the essence of it is sound and may have been said by an 'Alim rather than the prophet Muhammad (SAW).

The fact that it is so over used people actually say that it is a true hadith

Yes people of ur Moral Values ( which is refelcting above) should be followed only. and any one don’t agree with ur thoughts is considered idiot or may be kafir at later stage.

Good going bro. Excellent Moderation

Tight dressing or the dressing which reveals is not allowed in any divine relgion, u can seen nuns and preist often wearing decent clothes, infact Nuns have to take hijab as well ( what ever they call it) so what should we do? As per your logic should be avoid decent clothes.

As per my knowledge and understanding, Islam has only given the guideline to wear/walk and live. one can wear/do whatever he/she want provided he do not cross the line.

Well, if you ask the nuns they would tell you that such dress is only for nuns, not for common christians. Have you ever seen any priest mentioning that a common christian girl should wear this dress ? A lot of women come to church with skirts, if it were important for them, the priest would have mentioned it to them to wear the dress of nuns.

Who would decide the "line". There are people who think they haven't crossed the line, yet they wear revealing dress.Well, that is why we need to follow the ways of sunnah, and learn the related hadiths.

Peace bro

A sort of related note, but slightly off topic Yusuf Estes made a very good point. He was talking about the Catholics who believe that the nuns and priests are the most pious of their people, he talked about their clothes being like the Muslims, but then when he asked if either were allowed to get married the answer was in the negative.

So nuns and priests are not allowed to be married but they are the most pious of a people. Then he asked, that what sort of a society would they bring about if their most pious people couldn't marry three of four generations down you will have lower and lower calibre people because their most pious people died as spinsters or bachelors ...

Islam however, promotes the clergy to be married and all Muslims to heavily consider it.

^ Hence the obvious higher caliber of piety among Muslims. :halo:

Piety is learned, not spread from the loins. We aren’t talking about physical traits. Perhaps the pious have more time time to teach others since they are not encumbered with wives and families.

Peace Seminole

You need not reduce this dictum to the loins level … A parent is the best teacher my friend !!!

Very good point. Parents generally have a much larger role in teaching piety than clergy. I have never understood the reasoning for demanding celibacy amongst clergy. That should be a personal decision, not mandated by the church.

I have been living in the society where dominant people are christains, no way, i have seen them wearing immodest clothes, niether i have seen them doing anything worse that we muslims don't do.
I gave u example of Nuns and Priests are they Non-Muslims and they are the people whom a muslim should not follow ( according to ur logic). Now, if a dress of a nun is common in Muslim society then, according to ur logic all the muslims wearing same dress might end up in kufr.

As far as the islamce dress code is concerned, it is very simple, one should not be wearing dress which is revealing and/or falls in the category of indecency and/or symbolices with opposite gender. (google around and u will find detailed articles on Muslim Dress Code)